Ratings based on 725 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Caribbean

History and Charm

Posted Sep 28, 2016
This is hotel for you, if you appreciate not staying in a cookie-cutter building. This building has history. Everything about the building, the design, the artwork is interesting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for the perfect 5 star review! We are so pleased to read your kind remarks. Feel free to spread the word and we hope to see you again in the future!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indiana

Great location

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Great location downtown with very easy access to the interstate and all of downtown. Comfortable bed and good staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review of your recent stay with us at the MAC. We are glad you enjoyed everything and we hope you'll be our guest again when your travels bring you back to St. Louis!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Nice hotel located in the city centre.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: The people were helpful and the place was quiet and clean.
Cons: The tiling in the bathroom shower was partially missing and made the shower appear dirty.
Location: It's about a 5 minutes walk from the Blues museum which is excellent. It is also close to a great wine bar and good restaurants.
We stayed for a couple of days. The place was very nice and quiet. It was also very formal and required a jacket for dinner which we did not expect. This is probably due to us not reading up on the background of the facility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a thorough and positive review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and took advantage of our convenient and walk-able downtown location. We hope to see you again in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Historic hotel near the arch

Posted Sep 23, 2016
The hotel has a charming turn of the 19th century appeal, big lobby and reception, with lovely and friendly staff. There is a dress code for eating in the dining room, which although understandable seems at odds with the condition of the decoration, and made me feel uneasy about spending anytime outside our room in the hotel itself. The room was very large, with a nice king size bed, simple shower in the bathroom and a decent size TV. We had no view as it appeared to be blocked by another building. The condition of the room was fair, but in desperate need of a refurbishment. Furniture was tired, the soft furnishings were old and the carpet a little stained (none of the room was dirty though). I'd recommend the hotel for a short stay, just don't expect the room to meet up to the grandeur of the lobby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for your candid review of your recent stay. We are always extremely pleased to receive compliments on our staff, as we truly feel they make the difference. We are continuing to renovate our property, especially the guest rooms to connect them with the same feel as the lobby. Thank you for your recommendation for a short stay, and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you as our guest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Comfortable. Didn't care for the bathroom. Could be updated a little.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you had a comfortable stay and we are continuing to renovate our historic property. We would love to serve you as our guest again so please come see us when your travels bring you back to St. Louis!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aurora, CO

Nice hotel for quick stay.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
The hotel was simply to cold, hallways and room. Adjusted room controls to no avail. Looks like water damage on ceiling. Wallpaper and paint peeling. Bed was really springy...not soft or firm and rolled to the middle. However, the staff was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your candid review. We are sorry to hear that several items fell short of your expectation during your stay. We will certainly look into these issues and appreciate you letting us know about them. We are always extremely delighted to receive great comments about our staff so thank you for also pointing them out and we sincerely hope they were able to make it an overall positive experience to stay with us. Thank you again and we hope you'll give us another chance to serve you as our guest in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b wichita ks

Love location

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Awesome. Will return loved the food !!!??????!!!!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! Please come back to see us and dine with us again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great Hotel in the city with an old feel to it.

Posted Aug 14, 2016
The room was extremely spacious, and the staff was very friendly! I would definitely recommend staying here if you want to stay in the city. It's a short walk to nearby bars, restaurants and the ballpark. They also have a shuttle that can take you to the games. Wonderful experience in St Louis, we will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Hello Lindsey and thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are glad you were able to take advantage of the great location, the shuttle. Of course we are always delighted to receive staff compliments too! Thank you for allowing us to serve you as our guest and please come see us again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Great history to the hotel with beautiful entry

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Nice staff. Advertised that had a pool in Expedia but then found it was private. They did let my family use it for a fee. Rooms are very dated but clean. Fit with historic feel of hotel. Bathrooms very much in need of updating. The shower was clogged and the tile was falling apart. Looked dirty due to condition. Our phone didn't work in the room, also. I still found the hotel endearing and their employees had been there for years. Great price for being in the heart of downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you so much for your review. We are glad you still enjoyed your stay even after some shortcomings. We greatly appreciate the candid feedback. Our guests know best and we use these comments to help us improve. Thank you again and we hope you'll give us another chance if your travels bring you back to St. Louis!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
We booked this hotel for the cards game. We were told when we got there we couldn't wear sports shirts or hats. Because we had a small ice chest we had to use the back door and use staff elevator because they didn't want us seen in lobby. The room was dirty we had to wear shoes in shower. The bed wasn't clean. There is no space in bathroom to do hair or makeup. The lights only worked in half of the room.