Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ocean side cheap hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Cheap affordable.
Cons: Bathroom, wifi and balcony doors.
Cheap hotel and affordable for students who moved here to seek refuge from the hurricane irma destroyed nearby islands. Rooms are dated and wifi is hard to maintain.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Bird Rock Beach Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2017
TV broken, toilet leaking, no curtain in toilet outside people would see you. No chairs in balcony, no light in balcony. Stove not working.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Hotel property not what it was

Posted Jul 13, 2017
10 years ago we were married at this beautiful hotel so we returned for 10 yr anniversary. The only thing that was great about the room was the air conditioner worked great. Shower head kept clogging and the bed was hard as a rock. The food was terrible quality and over priced. The staff was amazing but the hotel owner seemed to have let the buildings and landscape go to ruins. Very sad as it was once beautiful and had amazing landscaping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The resort has beautiful view of the sea and Basseterre town with things to do like snorkeling, dolphin swimming and swimming pool. The resort is around 10 mins drive from central Basseterre and Frigate Bay to get better food options. Dinner at the restaurants have very limited options.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Need to update

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Just the Wifi access
Cons: A lot of things
Location: Location is good not to far from things to do
The price i paid wasn't fare for the type of hotel should be cheaper. Price of the breakfast was as much as the Mariott hotel shameful for a low class hotel. It have so many things to say but i would stay to that. Very very very disapointed, don't think i woul put my feet in that hotel anymore. But they can do better to uppgrade them selfs.
2 out of 5
by Alejandro

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
The first night they gave me room that was not able to stay. Bad ac, no remote control for tv, bad odor, etc. When complaint in the morning the front desk told me that, that room had guests the day before and no one had complain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Quiet waterfront property with a local island feel

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: The bed was very comfortable, the property is located on the water halfway between Basseterre and Frigate Bay which was our main go to locations.
Cons: The showers in both our rooms needed servicing but they worked well enough for the small amount of time we needed them.
Location: Basseterre is a busy port for cruise ships. Nevis Island is a slower paced island accessible by ferry. Frigate Bay has some good beachside restaurants
My son and I stayed at the Bird Rock for 5 days while we were island hopping from Sint Maarten. The staff was very friendly and our stay there was enjoyable. We both had separate rooms and my room was very comfortable as I was able to sleep well on a very comfortable bed. Understand that this is an older resort so you may have to deal with some issues like a quirky shower that needs a good plumber but the bed sheets were clean and changed daily and the other facilities on the property were great. Unfortunately I was dealing with a head cold so I wasn't able to go diving as was my intention but according to other guests the dive shop located on the property provided a quality service and the diving was excellent. Overall we had a great stay and we were able to explore the island mostly by taxi and one day with a rental car from Bullseye (I would recommend them), the Bird Rock is not a fancy resort but it gave us what we wanted which was to feel we were part of the island, from the friendly stray cats that follow you around to socializing with the staff such as Devin who entertained us with his conversation and big robust laugh.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nota great location

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: nothing very poor maintenance and security very very poor very high risk for vistors staying there
Cons: security need to have security gaurds upstairs ned to put in alarm in office need to put ion security lights
Location: nothing just homes etc no facilities in the area place is a dump
there was a break in at hotel and money and documents for guests were stolen hotel has no security it is on 3 levels and one man at bottom no security for main level no security for where apartments located looks as if there were a spate of breakin before my arrival hotel owners hav e not put in any security so lives and property of guests are at risk no security cameras no physical security at main entrance or at main apartments situation is very dangerous
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, inexpensive, helpful staff

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Right on the water, good view of the sunset, nice swimming.
For the price and short duration of our trip, the hotel was perfect. Front desk staff was helpful in arranging a rental car, and all was quite easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hants UK

Its had a facelift.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: It was a clean spruced up hotel with good aircon. The breakfast was nice but rather expensive for such small portions
Cons: Staff shortages. We couldn`t get a drink or food on a couple of afternoons. If the reception is left unmanned leave a note as to when it will be.
Location: Located far enough away out of Town to warrant a car hire or taxi. Decent beach and restaurants/ bars close.
The staff tend not to be around even during the day at the reception. The staff serving breakfast were oh so slow and not interested seemingly. The receptionist was good and did help us out with requests. The room was good with aircon and had a couple of large beds for me and my pal.The room was attended to everyday and in good clean order throughout our stay. Overall very pleased with the hotel and it was a lot better than we were expecting.