Ratings based on 792 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Smith, Arkansas

Well placed downtown with great character

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Great location for downtown. Amazing staff and wonderfully history and architecture. However, the rooms need some serious updating. This could be a truly awe inspiring hotel. If it weren't for the obvious signs of age and dated rooms. Still, might stay there again for the right price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old hotel but well kept up

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Staff was great. Restaurant/ bar. Was very relaxing grea service
Staff very helpful Room was small shower was small lobby was beautiful lots of wood
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed everything and we hope you'll visit us again in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Opening Day

Posted Apr 4, 2017
We stay there all the time. Awesome staff. Lobby his beautiful. Rooms old style.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you so very much for your stellar review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and even more delighted that you are one of our loyal repeat guests! Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review and we can't wait to see you again next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will stay here again.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Excellent staff. Dave (?) bartender was outstanding and his manager , Karen (?), kept the bar open for us. Kudos to both. Clean facilities. Responsive staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your splendid review! We are so please to hear that you'll join us again when your travels bring you to St. Louis! We will be sure to share your review with Karen and Dave as well to celebrate their success with them. Our staff truly makes the difference and we couldn't be more proud when we have guests specifically give them rave reviews. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
by Steven

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Comfy and clean. But needed a mini fridge in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Steven and thank you for the 5-star review! Many of our suites are equipped with refrigerators and we some refrigerators available upon request for our standard rooms as well. Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed staying with us. Please come see us again in the future!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
The rooms are old fashioned and small, and you can sometimes hear the people in the room next to you. Not great. I love the history and ambiance of the hotel, but the rooms need much to be desired.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and we are very sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like to offer our sincere apologies for your experience. If there is anything we can do to make this right please let us know and we hope you'll be willing to give us another chance in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent beds!!!! Slept well!!!

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
It was amazing!!! You MUST stay MAC!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review! Please come see us again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

beautiful hotel inside and close to the convention

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: The lobby and dining areas was fabulous and beautifully arranged
Cons: Their needs to be a microwave and portable icebox in every room and everybody can be benefited.
Location: Its a good spot for our convention every year and close to the Ark.
I had a very warm and nice experience but the price that the booking agency gave me went up higher when I arrive and I wasn't totally prepared.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Hello Tommy and thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll visit us again in the future! Thank you again for being our guest and for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again next year, if not sooner!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel rooms probably haven't been updated since the 70s or 80s. The rooms need to be completely gutted. However the room was so small that even an upgrade may not help tremendously.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We would like to extend our deepest apologies for falling short of expectations with your room. We have already completed a large portion of room upgrades and renovations and are still pushing forward on these projects. That being said, we recognize that still does not change your experience, so if there is anything we could possibly do to make this right for you please do not hesitate to contact us. Thank you again and we hope to receive another chance to serve you as our guest in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
Very Good!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fantastic review! Please come see us again!