Ratings based on 3,409 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Not what we expected

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: It was close to everything that we wanted to see while we were there.
Cons: The cleanliness, and updates throughout the entire hotel.
Location: Busch Stadium is less than a mile from the hotel, as well as the Arch, the Jefferson building and many restaurants.
When we were looking for a hotel, we thought that the Crowne Plaza should be a decent hotel. Being right near the arch, we thought we were getting an amazing deal. Once we checked in, we noticed that the hotel had not been updated for quite a long time, there were stains on our bed sheets and the room just smelled old and dirty. When we attempted to go out onto the balcony, the glass separated from the door. The last thing we needed/wanted was for our 5 year old son to get cut on the glass. When these concerns were brought up to management, they gave us a new room. Slightly cleaner, and the glass stayed intact with the door frame. However, I was still far from pleased with our visit. We will not stay at this hotel when we visit the area again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Busch. Needs work.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Mixed review. Large room, balcony very nice ( we overlooked 2 bridges and river, tho faced an apartment building next door). Very close to Arch and easy walk to Cards game. For downtown the parking ($15 per day) is better than most). But housekeeping... brought towels and made the bed, nothing else. No new coffee, cups, soap...no cleaning, found last person's soap in the shower... I called for coffee and cups and told the story. No mention at checkout. Hmm? Told desk clerk again. She said, "Ew, that's gross. I apologize." And that was the end of it. In spite of the convenience and not too high price for the area, I don't know if I'll go back. They don't seem to be in the hotel business.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No blankets?

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The room was awful, and we barely stayed in it. The door to our room wouldn't open without shoving it open. The bed only came with one very thin sheet! Not sure why, but it seems illogical. When I asked for a blanket, the blanket was not much better, so I had to ask for another one. Not to mention the bed was rock hard. My hair dryer didn't work and I asked for another one and never got it. The tv barely worked, remote must have been dying. However, the staff was friendly and it was a prime location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The staff was wonderful! However, the hotel needs to be remodeled and the rooms need a thorough cleaning including the drapes, carpets, HVAC s
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Missing basic amenities.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Great location across from the Arch.
Cons: Customer service.
When we checked in, there were no washcloths, coffee, coffee cups, or drinking glasses in the room. The coffee maker had not been cleaned. I went down to the front desk to report it. The agent gave me some coffee and coffee cups, and she said she would send someone up with the rest. They never arrived. I reported it again when we checked out, and the agent pretended to write it down and tell "someone". Since I had prepaid with Expedia, I had no leverage. We paid too much for a hotel room lacking even the basics. Not happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, Il

Huge room

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Easy downtown location, room was huge, the arch was right outside our window
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Why are they still in business?

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Location near Arch, stadium, convention center. Staff tried to be accommodating. However it's difficult to move to a better room when all are crappy
Cons: Needs more than cleaning, paint and repair, needs a complete renovation. They were completely sold out so getting business so no excuse for condition.
Location: The only positive was location was great
Everything else is negative. This is an old run down hotel. I can deal with old and outdated but it was filthy. The carpets looked as if they had not been shampooed in years, walls dirty, and the room furniture extremely scuffed and worn. The first room they gave me, I thought that I was being punked. It had an old white refrigerator in it that was all yellowed and disgusting looking. I was too afraid to look inside. The little wood night table was all scratched up. The floor lamp didn't work. The last straw was a stain on the curtains. I was unsure if it was rust or blood. The front desk gave us another room. It had a dirty shower curtain. They gave us another one. I do not recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Not what I hoped for

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: The size of the room. Hotel location.
Cons: Identification of parking, cleanliness of restroom, heating/cooling in room, wifi, in-room refrigerator and microwave, attention given to guests
Location: Arch...but under construction
I switched to this location after a troubling stay at a nearby hotel a few days prior. I was excited to find a room near the arch (we had a partial view from our window), but I was disappointed with my family's stay. Trying to find the parking garage entrance was horrible. I stopped at the front to ask a valet parking attendant, but no one came. I finally had to walk in while parked in valet parking drop -off/pick-up. The entrance to the parking garage was not labeled for the hotel. When we went to leave, something like paint had dipped on our windshield. It had to be scraped off as it would not wash off. When checking in, there were no luggage carts, so it was a fun trip to the 17th floor. I asked about a late check and was told they could add an hour (12:00). I was grateful, but when I read the read the info in the room about hotel amenities, it said check out was 12:00. The room was a really nice size...plenty of room. The toilet looked like it came out of an old school building. The drain stop for the tub was sitting on the edge of the tub. The was mold or mildew on the grout int the shower and the same on the fabric shower curtain. The temperature in the room was poor and extremely difficult to change. The free in-room wifi was inconsistent at best. I was the only one in the family to successfully connect, and the service kept cutting out. While checking out, the desk employee did not inquire about my stay. I felt like an interruption (same at check in).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it, staff was totally unfriendly.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
We been hold 2 hrs over phone but no one show up, internet was not working and no one care about inspite of repeated request. Room were unclean, staff was not friendly. Never suggest anyone to stay, waste of money completely
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quincy IL

Creepy hotel by the Arch

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Room wasnt very clean, there was no towels in the bath room. some staff was rude. Won't go back