Ratings based on 264 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Normal, IL

Nice looking hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Decor of the hotel in lobby, hallways, and even the room itself. Staff was polite and helpful. Room was clean and quite
Cons: Only complaint was bed was firm, I prefer a pillow top. (But this is personal preference not an issue with the bed).
Location: 15 min from Dave and Buster and 18 minfrom St. Louis Zoo and Grants Farm. Location right next to highway to be able to travel to all location
Walk into the hotel to a clean fancy sitting room, dining area, bar, and front desk. Staff was polite and helpful. Room was clean and quite. Traveled with my Wife and 1 year old son.
Comment from EPC
Aug 18, 2015 by LeanneP, EPC
Thank you Jonathan for posting comments regarding your stay. We are very happy that you had a nice stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jackson Tn

Weekend Getaway

Posted Jul 28, 2015
My husband and I stayed here for along weekend. We barely left the hotel property because they had everything we needed. I really enjoy the hotels, shops, nightlife that is all within a few minutes walking time of the hotel. This is one of my favorite places to stay. Comfortable beds, clean room, very helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by LeanneP, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us! We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time and we hope to see you again soon here at the Sheraton!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carmi IL

Great hotel, close to everything!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
When we first arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by a wonderful front desk staff member. She got us checked in, and got me to sign up for the spg rewards program which got us free wifi during our stay!! We headed to our room, and when we walked in the door there were dirty sheets still laying in the doorway. The room was clean, I suppose it was just an oversight. Anyway, ppl aren't perfect, we calmy went to the front desk and told her it was no big deal but we weren't sure they were finished with our room. She apologized multiple times, and as an unasked for comp to the problem, she upgraded our room to a club room on the top floor. This allowed us access to complimentary in room water bottles, Sheraton robes, free morning breakfast, and 5 pm houre'derves. The club room offers a personal computer and printer just for club card holder, a 24/7 fridge with soda and water and a lounge type area. The staff were all very friendly, and they were extremely busy but it never phased them!! We used to be Drury people, but I think our stay at the Plaza, has forever changed our go to hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by LeanneP, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable time while here! I apologize about the sheet issue in your first room, but am glad that we were able to upgrade you to the Club Level for a wonderful stay. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again here at the Sheraton Plaza.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Hotel close to Wesport

Posted Jul 21, 2015
There was no A/C in the hallways and we were given a King bed and sofa when we requested 2 doubles. The sofa was hard as a rock and surely didn't sleep as nice as the bed. My kiddos ended up in the bed with me and that wasn't what I was shooting for. The pool is a lot smaller than it appears in the pictures too. However, the lobby is pretty nice. You can tell everything else is getting dates though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by LeanneP, Hotel Management
Hello and thank your for posting your comments regarding your stay. I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered. We are very sorry that we were not able to accommodate the room type you needed and that the AC was broken in our hallways. We have replaced the AC unit and hope that your next visit will be a more pleasant one. Thank you again, we appreciate your business.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

It was ok

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Very bad customer service .I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2015 by LeanneP, Hotel Management
Hello S, I would like to apologize for your experience at our hotel. We find bad customer service to be unacceptable and would like to correct the problem right away. Please accept our apologies and please give us another chance to show you the true Sheraton experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2015
A little disappointed in the room not having a microwave nor a refrigerator. Other than that it was good
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2015 by LeanneP, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for posting comments regarding your recent stay. I am sorry that you were not able to get a refrigerator delivered to your room, we do have them available upon request. The microwave is located in the lobby and is available 24 hours a day, we cannot however provide them in the rooms due to safety issues. Please accept our apologies for these issues and we hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Calls itself an airport hotel but shuttle doesn't even start until 6:30 am. Completely inadequate!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from watford. U.K

Very friendly and helpful staff

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Booked a room on the club floor, and really enjoyed the club lounge facilities. The guys that looked after the lounge we really friendly and helpful nothing was to much trouble. Would Def reccomended this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Campbell River, BC, Canada

Excellent stay.

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Very friendly and welcoming staff. Rooms were clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Donna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels