Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

1.7 out of 5
13% of guests recommend
1.7 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
1.8 Room comfort
1.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R.

Last resort

Posted Mar 22, 2016
You get what you pay for...sink was flooding from the back, the bed is big but very uncomfortable, and the location does not have WiFi...a cab will cost you at least $12 to make it to downtown STL. If you stay here, let it be your last resort
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Motel from hell

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Complete remodel
Location: Area was too scary. Afraid to leave the car in the parking lot. Would never wander around the neighborhood.
Terrible place. Bad area . Rooms were dirty, smelly, no towels, sheets paper thin, lumpey mattress, staff indifferent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel for local travelers.

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Location close to Cahokia Mounds historic site?
Location: Cahokia mounds and easy freeway access to Gateway Arch.
One of lifetime experience for a hotel that did not change towels, not making bed. No shampoo inside room, no bath mat, no bathroom tissue holder. Only one fluorescent light in room. Window shade had holes, bind was broken. Air conditioner was very loud and made cranking noise when started.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by yolanda from Ventura

Excellent Staff

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: It was very quiet because its not located in the city.
Location: There's a Mexican food place close by called Mi Ranchita that was very tastey. Sure its a hole in the wall, front part is a small grocery store
It's what we needed. Get the King Size bed room. It may not have some of the other luxuries, gym, etc, but we didnt need that. The staff was so helpful & nice. We are very much into customer service. We arrived very late, all the food establishments were closed & the staff offered us some food for purchase. We needed a cab for the morning & the staff called to arrange for a pick up. There's public transportation close by. My husband & I managed to figure out how to get to Edward Jones Dome using the bus & Metro. Bus stop is across the street from the hotel. If you have a car, the price is right. You arent living there, just sleeping for a few days. If we were to go back to STL, at that price & friendliness of the staff, we would come back.
3 out of 5
by Sher from Kansas

An average motel

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: Nice exterior, heater worked well, helpful staff.
Cons: Rooms could be made to look less junky--better towels,fixtures,repainting,carpet shampooing.New plumbing to eliminate dirty water coming from faucet.
Location: Some good Mexican restaurants
Although the heater wasn't turned on when we got there, it worked well and heated the room speedily. The room was ample and there was good Internet access. Bathroom tile was cold and got clammy when we took showers, and there were no bath rugs and only very thin towels. Dirty water came from bathtub faucet at first. Several things made the room look "junky," such as peeling/patched paint and badly-repaired towel bars. But the staff gave us good service. The manager was quick to help us when we were accidentally double-billed; he corrected the problem speedily. Something that was disappointing is that we booked through Expedia's unpublished deals, but would have paid less had we booked through the motel directly.
1 out of 5
by john from st louis

Avoid this hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Where do I start. Comforter had cigarette burns. No top sheet. My socks stuck to the floor. I was afraid to touch it with my bare feet. We felt misled by Expedia.com. The pictures are not accurate. Shower not clean. We slept in our clothes and did not stay through our reservation. Told no refund even though I didn't ask. Lesson learned. Got stuck because of last minute booking on World Series & Monday night football weekend but it won't happen again!
1 out of 5
by GEORGE from KANSAS CITY

The worst hotel i have ever slept in!

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: NOTHING IT TOTALLY BAD!!
Cons: YES , TAKE THEM OFF YOUR LIST!! PLACE NEEDS TO BE DEMOLISHED !!
I hope that someone reads this!!! The Royal Relax in is the worst place i have ever stayed in ! The carpets were soiled and the shower head was broken!! The furniture was 2 hand and the walls had holes that were patched and the walls were not painted!! The room stunk and it was very very small !! I couldn't believe my eyes!! The Hotel/Motel should not be on your site period!! I have stayed in 100% nicer places. I will never ever book again with you!! No shampoo , and the towels were very old!! NEVER AGAIN!!! I WASTED 60.00 FOR NOTHING!
1 out of 5
by Robert from Karnack, TX

If you prefer rooms with bullet holes, this is it!

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: That I checked out alive.
Cons: That Expedia would drop this motel off of their list.
Location: Bad location. Wrong side of the river. 25 dollar ride to Busch Stadium, 45 dollar ride to the airport.
I was afraid for my life. The walls had obvious attempted repairs over bullet holes. The motel location was in a poorly lighted section near glorious East St. Louis. The next day after my cab driver picked me up, he asked why I would stay at a motel that caters to drug dealers and pimps.
1 out of 5
by sri

I never see this kind of hotel before. very bad ex

Posted Oct 1, 2013
no cleaning, no room service, tooth paste and other things very expensive. my tooth paste charge I 5$. they charge total $11 with service fee.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Junior from Chicago

Not clean

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: staff was friendly
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: I went to St. Louis MO, just hung out there.
The bathroom was clogged up, floors dirty, and it smelled bad. Staff was friendly.