Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice hotel in business park.

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Pros: Staff, large room, full kitchen. Parking right outside the door. Ice maker/garbage disposal. Easy access from interstate, but not loud.
Cons: The odd smell and cigarette smoke smell.
Location: There's a gas station, McDonald's, a Thai restaurant and a pizza place within walking distance. You can also drive to lots of places nearby to eat,etc
I stay at Candlewood hotels because I get a full kitchen (except oven) and two rooms (a living room and a separate bedroom) for the price of one small room with no kitchen at other, similar hotels (holiday inn, sheraton, etc). This is a good thing to do when you're going to be in a town for more than a couple of days and you simply don't want to eat out all of the time. The suite is nice and roomy; the bedroom is a little small and if you're in a wheelchair it might be hard to navigate. The bed was comfortable. There's a TV in the bedroom and living room area (if you're into that). The tub is deep and roomy. In general, the bathroom is large. There was a smell in my room that was odd. I could never really place it. And I could smell cigarette smoke even though I wasn't in a smoking room (or supposedly near one, from what I could tell). If you have a cigarette smoke allergy this may be problematic. It was bad at least a couple of times. This is why i can't give this place a 5 rating across the board. The hotel is located in a business park. It was really quiet when I was there, and I was even there on the weekend. This is the second Candlewood I've stayed at in less than a year and every staff member has always been so nice (even when you arrive late). That's always a perk. Lastly, this hotel was recently updated so the inside of the rooms look nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Black lights can scare you, but not here.

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Clean
Cons: Need better ventilation for the smoking rooms so the hallways do not smell like cigarette smoke.
Yes, I use a black light. I'm not a germaphobe, but do like a clean room and happen to have a black light that I use for other purposes. Used it out of curiosity at one hotel and it scared me! The Pros: I have been here for a week and am going to have to stay for an additional week as I write this review. My room is clean and passes the black light test. There is the normal amount of dust and dirt in the hard to reach areas and the walls, but overall very good. The bed comforter passed which is good, because most hotels don't wash these very often. The kitchen area in the studio is nice for an extended stay. There is a 2 burner stove, full size fridge, microwave, dish washer, sink with garbage disposal, utensils, can opener, small coffee maker, dishes, pots and pans provided. The closet is large so you can store your empty luggage. You don't have to stack your luggage in the corner of the room or next to the bed. The office area is large and great if you need to set up a mobile office. Lots of counter space for those of you that need to set up a computer, printer and also need space to layout all your paperwork. The WIFI speed is metered and runs at least 2mbps up/download speed and is consistently reliable. The bathroom..... is a bathroom with a couple of small drawers and small storage area. The Cons: My room does not smell like smoke, but the hallway outside the room made my eyes water a couple of times on the way to the room. The whole floor is not non-smoking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Jul 17, 2015
We stayed at Candlewood during a vacation to St. Louis. From the beginning, Danielle was an incredibly kind and helpful person as I spoke to her by phone about the hotel website. We appreciated the staff checking the room out before our check in. The space was great. Even though we didn't use the range top, the full size refrigerator was a great addition. The entire staff was kind and hospitable. The honor system in the store area was nice. We liked how you can check out items to use in the rooms. Thanks for the movie. The Thai restaurant next door is great. Reasonable prices and large portions. We didn't get to run over to the Rams compound and take a pic in front of the bus, but next time!😊 Candlewood is a great place and we would definitely recommend it to other travelers. Be well!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Paso, Texas

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Everything was great! Friendly nice room, staff, free use of laundry facilities, free wifi... The only negative is that The bed is uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Cons: Disposal didn't work.
There was plenty of room for my husband & I. Glad we got the 1 bedroom suite.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frisco, Texas

UNCLEANINESS

Posted Apr 1, 2015
I Kept finding dried up old food on the floor. Cigarette plastic seals on the floor. They put me in a smoking room and I do not smoke. I checked out the 1st night out of 3 and the hotel would NOT give me a refund. Expedia did not help as well !!!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Great Place to Stay

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Very clean. Comfortable bedding. Pleasantly surprised to find a stocked-for-two kitchen complete with full sized fridge and stovetop. Friendly staff. And they accept pets too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2015 by Ops Manager Danielle H, Hotel Management
B&R, More then happy to let the staff know. Thanks for the comment.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Great rooms. Lobby is a little deceiving, though.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jefferson City, MO

Never again!

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: The front desk help (VAL) needs to be fired. A manager should be on the premises at all times and the maid service needs to do their job!!!!
Location: The location would have been great for us at the time. But we will never consider this hotel again because of this experience.
We had a three week reservation. We arrived to check in only to see that multiple people were standing at the front desk waiting for several minutes to over an hour to get waited on only to find the front desk clerk (Val) was fairly new and did not know what on earth she was doing. There was no manager on the premises to assist. Finally after 45 minutes it was our turn to check in. She informed me she had no room available for us. I said "we have had a reservation for three weeks"!!! She finally found us in the computer and asked if we could come back in an hour!!! Since we had not eaten dinner we agreed and she assured us we would have a clean room when we returned. Two hours later we returned for her to tell us she didn't have a room. WHAT? I reminded her of my reservation and she finally said she had our room ready. This lady must have been on some sort of drugs at the time. And there was NO ONE ELSE there to assist. After she finally got a "key" machine to work, she looked over the desk and said "Oh, there is your room key, I thought I had done that already!" When we arrived at the room (#314) the bed was unmade, there were dirty towels all over in the bathroom and in the room, a cocktail on the table by the bed and trash all over. Clearly, it was either occupied or had not been cleaned when the occupants checked out earlier. We were done!! We went back to the deck and demanded we get a refund on our card. We booked thru Expedia, she said no refund!!!!
5 out of 5
by Jason from Kansas City, MO

Nice. Close to several places

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Great place to stay for extended travel. All needs are met with a very friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Ops Manager Danielle H, Hotel Management
Thanks for the comment. Really hope to see you on your next visit to St. Louis.