Ratings based on 1,545 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Expected more

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Our room had trash in several locations left by the previous occupant, so I'm questioning how well things were cleaned. Even metal scratches in the bathroom sink! The elevator system is frustrating. Three very small elevators to service 25 floors plus the bar restaurant at the top of the hotel. My suggestion is to avoid the hotel after baseball games for awhile unless you enjoy standing in long lines. The bathroom was small with poor water pressure. Unless you use valet parking, you will be parking in a public garage in the next block. Staff was very courteous and helpful. In the middle of the night, it sounded like people having a long conversation outside our door. Maybe they were in another room, but it woke both my husband and I. This hotel has a great location close to the Cardinals Village and the ballpark, as well as the arch and the metro. The room fee is for location, not a luxurious room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2015 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your business and for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We apologize that your stay did not live up to your expectations. We do hope that if you are ever in the area again, that you will give us another opportunity to serve you!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Small beds

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: We enjoyed the location.
Cons: Fridge in room, good coffee available.
Location: Great for attending Cardinals game and visiting the Arch
Still using double beds instead of queen, probably because the room is small. We had only two towels when the room was booked for four. On the plus side, a great place to stay to go to a Cardinals game and travel up the Arch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2015 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your business and for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are really grateful that you chose to stay with us and we do apologize that it did not completely meet your expectations. We strive to make every stay a great one and we hope that you'll come back and give us another opportunity if you are ever in the area again. Thank you again for your business and your review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Albany, IN

Short stay

Posted Jul 27, 2015
We only stayed 1 night. We came for a baseball game. Loved that we were right across the street. Room was clean, staff was very nice. Elevators extremely slow due to it being super busy. We wanted to order room service to avoid having to battle the Elevators, but couldn't get anyone to answer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2015 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We're sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations. The elevators are in the process of being analyzed. In late Fall, we are planning an overhaul to the operating system that will make the elevators far more user friendly and, more importantly, far more efficient. Guests will be able to get to and from their rooms far quicker. We have heard the concerns and we will be addressing them soon! Again, we appreciate your business and your feedback and we hope you'll come back and stay with us again the next time you are in the area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Location: it was literally right next to the ball field which is what me and my wife wanted
great hotel. friendly staff. had never been in an elevator where you selected the floor you wanted to go to before you even got on the elevator.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2015 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for your business and for your feedback on your recent stay with us! We appreciate both and hope you'll come back and see us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location to downtown activities.

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: 360 bar was a fun time.
Cons: The room was somewhat small.
Location: Great location.
Excellent for our trip to see the Royals versus Cardinals game. Can't beat the location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2015 by John, Hotel Management
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we are very grateful for both your business and your review! Please come back and see us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Great location across the street from ball park

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location. Across the street from Ball Park Village and Bush Stadium. Close to Gateway Arch, several restaurants and attractions.
Cons: The room was clean, but the dresser and bathroom door looked like someone beat them in. The door worked but the drawers were hard to open and close.
Location: Location is great and easy to get to. Ball Park Village across the street has variety of food drinks, Cardinal Baseball Hall of Fame and entertainment
Valet parking attendant brought out the luggage cart and helped unload baggage. Check-in and check-out was painless, we arrived two hours early and we were able to take procession of our room at that time. The staff was very polite and helpful. The hotel facilities were very nice. After taking in a ball game we visited the roof top 360 Lounge on the 26th floor. The service was great and the view was spectacular in all directions. There is also an outside area, including an outside bar, overlooking the ball park and downtown St Louis. We had a very pleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for your business and for your kind review! Please come back and see us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Hilton does the Cardinals Right!

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: The location is obvious, but the staff was amazing. Great people who were friendly and helpful.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Loved the proximity to Busch Stadium and the fan pavilion across the street. Amazing!
We went at catch a Friday night Cardinals game. The valet was quick, easy and affordable, the check in was fast and easy. The hotel and rooms are filled with great old photos of the Cardinals that are a nice touch. The walked back and forth to the ballpark and enjoyed everything the neighborhood around stadium has to offer. All of that right outside our hotel door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2015 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your business and for your kind review! We appreciate both and hope you'll come back and see us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vero Beach, FL

Very nice, but expensive parking

Posted Jul 25, 2015
The staff at the hotel was very nice and helpful but I was disappointed in the parking cost which was $20-$27 (depending if you wanted valet or not). Our view was really nice and you can walk to downtown sites. The traffic noise was noticeable and there was no free internet, but the view made it a very nice stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2015 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for both your business and your review. We apologize that you were not happy with the price of parking, but we assure you that our parking rates are completely in line with every other hotel in the downtown St. Louis market. Having said that, we are sorry that you were not informed of our parking rates ahead of time. We are pleased that you otherwise enjoyed your time with us and we do hope you'll come back and see us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and great staff

Posted Jul 21, 2015
We had a great stay and thought the staff were really nice and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2015 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for your business and for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to serving you again if you are ever back in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed.

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Expected more from Hilton. Perhaps it was because they are so busy. Lots of other hotels in area so will not being staying at Hilton again. Staff could not have been more friendly & helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2015 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for your business and for letting us know about your recent stay with us. We do apologize that your stay failed to live up to your expectations. We do get busy at times, especially during baseball dates, but that is never an excuse to fail in the area of customer service. We pride ourselves on providing a wonderful customer experience and we apologize for failing to live up to those standards. Thank you for your feedback and we do hope you'll reconsider and give us another opportunity the next time you're in the area.