Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west palm beach

Nice room, terrible amenities

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Nice room with kitchen, television full of snow, could barely get internet service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St.Kitts

Posted Sep 26, 2017
My stay was good until I was ready to check out. I'm a regular at the hotel & my trans was late to pick me up. I asked the lady at front desk how much was for the late check out. She didn't answer & she said she will give me until 12. I was willing to pay the extra but never got the opportunity too.That was a big turn off for me. Don't know if i'll return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Chelsea , Hotel Management
T, please allow me to apologize on behalf of the front desk staff for the turn off upon checkout. We do offer late check out for a fee once available. It seems that the relevant information was not relayed to you and I am very sorry about that. I would really appreciate it if you could email me via generalmanager@sugarbayclub.com so I could look into the matter and follow through accordingly to avoid any future occurances. I appreciate you letting us know and we promise to do better on your future stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

had a wonderful time

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: i like the relax atmosphere the staff illustrated
Cons: an improvement could be the checkout time.. for more flexibility.
Location: only stayed one night (not enough time to enjoy all that was offered) but having a place close by to shop for a bit of grocery was rather pleasing.
I rather enjoyed the location of this hotel, and the attractive looking grounds. I would rather checkout time be a little later than 11am, being that check-in is not until 3pm. but over all. a good time was had by my family..my 12yr old daughter "really" loved it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Chelsea , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We wish you could have had a longer stay to fully enjoy and relax. We thank you for your feedback on the check out time. We do try our best to accommodate late checkout requests once we have the availability. We do hope to welcome you and your family back to the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Sandra

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
The customer service was good, the room was adequate, clean and comfortable. The location is prime for food, entertainment and proximity to airport, and town. The property needs to be updated before it goes any further downhill but I would stay there again and recommend to anyone needing an inexpensive hotel option.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was not bad at all

Posted Jul 26, 2017
The hotel location was excellent. Room large. Clean although some aspects seem very dated. HARDLY saw staff but this was a plus. Towels really clean. great kitchenette. huge verandah. Parking space limited. something needs to be done. Should noit have to park off property.
4 out of 5
by Jan

Nice place!

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Awesome location!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017
Thank you Jan. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you had a nice time!
3 out of 5
by Damien

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
Definitely a 3 star hotel, just a place to rest your head, not much entertainment on the compound, sea is a no no too rough, pool and grounds can use a face lift, but at its price point can't expect much more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely, lovely resort type hotel. I loved it!!

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Loved the grounds, they was a lovely fountain, jacuzzi, two pools, gorgeous. So close to a gift shop, grocery market, lots of restaurants, serene.
Cons: Just the front of the place could be a little more appealing, one in the room, you will be so pleasantly surprised. Well maintained, helpful staff.
This was such a pleasant surprise. At first when I pulled up in the cab, I thought, oh no, this is not going to be good, but after I got to my room and was acquainted with the grounds, I fell in love with this place. It is so reasonably priced with everything you could want at your fingertips. I do not know about massages and such, but restaurants, grocery stores, beach are all within walking distance. I felt so relaxed without a care in the world. It was just what I wanted, a quiet out of the norm stay. The staff was lovely and the grounds are beautiful. They have such darling little cottages to stay in, too, that looked divine. I stayed in an oceanfront room, which was lovely, the ocean was rough, but there was always a catamaran or some boat sailing away. I will definitely go back to Sugar Bay, so much for your money. It is walking distance from the Marriot, but the Marriot is not as quiet and intimate as Sugar Bay. It is a matter of what you are looking for, for my money, Sugar Bay was just what I was looking for. Made so many friends here, too. Please try it, I don't think you will be disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Chelsea, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us. We love when our guests let us know about their stay and we would absolutely love to welcome you back to our hotel.
5 out of 5
by Trenise

Sugar Bay Club

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
I was so pleasantly surprised with this hotel, because the rate that I got was one of the cheapest on the island through Hotels.com so I wasn't sure what to expect. I was visiting my daughter who just started Ross school of veterinary medicine so it was my first time on the island. I was there for a whole week and it was just such a great trip, and some of that was due to the hotel. The two pools were so clean and refreshing. The larger pool was more for adults and went to 8 feet. The pool that went only to 4 feet deep was huge with a waterfall and lots of swimming space. My daughter and I ate dinner in the Japanese restaurant on the property and it was better than some that I've gone to in the states or even in Hawaii. The pizza place had great hot wings and fries. The diner, where I had to go get my ice bucket filled every day, had excellent everything, especially their sweet rolls and breads in the morning. The beds were comfortable, although the bedspreads could use an update. The bathroom tiles were large and fluffy, as were the pool towels I checked out. My room was cleaned and refreshed nicely. Upon check out in the open air lobby I was able to meet the manager and I expressed to her that I would be back in June and what a comfortable stay it had been. I would've preferred a later check out than the one hour they gave me because my departure flight wasn't until 3 PM and I know the hotel wasn't full. I will negotiate that better next time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay Trenise. It was a pleasure meeting you. We look forward to having you stay with us again and hopefully next time we can do better on the check out time. Lovely to hear that you were able to try a few of the restaurants on property and enjoyed them all. We love being able to offer a variety of options. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good service but poor accommodations.

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
A lot older property than we expected. Only 1 key per room. Bathtub needed upgrading, hair dryer didn't work well at all. If they dropped the price to 1/2 of what I paid, it would match the accommodations. The service was very nice, however. No complaints there.