Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Joplin, MO

Nice Hotel, Good Value

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: newly remodeled, friendly staff
Location: Close to fast food restaurants, right off the highway
We have stayed at this location several times. The last couple of times (over a 2 year period), the hotel has been in the middle of a remodel. They finally completed the job and have given it a much needed face lift. Our room was very comfortable and this is a great location for us. We will definitely continue to stay here when we visit the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by Manish P., Hotel Management
Thank you for your time to let us know about your stay at our hotel, we appreciate your opinion. Thank you for your continue business, and would like to see you again in near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Room was nice. Every thing clean. Hotel staff ignored "Do not disturb" sign and came in room. Appeared to move things around. Did not appreciate that. Nothing missing though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Manish P., Hotel Management
Thank you and sorry for the confusion. I will be talking to out staff to make sure do not walk in the room with Do Not Disturb sign. Once again I apologies for coming in your room and make sure this does not happen again.
1 out of 5
by Patrick from CALIFORNIA

FILTHY, UNKEPT BLDG

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
Dirty I'll kept bldg, in massive disrepair. Holes in walls and ceilings, benches plagued with dry rot. Laundry area disaster yet expensive. Signage mis directs you inside bldg. front desk doesn't answer phone. OBVIOUS THAT OWNERS ARE FILTHY PEOPLE AND DONT INVEST ANYTHING INTHE MOTEL. Never again
Comment from Hotel Management
by Manish P, Hotel Management
I want to apologies for your unpleasant stay at our hotel. We have and are working to make our hotel better for our guest, I am sorry to hear that we have not lived up to your expectation in your case. I will make sure we get all of this concern address to right person and gets taken care. Thank you for your business.
2 out of 5
by Ginger Mitchell from Sleep Inn and Suites St. Charles, MO

dissapointed

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
hotel was clearly in process of remodel. room was nice and big, however there were ants and toilet was leaking and by morning wasn't flushing at all. I told service desk about my issues in morning she said she was sorry but made no offer to adjust my bill. that was a dissapointment.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Manish P, Hotel Management
I am sorry that your stay with us was not the greatest, We value your opinion and want to make sure it will be taken care. We have called orkins to come out and take care of ants situation. As you mentioned we are still doing some renovation and will make what ever is necessary to make our guest stay better. Thank you and hope you will give us chance again in future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only once

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff, obvious attempts at updates in paint & bedding. Very small bathroom in need of caulking, older shower head needs a really good cleaning. Sheets with old blood stains. Would not stay again, would much rather drive further & pay more for nicer cleaner hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Manish P, Hotel Management
Thank you, I am sorry to hear that your stay was not the greatest with us. We are trying to make our hotel better for our guest. You feedback will help us make right updates that we need. Thank you.
4 out of 5
by Vicki

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Manish P, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time to to let us know about your stay. We value your opinion and we do our best to make our guest stay better. Thank you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mo.

stay away from suites.

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: The remodel they did last year was nice on paints ..Just needs finishing.
Cons: finish the suites.
Location: was stores near by . mostly resturants
we stayed two nights got what they call a suite had the room to make a nice suite.. but only had a couch and big empty wall no tv .. Had a 32 inch tv in bedroom part. was very disappointed will not stay again. Cleaning staff broke toilet paper holder just put it on stool did not send maintains to fix had to fix our self or leave on floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2016 by Manish P., Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear that your stay was not what you expected. As you mention we did renovation last year and will look in to matter about finishing. Once again I want to apologies for your stay. Hope you will give us another chance to prove our self.
3 out of 5
by Shannon

Disappointing - won't stay here again

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
We were traveling for an event at the Family Arena and were looking for a hotel not too far away. The distance given on the website was 5 miles. It is at least 8 miles away. When we finally arrived (around 6:30) there was no one at the front desk and a sign saying call 0 for help. That didn't work. There was a card for the manager with a phone number. No one answered. After a long time, the front desk clerk finally showed up to check us in without an apology for the wait. He assigned us to a room right by the elevator, which we asked to change and he did. The room was FREEZING when we entered and the heater doesn't have a thermostat. Your choices are for it to blow air or turn it off. It took 5 hours to heat up and then it was too hot. No tub in the bathroom. Rooms are clean and fine - a basic room, but the service wasn't great, the location isn't great, and we were disappointed. The rooms were at least updated and don't look like the pictures on the website.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2016 by Manish P, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time to let us know about your stay with us. We are working hard to improve our hotel for our guest. We just finished renovation to our new design to dream by Sleep Inn. Sorry for the misinformation on distance to family arena from our hotel. I will make sure we update that information and photos on our site. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by Stacey from Minneapolis, MN

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
slept and left
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2016 by Manish P, Hotel Management
Thank you
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2016 by Manish P, Hotel Management
Thank you. Hope to see you again in near future.