Ratings based on 2,613 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Accommodations are 1st class, staff is not

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: The old school elegance throughout.
Cons: Staff needs to be more attentive to service and interested in the success of the hotel.
Location: The hotel is in Clayton, MO, which is near Washington University and also Forest Park. There is a lot of attractions at both.
This is a first class hotel with a beautiful, beautiful lobby. Unfortunately some of the staff do not seem to be aware of the level of service that goes along with such a facility. For example, I had used valet parking to park my car. After I checked out the following day there was no one at the Valet stand to get my car. I waited about 10 minutes, figuring the person was retrieving someone else's car. When no one came I went back to the front desk to ask about it. It turns out the person who was supposed to be manning the Valet stand was sitting in the lobby playing games on his cell phone. Not what I would expect from the type of hotel this place could be. Also, Google Maps shows the hotel as being permanently closed. When I mentioned it to the front desk staff and offered to take a picture of them behind the registration desk and send it to Google, to show they were not closed, one of them was not willing to have his picture taken. So I just took a picture of the sign - but I was amazed at the indifference of the front desk staff to this.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N

I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
When we got to the hotel, hotel staff were very professional helped us get to the garage... which by the way is very confusing being that it's still under construction. When we got to our room, there was air blowing in the vent that we could not shut off- on the sign it said "please use thermostat to change temp" which never worked. Get ready to jump in bed and I see hairs in the bed which meant they didn't change the sheets. Called down to the hotel and they switched us to an executive suite. Breakfast (buffet style)and sauna was the best part of the stay. The tv also didn't turn on.We were highly disturbed for the price we paid to stay here. Staff was accommodating though. Wouldn't stay here in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The friendliest staff ever.

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Having stayed here a few times, I can say that all the staff - from front desk to other staff -- are the best and friendliest. Breakfast was great, too, and the owner of the hotel himself came by to ask me how I liked my stay. Now, that's interest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Downtown Clayton luxury for an affordable price

Posted Feb 15, 2017
For the price this was the perfect hotel! The staff could not be friendlier! The lobby is gorgeous- you get the "luxury" of staying in downtown Clayton at a swanky hotel for a third of what the Ritz costs! Breakfast was also incredible- and it was nice to have a shuttle to the airport. My only beef was the parking. There should be signs in the garage where to go- it could be better. I would 100% stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Hotel- Close to our twins college!

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Location: Close to Forest Park, the Zoo and all the attractions near St. Louis.
Nice, clean, reasonable, friendly staff and great breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Staff was exceptional and very helpful. Two blocks from Metro link is so convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent, affordable, locally-owned

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: Just as nice as chains across the street but more affordable. High level of service, garage parking, huge complimentary breakfast buffet w/ omelettes
Cons: N/A
Excellent, will stay here again anytime I need to be in the Clayton area. Owner personally greeted all guests as breakfast and asked if they needed anything to make their stay better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Always a pleasant stay at this hotel. I've stayed here before and will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Webb City, MO

Repeat stay

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Multiple stays here while visiting my daughter at school. Convenient facilities, close to WashU. Walking distance to multiple restaurants and shuttle is available. Excellent breakfast, covered garage parking (we had ice and freezing rain). Great not to worry about vehicle
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
The first room they gave us had no heat and no telephone. The second room television remote didn't work and the bathroom needed repairs. There was laundry piled on the hall floor. The only redeeming feature was the staff who were friendly and helpful.