Ratings based on 804 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel downtown

Posted May 28, 2017
Within walking distance to the convention center, Arch and a variety of restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your excellent review! We are so glad to hear that not only did you enjoy your stay, but that you were able to enjoy our great city as well. Please come back and see us soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wish I had more time to explore

Posted Apr 30, 2017
The interior was fantastic. Recently opened to the public, I wish I had more time to explore and take in the atmosphere. I'm glad I was able to experience it. The staff was nice and got us checked in and out quickly. Cons: Make sure you ask for a room with a view unless you don't care. The showers are very small. So if you happen to be a bit larger person, I wouldn't recommend this place. Ladies be careful when you have to bend over to shave. Haha.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your excellent 5/5 review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we certainly appreciate the constructive feedback and tips as well. We hope you can make it back to explore the building some more too! Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice place, needs new sofas.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, parking attached and covered, staff was fabulous.
Location: 1/2 block from the Edward Jones Dome so perfect for events there. Restaurants in easy walking distance up Easnington Street are terrific.
The experience was great! Great location. The sofa bed in 817 reminded me of my sons college apartment furniture however. It had seen better days.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Greetings and thank you so very much for your excellent review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your feedback on the sofa as well. Thank you again and we hope you'll be our guest again in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Smith, Arkansas

Well placed downtown with great character

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Great location for downtown. Amazing staff and wonderfully history and architecture. However, the rooms need some serious updating. This could be a truly awe inspiring hotel. If it weren't for the obvious signs of age and dated rooms. Still, might stay there again for the right price.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the history and architecture of the building and that our staff was amazing! We are continually updating our rooms so we certainly hope you'll come back to visit us on the future and be able to experience one of our newly renovated rooms. Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old hotel but well kept up

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Staff was great. Restaurant/ bar. Was very relaxing grea service
Staff very helpful Room was small shower was small lobby was beautiful lots of wood
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed everything and we hope you'll visit us again in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Opening Day

Posted Apr 4, 2017
We stay there all the time. Awesome staff. Lobby his beautiful. Rooms old style.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you so very much for your stellar review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and even more delighted that you are one of our loyal repeat guests! Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review and we can't wait to see you again next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will stay here again.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Excellent staff. Dave (?) bartender was outstanding and his manager , Karen (?), kept the bar open for us. Kudos to both. Clean facilities. Responsive staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your splendid review! We are so please to hear that you'll join us again when your travels bring you to St. Louis! We will be sure to share your review with Karen and Dave as well to celebrate their success with them. Our staff truly makes the difference and we couldn't be more proud when we have guests specifically give them rave reviews. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shabby isn't always chic

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
The entry, lobby, and adjoining rooms are stunning - they are historical and grand. The staff was polite and helpful. I knew going in that there were not many amenities (work out facility for guests, swimming pool, breakfast, free parking, refrigerator), however, I was looking for an available hotel for convenience of the location and was willing to spend extra for this attribute. The room, however, had MUCH to be desired. It was shabby and outdated. The carpet was stained, the bathroom stall (not tub) was moldy - I wished I had shower shoes. The baseboards and corners of the rooms were dusty and dirty. There were only a few outlets and extension chords and power strips were in the open and visible. It was not worth the $200 per night simply for a convenient location and beautiful common areas that we walked through.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Alex, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your thorough and honest review. While it is always fantastic to receive compliments on our staff and the grand lobby, it is also upsetting to hear about the rest of your experience. We obviously failed to meet expectations and for that we would like to extend a sincere heartfelt apology for falling short. Even though we have a historic building, it is up to us to maintain it to ensure every guest has a room that is clean and has everything in working order. While we cannot go back and change your experience, we would again like to apologize for failing you. If there is anything we can do to make it right, please do not hesitate to let us know.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was so welcoming and helpful! I really enjoyed my stay and would stay there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Alex, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave us a review and to provide a compliment to our staff! They are truly our best asset and we will be sure to share your comments with them to celebrate their success. Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you in the future!