Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Quiet & Convenient to SLU; Needs some TLC

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Convenient location to St Louis University. Great value for a suite.
Cons: Housekeeping. More information on restaurants nearby and hours for the two connected to the hotel.
Location: Close to SLU, St Francis Xavier Church, short drive to downtown St Louis, Amtrak and 25 min to the airport.
We talked to several front desk staff during our stay, most were friendly enough, but not overly helpful. It felt like all they were there to do was check you in. No one offered info on the hotel or room amenities. Booked a Superior King room- 4 nights. The hotel appeared nearly empty so after 1 night we upgraded to a suite (only 2). Worth the extra money. The first room was adequate, but the suite was far superior. There is a living room w/fireplace, large TV, wet bar, fridge, desk, Keurig coffee maker, bedroom w/K bed & TV, plus HUGE bathroom w/jetted tub, spa shower, large double vanity w/TV in mirror. If we had not upgraded, we wouldn't have enjoyed our stay. Needs improvement: More guest services information, better house keeping- No one we asked, knew how to operate the gas fireplace in the room. Housekeeping didn't seem to do much more than change the sheets, leave clean towels and empty the trash. No cups for the coffee maker and no coffee pods, only tea. Lighting is poor in both room categories we stayed in. Overall the hotel seems tired. The gym is neglected. I'm pretty sure we were the only ones to use it in 4 days. The water cooler was empty. There were refill bottles, but no one ever replaced it. The stack of towels was not replenished, by the 4th day we used the last of the towels, the bin to toss dirty towels was not picked up, the sanitizer wipe dispenser was empty so you couldn't wipe down the equipment and the biggest draw back, there is no bathroom
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Um bom hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Fiquei no hotel pela proximidade das instalações da Univ de Saint louis, não utilizei dos serviços que hotel dispunha, mas o quarto bem espaçoso confortavel e limpo... o hotel conta com um restaurante do qual nao fui informado sobre este, só soube depois de alguns dias,portanto, possui um menu variado para cafe, almoço e jantar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2016 by Ashley, Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

The hotel does not specify what u need 4 check in

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Nothing staff was rude and seemed judge mental and the hotel has no order
Cons: Staff, seemed like a run down neighborhood not worth the price
Location: It's near Washington ave would recommend hotelbif your old not for young crowd save your money and stay somewhere else
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Ashley, Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Britney. I am sorry to hear about your experience with the hotel. We in no way like turning guests away but without a valid form of payment we cannot allow you to check in. Our neighborhood is the art district of the city with SLU right across the street. But again, I apologize you did not find it to your standards. Thanks for the review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wichita ks

Nice hotel. Walking distance to fox theater.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
The hotel was nice & room was clean. Only complaint would be smells in hallways. One morning stinky Parmesan cheese & other mornings damp & musty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by Ashley, Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
I do apologize for the strange smells in the hallway. However, I am glad to hear your room wasnt that way! If you should ever find yourself in St. Louis again, we would love to host you for a return trip!
3 out of 5
by Nicole

Cute but not great.

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is cute - nice job on the design but that is about it. Everything was just okay. Some issues: My bathroom light was out upon arrival (it was late and I did not report it) - fixed for the second day, no fitted sheets - I would bring your own - I did not like the mattress pad exposed as that does not feel sanitary, remote was very dirty (took several wipes to stop crud from coming off), fitness center has three cardio machines one of which does not work - no sanitary wipes in there either day so I guess everyone's sweat just dries. Also very humid in the fitness center. The sushi restaurant menu looked great but was just okay. Overall, my stay was fine - the staff was nice - but nothing else stood out as being very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I am truly sorry to hear your stay with us was just "okay" as we strive to provide an exceptional stay for each of our guests. Unfortunately we do not provide fitted sheets as the wear and tear on the stretching isn't ideal for a hotel setting but at the same time, we do have a sheet on the bed so that the mattress pad is not exposed. Our fitness center is cleaned daily by our housekeeping staff with towels available for guest use. Also, if a guest should ever require more than what we offer in our fitness room, we have access to St. Louis University's recreational facility that includes a pool and numerous pieces of equipment that we are unable to hold in our boutique setting. If you should ever return to St. Louis we would love to have the chance to remedy the issues you found with the hotel!
5 out of 5
by Trena from South Lyon, MI

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
We loved our stay at Hotel Ignacio. I had never been to St. Louis before, so I was pleasantly surprised when I chose what I think was a great location. The area was very quaint and quiet. The hotel itself had a great feel.... artsy and fun. The front desk staff was amazing. They recommended the best place for breakfast and were just very welcoming. We will definitely stay at Hotel Ignacio again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Trina! I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Our staff is the backbone of our hotel, so to hear they made great recommendations for you is lovely to hear! We would love to host you again should you ever return to St. Louis!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville

Nicely decorated hotel with helpful staff

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Rooms are clean but minimalist. No chair or sofa. Mattress is on a platform and uncomfortable for me. A/C could be set no lower than 68 and actual temp much higher. Could hear guest in other room coughing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Ashley, Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your taking the time out to review our property. I am truly sorry the mattress was not to your liking. Should you return to St. Louis we would love to have the opportunity to host you again and fix the issues!
5 out of 5
by James

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us! Hope to host you again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a nice review! Have a great day and we look forward to hosting you again soon!