Ratings based on 285 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: This hotel needs a deep cleaning from top to bottom. Then hire a completely new housekeeping staff to keep it clean.
This place is filthy. Carpets, curtain, chair, headboard and even the lampshade were stained. The shower had brown mold everywhere. I wore flip flops to take a shower. Carpets throughout the hotels and in the elevator were dirty and not even vacuumed. There's a $10 charge for parking that's not mentioned until you're checking in. I wouldn't have stayed after I saw the room only I had gotten in so late and was only staying the one night. Completely shocked that 'Holiday Inn' would have their name associated with this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mundelein, IL

Good Value

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The fact that they accept pets.
Cons: There is no lounge area. I know this is a Holiday Inn express, but they need to have a lounge area like other hotels where you can just hang out.
Location: Lots to do in the immediate area.
The hotel was nice. We were able to bring our dog. I do think $25.00 per day for a pet charge is a little much. We did not have our room cleaned so I think the hotel should have waived the pet fee for us. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful. So many choices and the coffee was delicious!!!! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The A/C in our first room was not working and the maintenance guy that came to check it out was so courteous and helped us move to another room because the air could not be fixed right away. Kudos to him.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Location: tons of restaurants nearby
Really great shower and bed. AC worked well and loud toilet and bath fan and light are integrated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clarksville, tn

Great for staying in a busy exciting area

Posted Jun 2, 2017
We came for the tourist attractions, like the arch and the zoo and the gardens. The room was fine. Reflexively clean though we had to ask for soap and whoever stayed there previously had a lot of hair that we kept finding everywhere. Breakfast was what you would expect. Fine not fancy. Typical Holiday Inn. Location was great though. Whole foods was right begins us. Lots of restaurants and night life. We had a sick boy and ordered delivery from a local pub and it was great. My husband was able to get some beer from whole foods and we were set.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Good location--mediocre hotel

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: The location is great.
Cons: The rooms are barely furnished and only minimally clean.
Location: This is in a rapidly changing area of St. Louis and near many attractions and high rent hotels and apartments. It feels out of place.
The hotel seemed half-finished. The decor was strangely incomplete, and the rooms were odd sized and half furnished. Our toilet seat was broken and the coffee maker didn't work. With a location in a rapidly improving area (next to a Whole Foods) this hotel could and should be a lot better in every respect. Very disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted May 17, 2017
The carpet was very dirty and the shower curtain was gross. (no tub) The security door to the outside was supposed to be locked but was not. Parking was an extra $10, which I did not know about. The breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly and accommodating, but the facility was not very nice. The rooms were not very soundproof so it was easy to hear televisions, people and alarms. I would not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pensacola, FL

Nice dog friendly hotel

Posted May 14, 2017
Extremely spacious room, really quiet, and peaceful, with no excess noise to startle my two little terriers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Housekeeping was very spotty. Left wet towels on the bathroom floor multiple times. Didn't chance toilet paper until I had completely run out (and no extra rolls in the room). Didn't always replace towels even when they took the dirty ones.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
I was a little scattered-brained when I arrived and a couple of other times, but the staff remained kind, patient, and respectful. I enjoy people, and they responded in kind. The hotel is well situated and getting to restaurants was easy. The area was a nice mix of old and new, so my walks were filled with wonder.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: It offered a contintental breakfast, it had information on sightseeing trips, close to the St Louis chess center
Cons: The room could be improved bathroom was too small, only one chair in the room, TV needs to be fixed for obtaining all of the availibile channels.
Location: Location is great if you like the central west end, shopping, restaurants, chess club for playing chess.
Nice hotel close to restaurants, bars, public transportation. The room did not have a chair and ottaman for 2 days, and the T.V. in the room did not get all the channels that was listed on the hotel card.