Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W.sx

Gets better each time I go

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: staff are lovely - our room was brilliant
Cons: No
Location: walk down a hill to the local shops or down to the seafront, walk or bus to Hastings - be warned the hill seems steeper walking back up
Had a warm friendly welcome on arrival, shown to our room and I think we had the best one too. The breakfast was good and filled me for the day, served by a lovely lady, nothing was too much trouble for her. No evening chef which was a shame but we found some lovely places to eat along the seafront, Will keep going back as we have been 3 times before
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2017
Basic hotel has parking close to sea front and train station
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Nothing good but price . Noisy recption terrible talk as if the own you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Colerne, Wilts

Quiet and clean

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: The relatively peaceful location.
Cons: It appears from the back garden and front public areas (and my room) that there is some work in progress. Let's see what happens.
Location: Very handy for St Leonards Warrior Square railway station and for buses to Hastings.
The hotel provided good value for money. It met my purpose as a base for a short stay. It was clean, quiet and a nice breakfast was cheerfully provided. My room showed signs the en-suite had been recently refurbished and I was surprised at the poor workmanship, such as bare plaster around the new light fittings, badly-sealed shower tray and random grouting of the tiles. I would recommend the owners review which tradesmen they employ. This seems quite critical, but the hotel met my requirements very well and I would nevertheless suggest it is worth a try.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rip off

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Heating, Wifi, bedding, towels.
Location: Nothing is nearby,
Middle of a housing estate. Wifi doesn't reach rooms. Mediocre breakfast. Staff have poor English.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Rooms need a re-vamp.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Hastings old town is lively and has many things of interest. There are lots of little bijou restaurants and oldie worldy pubs.
The lobby, bar and restaurant to the hotel were very nice and inviting. The staff were pleasant and helpful, once we had got to our room initially we thought it was adequate for what we wanted. it wasn't until we started unpacking and looking a little closer that we saw there were dead insect on the window sill, the mattress was not great, we may as well have slept on the base and the en-suite shower needed updating. The breakfast was a standard full english which was fine but I can only say it all tasted the same, bland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Such Friendly and Helpful Staff

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Friendliness of staff. Cleanliness. Breakfast!
Cons: Better water flow of showers.
Location: Excellent location, smack in the middle of town, close to everything.
We booked 2 nights and stayed 3. What a lovely staff. We were having problems booking our next night down the coast and Paul, the night manager was very helpful and gave us suggestions and ideas and finally, when we were having no luck, Paul was able to give us a family sized room at Eagle House. Breakfast was always great, hot! Rooms were basic but, very clean. All of the staff were very friendly and welcoming. I'd definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Cons: Doors to rooms are fairly flimsy and thin
Location: close enough to main restaurants- in walking distance
Reasonable Hotel, clean, pleasant staff. Limited amenities though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Honest review

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
Staff are very friendly although I'm sure they need a little more training on customer service. Both times I was in the restaurant, both times I had to seat myself (even though they never said anything to me), and the breakfast took much longer than expected. Took about 40 minutes from the moment I was seated to when I left at breakfast, which isn't a great time when you have appointments in the morning. The lobby looks lovely and modern and so did the hallway, until you go downstairs and it's like a twilight zone going back to the 80's. Carpet was horrible, doors were a dull brown from council housing and the rooms were quite dated. Bathroom was clean and modern but weirdly really long! All in all, was a nice enough stay but beware of the train line which is close and also the wafer thin walls.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, friendly staff, but no internet.

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Orbitz
We liked the location near the beach and the full English breakfast. The beds were a tad springy and the Internet was non existent.