Ratings based on 680 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

great facilities

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Great stay at a good hotel close to everything operated by good management and a great friendly staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overall stay

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Was accessible to downtown, but due to being downtown was a lot of noise from streets at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and we hope you'll stay with us again in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa

An old, classic hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: The beds were very comfortable. The location was great if you want to be close to most thing downtown.
Cons: The hot water did not come on in the bathroom sink for 20 minutes. Literally no water came out for 20 minutes. Shower was tiny. No temp controls.
Location: We reserved this room on the road and only walked around the following morning to eat breakfast.
The hotel was an old hotel near all that is taking place downtown. So location was good. We had limited interaction with the staff but they were friendly. We only stayed one night and spent little time at the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are so sorry to hear about the water in your room! We have engineers on site 24/7 so I hope we were able to help you resolve the issue. We are very pleased to hear that everything else went well during your stay with us and we hope that you'll give us another chance the next time you find yourself in St. Louis!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A small sliver of the St. Louis Arch, and river.

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: Having the opportunity to exercise and price.
Cons: Some rooms have a step up to get into the bathroom.
Location: There is something for everyone, just not always that near.
All paperwork was organized and ready when I arrived. Check in was fast and professional. Services were there if you needed. Roof and reading rooms were a surprise. This place has real wood and history. I will keep the hotel map. Rooms were a little small but bed was comfortable. My bathroom had a step up entrance and you will stub you toes! Ventilation in the rooms is expected with old hotels, ceiling fan was necessary. Room lighting and fan control knobs twist, difficult to locate/operate in the dark. There was a closet with a suitcase pop up tray, challenge to get in/out of closet between bed and desk. Next time get a suite. The ventilation/AC room control on the wall exists for feelings of empowerment and hope.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your positive and candid review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience of discovering our unique building and we are always happy to hear that our staff was efficient and professional. We appreciate all of your feedback and we are continuing to replace/update the AC controls in the rooms. Thank you again and we hope you'll come see us again when your travels bring you to St. Louis!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice historic gem, but rooms lack the luster...

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: I liked the staff, and the looks of the lobby and downstairs area.
Cons: update bathrooms, carpet in rooms.
Location: There are a few new restaurants on Washington.
Staff=Excellent. Everyone was nice and accommodating! Room was dated. The beds were ok, but there was some wear and tear... Bathrooms looked to have some original fixtures, which were neat, but not really functional. Big thing for us, is that we had no control over temperature in the room. The radiators were on one night and it was not cold.... TV, was newer...the Sensor on the TV was disabled and the remotes did not work well. I am not sure why this was done nor the purpose behind this. But the staff did what they could to assist, and did not understand why IT had done this. We did not use the athletic facilities nor did we dine on site. I was a little self conscious about the dress code, but when we saw the family of four going to the pool with no shoes, and boys had no shirts I was less concerned.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M.

Center of everything!

Posted May 10, 2016
Friendly staff, comfortable room, had everything we needed!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Wonderful for anything downtown

Posted May 6, 2016
First, get a deluxe room. Other rooms are more bare bones for members. But with a deluxe room, this hotel is awesome. Great atmosphere. Very nice staff. It's very old school with a billiard room, basketball court and lap pool. The dress code is relaxed on game days so don't let that dissuade you. There's a free shuttle to Cards games. I can't wait to stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very clean and friendly

Posted Apr 27, 2016
It was a very nice hotel. However when I arrived in was asked if I would mind going from a 2 bed room to a 1 bed and that was fine. The problem I had was there was no mention of lower the cost and as I was checking out the couple next to me was also checking out and they was upgraded to a larger room at no extra cost to them. Doesn't seem fair. Also when we took showers the water was cold. Other then that it was pretty nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Historical Stay!

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
It was really cool to stay in such a historical site. We were just a couple blocks from the Arch and the Old Courthouse. We felt very safe walking around, we could have driven, but there was no need because everything was so close.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Downtown near bars and restaurants.

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Great old hotel that is beautiful inside, full of art and history. Friendly staff. And a good selection of cigars.