Ratings based on 719 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Historic hotel near the arch

Posted Sep 23, 2016
The hotel has a charming turn of the 19th century appeal, big lobby and reception, with lovely and friendly staff. There is a dress code for eating in the dining room, which although understandable seems at odds with the condition of the decoration, and made me feel uneasy about spending anytime outside our room in the hotel itself. The room was very large, with a nice king size bed, simple shower in the bathroom and a decent size TV. We had no view as it appeared to be blocked by another building. The condition of the room was fair, but in desperate need of a refurbishment. Furniture was tired, the soft furnishings were old and the carpet a little stained (none of the room was dirty though). I'd recommend the hotel for a short stay, just don't expect the room to meet up to the grandeur of the lobby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Comfortable. Didn't care for the bathroom. Could be updated a little.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aurora, CO

Nice hotel for quick stay.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
The hotel was simply to cold, hallways and room. Adjusted room controls to no avail. Looks like water damage on ceiling. Wallpaper and paint peeling. Bed was really springy...not soft or firm and rolled to the middle. However, the staff was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your candid review. We are sorry to hear that several items fell short of your expectation during your stay. We will certainly look into these issues and appreciate you letting us know about them. We are always extremely delighted to receive great comments about our staff so thank you for also pointing them out and we sincerely hope they were able to make it an overall positive experience to stay with us. Thank you again and we hope you'll give us another chance to serve you as our guest in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b wichita ks

Love location

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Awesome. Will return loved the food !!!??????!!!!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! Please come back to see us and dine with us again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great Hotel in the city with an old feel to it.

Posted Aug 14, 2016
The room was extremely spacious, and the staff was very friendly! I would definitely recommend staying here if you want to stay in the city. It's a short walk to nearby bars, restaurants and the ballpark. They also have a shuttle that can take you to the games. Wonderful experience in St Louis, we will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Hello Lindsey and thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are glad you were able to take advantage of the great location, the shuttle. Of course we are always delighted to receive staff compliments too! Thank you for allowing us to serve you as our guest and please come see us again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Great history to the hotel with beautiful entry

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Nice staff. Advertised that had a pool in Expedia but then found it was private. They did let my family use it for a fee. Rooms are very dated but clean. Fit with historic feel of hotel. Bathrooms very much in need of updating. The shower was clogged and the tile was falling apart. Looked dirty due to condition. Our phone didn't work in the room, also. I still found the hotel endearing and their employees had been there for years. Great price for being in the heart of downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you so much for your review. We are glad you still enjoyed your stay even after some shortcomings. We greatly appreciate the candid feedback. Our guests know best and we use these comments to help us improve. Thank you again and we hope you'll give us another chance if your travels bring you back to St. Louis!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
We booked this hotel for the cards game. We were told when we got there we couldn't wear sports shirts or hats. Because we had a small ice chest we had to use the back door and use staff elevator because they didn't want us seen in lobby. The room was dirty we had to wear shoes in shower. The bed wasn't clean. There is no space in bathroom to do hair or makeup. The lights only worked in half of the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto ON

A different hotel experience

Posted Jul 31, 2016
This hotel stay what's not what we expected from our booking--this is an old school gentleman's club athletic facility--quite high end-I assume back in the day, if men had to stay in the city for business, they would stay at The club, as rooms quite Spare and small. Comfortable, clean beds but no fridge or Microwave--no room phone. Bathroom had a Very small shower, tiled, similar To a gym shower, no shelves and a very low lip--plastic curtain--I was Not able to shower my kids there as temperature was very difficult to keep constant. There was a pool, but really it was an athletic facility with a pro shop--we were allowed to use it because it was unlikely that club members would be using it at that hour--it was pretty clear that the pool desk staff felt that the informally dressed family with kids were just keeping them from completing their shift. When we checked into the hotel, there was a dress code noted on the desk which pretty much ruled out our wardrobe. When I parked the car in the garage behind the hotel, the security staff at the rear entrance of the hotel was not to sure that I was in the right place. My biggest disappointment with this location was that it was not represented properly on the booking site. The price was exceptional-- but we were not prepared to feel so out of place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: How old the place was
Cons: The bathroom step and the noise you could hear in the halls
Location: Excellent location. Busch stadium was 6 blocks away, and they have a shuttle that runs to the stadium.
It was a nice hotel. I only have 2 complaints. First, all the bathrooms in the rooms have a step up. One person in our group went to use the bathroom when we first checked in and missed the step. She ended up having to go to the ER. The hotel staff was very concerned but they said this has never happened. I don't believe it. Second, you could hear everything outside of the rooms. I was by the vending machines and heard the ice machine all night. Someone else in our group was by the elevators and heard everyone getting on and off. Other than that, it was a nice place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Hello Amanda and thank you so very much for taking the time to write your review. We cannot express how truly concerned we were and still are for the other person in your group. Despite this unfortunate accident and the noise issues we truly appreciate your understanding patience and are grateful that you still gave us a perfect score on the review. We hope that you'll be willing to give us another chance to host you as our guest in the future. Thank you again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

great facilities

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Great stay at a good hotel close to everything operated by good management and a great friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Hello Luke and thank you for the stellar review! We have a unique building but we are most proud of our staff so it is great to receive reviews that speak the same! Thanks again and we hope to have you as our guest in the future!