Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Andrea

A great find!

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Check in was friendly and felt like I was coming home. Room was comfortable and clean. Next morning we were surprised to see that the snow had been cleaned off our vehicle - a nice surprise! :) Great price for a cute little gem. Will definitely repeat our stay here when in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2017
You deserve to not have to shovel snow off your car. It is our honor to cater to great clients like you. Spring is coming.
5 out of 5
by marc

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
I booked this hotel at the last minute, and i knew nothing about this place. It is owned and operated by a couple, they were very helpful and very friendly, rooms were very clean, you get a full pot of coffee with real cream, microwave and fridge in the room. We received 1 inch of snow that night, when I was checking out, the owner had already cleared the snow off my truck. The price is very good for the service we received, if you are looking for a hotel that has good service, clean rooms, and affordable, i recommend this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2017
Thank you so much for the great review. I am so happy we contacted a local used car dealer to get these great car squeegee. Our goal this year is going to be some sort of plow so we can stop shoveling the parking lot. Thank you for helping us with our cause.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Good alternative to the old chain hotels in town

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: 20 minutes from SUNY Potsdam and Clarkson
Blue Spruce is a good alternative to the chain hotels in town. We found this motel through Orbitz when looking for a place to stay while visiting SUNY Potsdam. While nothing fancy, the room was large and well kept. The owner was very nice and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2016 by Gina From Massena, Hotel Management
Thank you Orbitz for this fantastic Client. Mike and I are very grateful for college functions. We appreciate you supporting our family owned and operated Motel. Look forward to accommodating you in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brockport, NY

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
The room was spacious with many amenities and very clean! Very friendly staff and owners! Lovely area outside with a grill and picnic area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are thrilled you appreciated our amenities. we are in the works of adding outlets and USB ports above end stands for added convenience. Look forward to seeing you again. Gina and Mike
5 out of 5
by Kim from Bronx

Home away from home

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
The owners were very sociable. It was as if we had known each other and was catching up with loss time. The room in which we stayed was designed in the way you would design your own room at home with comfort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We pride ourselves in my mom and dad's vision. Solid Oak Doors and Trim. My parents designed the Blue Spruce for comfort. Beds baths and beyond. Look forward to seeing you again.
2 out of 5
by Richard from Massena

A disappointing, expensive stay

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
On a day that was oppressively humid and warm, there was no air conditioning that was able to be regulated. Room was expensive for value, though clean, and upon leaving early under these conditions, no refund nor credit for a future stay could be negotiated. This room was reserved for my son and guest while visiting me. The donuts they bought, however, were quite good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Mike and I are pleased we had a chance to talk on the phone with you after your review was posted. We are pleased you have decided to stay with us in the future. Mike and I look forward to making your next experience a 5 star experience. Thank you so much for your feedback. Look forward to seeing you soon.
4 out of 5
by Margaret from Albany

Clean, comfy, and kitchy!

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
It doesn't have the same polished look or feel of a chain hotel/motel, but I had a better night's sleep here than I have at most Hilton or Marriott properties! My room was clean and super quiet, the mattress was comfortable, and I really appreciated the little details that made my stay that much better (a working (dusted!) ceiling fan, full-size coffee maker with good coffee, nice bath linens, etc.). The main office was also a gift shop with handmade items like t-shirt quilts and messenger bags made from old jeans. It was also the first place I've stayed in as an adult that gave me an actual key to my room - crazy! Unfortunately, the wifi was slow and unreliable even though I was close to the main office, and the cable didn't seem to work at all. I didn't realize these issues until the main office was closed, and I left before I could alert the staff in the morning. However - the internet is also terrible at my worksite in town, so I think it has more to do with the service provider. Overall, awesome motel - I will absolutely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Margaret, We let our housekeeper know of the fantastic impression she gave you. She takes pride in her job and believes in the "Mama Bear Approved" Mission. This coming Saturday I have my fingers crossed....we may be at the finish line with WI-FI, Cable properly functioning has been added to our housekeeping check list. We look forward to seeing you again and can't wait for you to enjoy the improvements.
5 out of 5
by Jean from Falling Waters, WV

Very nice family run motel.

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
Great family run motel located in Massena.Spotlessly clean, spacious rooms, good water pressure, 12 cup coffee maker in the room, refrigerator, microwave, ironing board and iron. Quiet surroundings and pretty lawn with flowers and birdfeeders feeders. We would definitely stay here again.It beats the generic hotel/motel chains.
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
What a fantastic Review. So glad you were able to enjoy the summer ambiance around here. We strive to make a better name for Motels. Thank you again for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 12, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at Blue Spruce and would stay there again. The room size was good, the bed was comfortable and the shower was very good with plenty of hot water. They supplied us with everything we needed promptly. The owners, Mike and Gina, are down to earth people and very hospitable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by Gina from Massena, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We were born and raised hospitable, but having guests like you make our job worth while.
5 out of 5
by Cindy from Houston

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
The room was really big. The room could use more light. There was little to no natural light and only two small lamps. The beds were very hard too. However, it was quiet and there was space outside to enjoy the great weather.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Cindy, We are glad you enjoyed our spacious room. Mike and I appreciate your ideas and take pride in listening to our clients. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and helping us make Blue Spruce Motel, "Just A Little Bedder.