Ratings based on 350 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Hotel in Clayton

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Fresher rooms and more attention to details
Location: In the heart of Clayton. Great area
The hotel has a friendly staff and a great location in the heart of Clayton. You can walk to some of the best restaurants in St Louis. There is a small parking lot across the street. This time however the hotel fumbled on a few details. We didn't get maid service one day and another day there was no clean silverware in the breakfast room. Also our room smelled musty and stale.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Very Charming

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: The historic building. The beautiful room that was unlike the major hotel chains. Helpful staff. Valet parking. Comfy bed.
Cons: The loud AC/heating unit. The eggs.
Location: There are several nice shopping centers close by: St. Louis Galleria and Plaza Frontenac. The zoo and botanical garden are not far away.
I stayed one night in a first floor room that was lovely. Roomy. Clean. Nice decor. I didn't have a view - instead my room looked out onto an alley. But the room had been recently redone it would seem. Beautiful laminate flooring. The hotel was quiet - in that I didn't hear people in the hallways, toilets flushing, showers running, etc. The heat/AC unit was really loud though. I ate dinner in the adjoining restaurant. It was okay. Nothing special. But they did have a great bartender. I did wake up to find a large centipede cruising around the shower though. The general manager was very nice when I mentioned it to her on checkout. With all the recent rains, I suspect it came in through the drain and isn't something that could really be helped. Breakfast was in a nice room. Free paper. The eggs left a little to be desired (powdered maybe?). The bacon was great. Being gluten free, that was about all I could have.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not quite a boutique hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: The hotel is well located in Clayton, in a comfortable setting. It could really be a gem under the right circumstances.
Cons: See above
The desk person was AWOL when I came to check in at 8.30pm, and no one knew where she was. I stood there by meyself for 5-10 minutes before she returned, reeking of cigarette smoke. During the night, I found that the toilet in my room woulnd't flush and the HVAC chirped. The management made it right, putting me in a better room for my second night, but you have to wonder how things could be that bad. Are they not paying attention to details? Are they not investing enough in people and maintenance? You go to a smaller, boutique-style hotel for the comforts of home, but hanging by myself and dealing with a broken john is a bit more of home than I expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Weekend stop in St. Louis

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Great staff. Not a cookie-cutter chain. Interesting furniture in room. Above average continental breakfast.
Location: Lots of restaurants, a Catholic church, a pubic library, a large park ... Easy drive to St' Louis Zoo and Missouri Botanical Garden.
We stayed three nights with a 16 month old toddler. The staff were wonderful with our toddler. A small hotel in an urban center turned out to be better for us than an anonymous jumbo hotel on a freeway. We could take our toddler for walks, visit the local library's kiddie section, etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, Quaint, Much Character

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was excellent. Friendly, helpful, well trained.
4 out of 5
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fort lauderdale

Business trip

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Orbitz
The hotel staff were e trembly friendly helpful and professional. The location was very convenient to all areas of St. Louis. Restaurants were within easy walking distance. Included breakfast provided numerous options. Excellen hotel at a reasonable price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Quaint boutique inn located in lovely quiet Clayton. Near great restaurants and all St Louis attractions.
3 out of 5
by Suzanne

Conveniently Priced, Perfectly Located for Clients

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
A former grande dame lodge in need of updates, but perfectly suited for out-of-town guests.