Ratings based on 2,061 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not that good staff ok but room not that good

Posted Feb 1, 2016
rooms are not that good I asked smoke free and pet free but they gave me 2 nd floor room with all kind of allergies I am not go back this hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Horrible "moth ball" stench on 6th Floor

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Stayed on 6th floor of West Tower; horrible moth ball stench emanating throughout the entire floor kept my wife and I up all night and clogged our sinuses. We both had migraines the following day. Placed a call to front desk around 2:30am. No response. As we were leaving at 7am, work crews were attempting to run fans, oxidizers, and other machines to "reduce the odor" according to one of the supervisors who was talking to one of his crew. Despite the acknowledgment of the maintenance staff, management made no gesture to "make it right". We have stayed in this hotel numerous times before. Very reasonably priced and a great breakfast. That said, they should work to keep their repeat customers. They did not. We won't be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, mile from campus chapel I was going to

Posted Jan 4, 2016
The only complaint about this hotel would be that it is built weirdly so if you get on one set of elevators you have to get off on floor 2 and go to a different set of elevators to get to half of the 4th floor. Other than figuring out parking and the split level, nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service

Posted Dec 30, 2015
The staff was incredibly helpful and courteous. The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. I liked that the hotel had a unique feel, not just a generic hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Great Service!

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Cons: Pool could use some up-dating. Whirlpool would have been nice. Sauna could have been hotter, but maybe we didn't look for the controls??
Location: Beautiful Forest Park with free museums. Incredible variety and quality of restaurants at affordable prices on Delmar Blvd. in University City.
The hotel staff was cheerful and helpful with all details of our stay. The room was quiet and clean and spacious. The pool was deep enough to get a workout. They did not have a whirlpool, however. They sauna was nice. The breakfast every morning was AMAZING!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clayton Plaza, Downtown Clayton, MO

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: We liked the location as it's convenient to restaurants, shops all located in beautiful Clayton within walking distance.
Cons: Everything was fine. If any improvement, which is not worth mentioning, would be a waste receptacle by the desk/sleep area.
Our stay at the Clayton Plaza was very nice. We did not spend much time at the hotel as we were visiting family for the holiday. The staff was wonderful, all were very helpful as well as friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than expected!

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Room was spacious and clean. Area surrounding hotel was clean and friendly. Plenty of dining options within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Best Hotel in St Louis

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: The rooms, staff, breakfast, pool, location, the owner, if I missed anything that too.
Location: Right in the center of Clayton near Forest Park in St Louis.
We have been staying at the Clayton Plaza for the past 6 years while our son was getting his degree in Pharmacy. For the cost and what go get this is one of the best Hotels we have stayed not only in St Louis but anywhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IN

Average hotel. Past its prime.

Posted Nov 30, 2015
The lobby is very impressive if slightly dated. While our room was more than adequate the rest of the hotel is showing it's age. The layout is very confusing since the hotel is 2 buildings joined together. Our route to the pool involved a long walk with 2 elevator rides. It looks like they are not using certain parts/floors of the hotel. It is very dingy in some areas, creepy according to my daughter. Breakfast buffet was included and above average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tx

Convenient & Clean

Posted Nov 30, 2015
I was very pleased with my stay at the Clayton Plaza hotel. I was traveling with my mother (age 86) and the amenities at the hotel were very accommodating: Restaurant, Parking, Accessability, etc.