Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Charming boutique hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Cons: The mattresses. They need to go. It would be well worth the money to get new ones.
Location: We ate at the The Red Sun Fire Roasting Co. restaurant. The food was excellent. I recommend the pork chop.
My husband and I were traveling to the Renaissance Festival and wanted to stay over night the night before. I picked this hotel because I read that it was converted into a hotel from a historical building. This was a cute hotel in Oswego within walking distance of restaurants. I have no complaints about the hotel except for the very uncomfortable bed (it feels like you are sleeping on a board). The room was small but nicely decorated and included a small refrigerator and a microwave. The hotel offers a small continental breakfast in the morning with pastries, fruit, oatmeal and yogurt. Our room was right near the check-in desk and I didn't hear any noise as mentioned in some of the other reviews. Overall, it suited our needs and would recommend it but suggest bringing your own pillows.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very pretty old home,close to everything in Oswego

Posted Jul 31, 2015
very nice old building.pretty rooms with cold water in fridge.close to downtownOswego if u wanted to walk to restaurants or bars.very nice breakfast in large lounge with fruit and pastries and beverages.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Mar 17, 2015
The door to our room was about ten feet from main desk. Very loud and the walls are thin. Had to ask the front desk to talk to the people in the next room at two am. Check in is at four pm and check out at ten am..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wading River, New York

Close to SUNY Oswego

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Beautiful room, very friendly owner, would definitely stay there again. Very clean and accommodating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny, ny

Awesome hotel when visiting Suny Oswego

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Let me start off by saying that the hotel went above and beyond. Before I arrived to the beacon hotel I called to see if there was any possible way that I would be able to check in early since I arrived at oswego around 8 am and hadn't gotten much sleep and had to be at my campus tour at 12:45. The hotel manager who was very sweet over the phone said that even though they usually don't allow early check in she would do it for me. And the receptionist was super friendly and this will be my go to hotel from now on if I ever need to visit oswego again. The hotel is lovely and the rooms are really modern it is also close to the downtown area and there are many wonderful places to eat and to explore. Thanks beacon hotel staff for being so welcoming and hospitable. -Susan
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ontario

Last resort

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Proximity to downtown and restaurants and the university
Cons: Better beds
The rooms were clean, wifi was good and front desk was friendly and helpful. Otherwise it was disappointing. The room was really small, the beds were too short and very uncomfortable. The noise level from the street was really loud. The continental breakfast was less than desirable. We ended up there because everything else in town was all booked up. This hotel was a lot more expensive than any other place in town and its not worth the money
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Went for work, Julie does a great job to accommodate your needs.
5 out of 5
by Dave

A Great Place to Stay

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: No troubles wireless. The complementary continental breakfast was too much. The staff was very friendly.
This is really a nice little place with a lot of charm. My room was perfect. Walking distance to a lot of places however ample parking in the side lot.
4 out of 5
by Stuart from Austin TX

Nice stop. Bright spot in this city

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: Location (walking distance to main downtown street and port overlook), room, renovated feeling. Old building in old city ... good to see.
Cons: not much..
Location: This hotel is walking distance to Lake Ontario and Port of Oswego. Why on earth would someone stay in a chain when they could stay here?
We booked it to spend first night of honeymoon on way to New England. Had no idea what to expect. Very pleasantly surprised. Very nice room. nice staff. Bed and Breakfast feel.
5 out of 5
by tom from Orange county, NY

Awesome little place with lots of character.......

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendliness of the staff
Cons: Upgrade the beds
Location: Close by to everything ...
Another great stay at this awesome little hotel. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The place is very clean and has a very warm feeling to it. I have been staying here for each of my visits since my son has been going to Oswego..going to have to find a reason to visit since he is graduating next year...only wish the mattress were a little more comfortable...