Ratings based on 335 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Quaint boutique inn located in lovely quiet Clayton. Near great restaurants and all St Louis attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Comfortable and very convenient

Posted Jan 1, 2017
We stayed at Seven Gables for four nights during the Christmas holiday while visiting family in the St. Louis area. The hotel is a charming, historic building. The staff were kind and helpful. Our room was pleasant with a bed that was terrifically comfortable. The housekeeping staff were attentive and one of the staff even brewed fresh coffee for me in the afternoon when he could have easily told me to use the in-room coffee maker. The breakfast was good, though I would have enjoyed fresh fruit. We will definitely use the hotel again. Be warned- the hotel doesn't have an elevator. If you have trouble managing stairs, you should check about first floor rooms. Also, the hotel is charming and historic. It is not squeaky clean and new. I would have liked to have had recycling bins available for bottles and such. I also would have liked to have had more light in the room. There was one low wattage overhead light and table lamps that were dim....maybe higher wattage bulbs would help. Finally, it would have been great to have a small in-room refrigerator....or liquid creamers for coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, IL

Cozy bed & breakfast feel, five star hotel service

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: I liked the fact that it was a small, personable place with charm and excellent staff.
The staff was warmly friendly and very helpful. The rooms were clean and cozy. The only complaint I have is that my room must have been near the main water pipes and at about 4 am the running water noise started and did not cease. In spite of that I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly, fun hotel.

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Fourth time back to this hotel. The staff is the best, very friendly and very helpful. It's not a cookie cutter hotel and is a great place to get away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
This is a property that is between charming and needing some TLC. Loved it - the staff in particular was superb, but the rooms and hallways need to be "refurbished" - especially given the room rates.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tudor Revival in Need of Revival

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, mediiocre hotel, average food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay...the renovated rooms in this hotel are very attractive and cozy. We were told only upper and first floors have been renovated, so ask for one of those......Only negative we noticed--- on Saturday there was a table full of used bar/glassware from the night before scattered all over a table in the courtyard. This courtyard is visible from the check-in desk and it left a very poor impression considering it was left there almost all day. We came and went several times throughout the day and saw staff members just hanging around the check in desk....no one seemed to be as bothered by the cluttered sight as we were. We kept wondering why it took them all day to clear the table. Other than that, we loved the place!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Small Hotel in a good location.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Location, clean, friendly staff.
Cons: The finishes on the remodeled room weren't done well. things looked goo from 15 feet, but the craftsman ship was sloppy.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. the hotel is small older hotel with mild room updates. the upside for the hotel is in the heart of Clayton, MO and easy to walk to the restaurants and easy to get around St. Louis from there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

European Bed and Breakfast feel

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Just an overnight stay but the staff was very accommodating and solicitous to any request.We were especially impressed by how pleasant and welcoming everyone was even though they were busy preparing for a large party at the time we were checking in.