Ratings based on 1,410 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Adequate hotel on the Hill for visiting family

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Just slept there. Very small room would hardly accommodate most travelers with luggage. But if compact fits your style it is adequate, clean, decent bathroom and shower. Dated 3 story property with rooms all exiting to the outdoors. Outdoor appearance is “sketchy”.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Cheap motel appearence

Posted Nov 26, 2017
I was afraid for my belongings. The area seems suspecious of criminal activity . The hotel has an unfriendly security guard. I ask him if it was safe to leave my belongings, i was told: there are not places anymore where you can leave property inside your car that cannot be stolen. I replied, there still hotels where you can leave things inside without worties of thieves breaking in your car. I had to drag all my music gear inside my room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jax fl

My first room not so good

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Pros: It was reasonably priced and up to two pets stay for free
Cons: A better management. They need to start caring for their properties. This has not been my first Red Roof stay.
Location: The location is central. It's in a good location close to a lot of restaurants that will deliver to the hotel.
I got to the hotel and was checked in promptly. The room I was given stank like someone had smoked a cigarette in it. I was concerned because this is a non smoking facility and there is a fine if you smoke in the room. There was no way to air it out. The A/C unit was not working properly and made noises. I called the front desk and they immediatelly changed my room to a much nicer smelling and an A/C unit that worked properly. The only issue I had with the room was that the lock was hard to open. I reported the problem to the staff but they informed me that the maintenance man was not on the premises and was not expected until the next day. Other than the issues mentioned I had not trouble with the room. These Red Roof Inns are in decline. They are not being maintained properly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

The cleaning lady was a sweetheart!!

Posted Nov 22, 2017
The stay was quiet and staff were all respectful. We stayed for days and had a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Good value, good location

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Location close to Forest Park and the Zoo, easy access to major roadways.
Cons: The thermostat was a little touchy.
Location: Within minutes of the Zoo, Planetarium, Art Museum, Forest Park. Also within minutes of some of the best Italian food this side of the Atlantic.
Just a one-night stay at the Red Roof Inn on The Hill in St. Louis. Let me be honest here, I wasn't expecting the Red Roof Inn to outshine the Fontenbleau Hotel, nor am I going to tell you that it did. But I got a clean, comfortable room at a very good rate, and the central location was close to a lot of St. Louis attractions. The staff was friendly and helpful. What more could I ask for?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from detroit

very nice near downtown

Posted Nov 12, 2017
I had to leave a previous hotel because of a smoke filled room that was said to be smoke free. at red Roof I was able to rest in a clean air and condition room
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Louis, MO

Nice hotel and an excellent staff

Posted Nov 6, 2017
A wonderful experience and will return. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location was convenient too many of the area attractions
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: The price was very reasonable, however, it seems like you get what you pay for.
Cons: politeness of the staff and facility maintenance (elevator, phone, outlets)
Location: It was easy to find and drive to.
I asked for a room that was fully accessible for a guest in a wheelchair. When we got there, we were told that our room was on the 3rd floor. When we tried to use the elevator it was out of service. The employee at the front desk said that he could call and have someone come and fix the elevator. We assumed that could take quite a while, and it was already pretty late, so we asked if they could place us in another room. After some back and forth about whether our room assignment could even be changed, due to booking through Expedia, he finally agreed to place us in a "handicap" room on the ground floor (which probably should have just been done in the first place..?) . The next morning, we took a little longer than 11am to check out (we ultimately left the room at 11:45am), due to my husband's disability and being in a wheelchair, it takes him a little longer to get ready in the morning. The staff was not very understanding, and treated us a little bit rudely in asking us to leave. They came to the room twice banging very loudly on the door and told us we had to call the front office, which we would have been happy to do, but the phone in our room didn't work. We also noticed that both of the power outlets at the bedside didn't work as well. So when we woke up in the morning, our phones hadn't been charged overnight :( I probably would not stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Only perks - location and cost.

Posted Nov 1, 2017
We chose this motel strictly because of cost and location near the hospital. First impression...walking to our room there was a case of Natural Light beer sitting at the top of the stairs (in the staircase just outside of the lobby and it was still there the next morning at check-out). Upon first entry to the room, it looked clean enough, but as the night went on there were more and more things that we found unsettling. There was a random hole in the bathroom wall tile. The room in the floor above ours must have flooded the bathtub at some point because the ceiling was peeling and in need of repair in multiple places (we were on the 2nd floor of a 3 floor motel). There was a substance on the back of the headboard that had appeared to have been wiped off by houskeeping but they didn’t wipe the entirety of the headboard so you could see where they had wiped vs where they had not. There was a random clicking noise coming from the heater in the middle of the night (that was not in use). When I mentioned this to the assistant manager upon checkout they blew it off and the (assuming) maintenance man that was standing at the counter told me it was the heater pipes as if it was no big deal...despite the fact that it was loud enough to wake me up. No apology or “we’ll check it out” or anything. I’ve stayed in $40 motels nicer than this one. So overall definitely disappointed in the condition of the room. The woman at check-in was nice. But that was the only “pleasant” part.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by Dawn M. Krizek - Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jessica, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I would like to apologize for the beer trash setting in the hall, but once our staff leaves at night, it can be difficult to notice things until we come back the next day to clean. I would also like to sincerely apologize for the condition of your room. We are constantly working to repair, clean, and maintain our rooms. If we would have known the room was like this, we would have happily moved you and begun maintenance immediately before letting anyone else stay in there. I am so sorry that housekeeping was not up to standards; however, I have already implemented new policies concerning inspections of rooms before guests check in. I would also like to explain about the radiant heat panels. They do tend to click when the metal expands and shrinks. It is normal for anyone who has ever had those type of heaters in their home, but a little discerning for someone who has never experienced radiant heaters. I was not trying to disregard you that morning, I am simply used to the types of noises those heaters make. I am so very sorry if I made you feel that way. Our maintenance man is great and does a wonderful job around here. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you the improvements we have made as we work to please every single guest that comes into our home.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Review

Posted Oct 24, 2017
It served its purpose. The lobby was tiny, and everything was conducted through a tiny window. Two men were in front of me as I checked in. One fell down, then wanted to rent a room for five days. The other was similar, except he didn't fall down. I got the impression they were homeless. My room was adequate. There was no maid service at all, but an envelope was left on the desk for a tip. I did not leave one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by Dawn M. Krizek - Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, The lobby you were in is our night window and vending machine. We do have a larger regular lobby for daytime hours. I am sorry that you had to witness the guest problems in front of you, I wish we could have controlled who walked in the door ahead of you. I am also sorry that you did not receive service from housekeeping, they are here all day every day of the week. I do hope that you will not let this deter you from visiting us again in the future. We would love another opportunity to give you the service you deserve.