Ratings based on 2,650 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Great Breakfast and Close to Everything

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was awesome, the pool, the free arcade room for the kids, close to Forest Park and easy drive to downtown. Hotel in a safe area.
Cons: Minor cosmetic repairs/updating to bathroom.
Location: Forest Park including the free zoo, science museum, art museum, and relaxing. Also close drive to down town St. Louis.
We did a vacation to St. Louis and had a great time there. The hotel is very close to the zoo and Forest Park. It is a quick drive to downtown St. Louis as well. The hotel was very nice. Everyone there was super friendly and helpful. Our kids had a blast in the indoor/outdoor heated pool and the free arcade room. The breakfast included was worth the stay by itself...so good! Our room was very quiet and comfortable. There is construction going on in the parking structure and minor repairs here and there, but that happens anywhere you go. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Rockford, Il

Clayton Plaza = great place to stay

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Cons: The only problem we had was our keys didn't always work and we would have to have them reset.
Location: Lots of restaurants within walking distance.
I just returned from a quick spring break trip with our kids. This was our second time staying at the hotel, and we would go again. The staff is friendly in all areas entrance, front desk, restaurant, and cleaning staff. My kids love this hotel as the pool is an indoor/outdoor pool and, well that's pretty neat! They also love the FREE arcade. The breakfast is very good. I am extra pleased with the staff this time around...my son accidentally left his ipad in the room. We thought for sure it would be gone for good. Not so! The cleaning crew turned it in and it is being shipped back to us. Two thumbs up for the Clayton Plaza :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed the stay for WASHU college visit

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Great service, clean rooms, staff great, nice complementary full breakfast buffet, convenient parking ($6 / day) and close location to WASHU campus
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peoria, IL

Under construction

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Decent room size, in a good neighborhood
Cons: See experience. Also room service options, not a good variety, no vegetarian main dishes.
Woke up early, around 7 am, to the sound of parking garage construction. Disappointed a room with two queen beds is considered to be for two people instead of four, charging us extra for a 1 and 5 year old... but then only stocking the room for two people every day so had to keep requesting additional items. Game room by pool was nice touch but half the games were broken.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from omaha

Posted Apr 12, 2017
A great stay. They are under a bit of construction which made the garage somewhat confusing. The front desk was warm and inviting and welcomed my family as if we were their own. The workout facility was above average and has all working equipment. Whirlpool and sauna areas were clean. The rooms are also decent but could use a little aesthetic maintenance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waukesha, Wisconsin

Nice hotel close to St. Louis University

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Very nice hotel. Clean. Friendly staff. Lamont, the Bell Hop was helpful in getting around the hotel and suggesting quiet times for breakfast. Parking structure under renovation and a mild inconvenience. However I would not factor that in on the overall evaluation. The breakfast buffet, included with the room was extraordinarily good. Overall: Excellent hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel, GOOD for the price love the location.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Location - Price
Ok hotel, GOOD for the price love the location. this the only reason I stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Amazing, friendly staff even at 3 am!

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: The hotel has a great complimentary breakfast buffet for guests. We enjoyed the happy hour specials. The beds are so comfortable!
Location: We were there for a WashU visitation. This hotel is close to Forest Park which has free museums and a zoo.
We checked in late ( 3am). Josh at the front desk checked us in. He was so friendly and helpful! After telling us where to park he came out to the parking garage to make sure we parked safely and knew where to enter the hotel. The hostess at the breakfast buffet was so welcoming every morning! We enjoyed talking to the bartender at happy hour.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inconsiderate

Posted Apr 8, 2017
The most unprofessional and inconsiderate establishment I've ever encountered. Please take your money elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Bloomfield, Michigan

Nice staff, great location!

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: The breakfast buffet that is included in the room cost is excellent. The rooms are very clean.
Cons: The parking garage was being remodeled, and there was no parking for people with handicap permits near the entrance to the hotel.
Location: There are a number of good restaurants within walking distance, and it's only a five-minute drive to Washington University and The Loop area.
I often stay here when visiting my daughter at nearby Washington University. It's always a good experience! Staff is pleasant and accommodating. My only complaint was that there was no handicap accessible parking near the hotel entrance. The garage was being remodeled, so much of the space there was not available. I believe that, under those circumstances, the hotel should offer complimentary valet parking to those with handicap parking permits, but I was told they do not do this. I thought about pursuing this with a manager but did not. Otherwise, it's a great place to stay.