Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Comfortable and very convenient

Posted Jan 1, 2017
We stayed at Seven Gables for four nights during the Christmas holiday while visiting family in the St. Louis area. The hotel is a charming, historic building. The staff were kind and helpful. Our room was pleasant with a bed that was terrifically comfortable. The housekeeping staff were attentive and one of the staff even brewed fresh coffee for me in the afternoon when he could have easily told me to use the in-room coffee maker. The breakfast was good, though I would have enjoyed fresh fruit. We will definitely use the hotel again. Be warned- the hotel doesn't have an elevator. If you have trouble managing stairs, you should check about first floor rooms. Also, the hotel is charming and historic. It is not squeaky clean and new. I would have liked to have had recycling bins available for bottles and such. I also would have liked to have had more light in the room. There was one low wattage overhead light and table lamps that were dim....maybe higher wattage bulbs would help. Finally, it would have been great to have a small in-room refrigerator....or liquid creamers for coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, IL

Cozy bed & breakfast feel, five star hotel service

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: I liked the fact that it was a small, personable place with charm and excellent staff.
The staff was warmly friendly and very helpful. The rooms were clean and cozy. The only complaint I have is that my room must have been near the main water pipes and at about 4 am the running water noise started and did not cease. In spite of that I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Small Hotel in a good location.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Location, clean, friendly staff.
Cons: The finishes on the remodeled room weren't done well. things looked goo from 15 feet, but the craftsman ship was sloppy.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. the hotel is small older hotel with mild room updates. the upside for the hotel is in the heart of Clayton, MO and easy to walk to the restaurants and easy to get around St. Louis from there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic hotel in downtown Clayton

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Great location. Rooms recently renovated and large. Quiet and comfortable. Nice little pub in hotel. Free breakfast not very impressive: not up to the quality of the rest of hotel, think cheap chain hotel breakfast. Staff pleasant and efficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

seven gables inn

Posted Aug 5, 2016
wonderful old-world charm. When you went in, you did not think you were in a big city, but back in another era.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016
The hotel is great and I would definitely stay there again. My only complaint about the hotel is it's air conditioning. It used to be an old apartment building, which I understand to be the challenge to it's air conditioning. I think they should add ceiling fans to each room. This would do a tremendous amount to add comfort!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minneapolis

Quaint architecture

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Feel like European hotel, nice bar, stair very steep, parking is not easy, staff are nice, room needs to be cleaner, good experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we suspected

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Room was very clean and the hotel staff were excellent. Would have been nice to have a fridge, but overall it had nice character.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Clayton / Midtown / Ladue

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: staff!
Cons: see above answer
Staff was very nice and helpful. Facilities need a bit a small upgrade: hall paint (lighter neutral color), new carpet and curtains for guest rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

I loved it!

Posted Mar 26, 2016
What a neat little place with charm and character. I knew nothing about this place and so glad I spent my weekend here. I will go back!