Ratings based on 354 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport, Oregon

Wedding Party Place of Choice

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: This hotel is convenient for walking to places to eat and it has a personality that makes you want to just 'stay put'.
Cons: It would be nice to have a nite light in the first level bathrooms, as everything must stay shuttered (windows).
Location: We had a good parking place, and lots of 'walk to' places to eat. It was only a short distance from the major thoroughfare (freeway) entry.
We were in St. Louis for our Grandson's wedding. The entire family attending from 'other places' chose The Seven Gables. We were so happy we did. We had nothing but smiles greet us from the moment of arrival until our early morning exit. ALL staff were courteous and generous with time and information (well...maybe one waitress in the bar was a bit 'tight with us') and the breakfast was a FIVE STAR gift each morning (sausage the best we've eaten) and the HUGE cookies at the Front Desk were such a welcome and wonderful treat each day. Thank you, St. Louis, for The Seven Gables experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and quaint hotel. Great location!

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Beautiful part of St. Louis. Close to great restaurants that are within walking distance. Staff was very welcoming upon arrival. Will be back to visit again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but the place is tired

Posted Jun 24, 2017
This place has been around for a long time. It needs a refresh. Looks tired, rugs are worn. I was comfortable but felt a bit dirty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Hotel in Clayton

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Fresher rooms and more attention to details
Location: In the heart of Clayton. Great area
The hotel has a friendly staff and a great location in the heart of Clayton. You can walk to some of the best restaurants in St Louis. There is a small parking lot across the street. This time however the hotel fumbled on a few details. We didn't get maid service one day and another day there was no clean silverware in the breakfast room. Also our room smelled musty and stale.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Very Charming

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: The historic building. The beautiful room that was unlike the major hotel chains. Helpful staff. Valet parking. Comfy bed.
Cons: The loud AC/heating unit. The eggs.
Location: There are several nice shopping centers close by: St. Louis Galleria and Plaza Frontenac. The zoo and botanical garden are not far away.
I stayed one night in a first floor room that was lovely. Roomy. Clean. Nice decor. I didn't have a view - instead my room looked out onto an alley. But the room had been recently redone it would seem. Beautiful laminate flooring. The hotel was quiet - in that I didn't hear people in the hallways, toilets flushing, showers running, etc. The heat/AC unit was really loud though. I ate dinner in the adjoining restaurant. It was okay. Nothing special. But they did have a great bartender. I did wake up to find a large centipede cruising around the shower though. The general manager was very nice when I mentioned it to her on checkout. With all the recent rains, I suspect it came in through the drain and isn't something that could really be helped. Breakfast was in a nice room. Free paper. The eggs left a little to be desired (powdered maybe?). The bacon was great. Being gluten free, that was about all I could have.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not quite a boutique hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: The hotel is well located in Clayton, in a comfortable setting. It could really be a gem under the right circumstances.
Cons: See above
The desk person was AWOL when I came to check in at 8.30pm, and no one knew where she was. I stood there by meyself for 5-10 minutes before she returned, reeking of cigarette smoke. During the night, I found that the toilet in my room woulnd't flush and the HVAC chirped. The management made it right, putting me in a better room for my second night, but you have to wonder how things could be that bad. Are they not paying attention to details? Are they not investing enough in people and maintenance? You go to a smaller, boutique-style hotel for the comforts of home, but hanging by myself and dealing with a broken john is a bit more of home than I expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Weekend stop in St. Louis

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Great staff. Not a cookie-cutter chain. Interesting furniture in room. Above average continental breakfast.
Location: Lots of restaurants, a Catholic church, a pubic library, a large park ... Easy drive to St' Louis Zoo and Missouri Botanical Garden.
We stayed three nights with a 16 month old toddler. The staff were wonderful with our toddler. A small hotel in an urban center turned out to be better for us than an anonymous jumbo hotel on a freeway. We could take our toddler for walks, visit the local library's kiddie section, etc.
5 out of 5
by Maria

Good experience

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was pleasant. Although the location in the middle of clayton, it was quite quiet. They serve a hot breakfast. The room cleanliness and comfort was extraordinary. The only thing against it was that the building vibrates in the morning. But overall we were very happy with our experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, Quaint, Much Character

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was excellent. Friendly, helpful, well trained.