Ratings based on 2,009 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel close to amenities . Good ambience

Posted May 25, 2017
There was a leak from the ceiling vent when we checked in. It was promptly resolved but left a soggy spot on the carpet. Left a dress hanging in the closet and called the next day from home. It was never recovered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mo

everything was excellent

Posted May 24, 2017
In overall it was a great experience went to the chainsmokers concert which was just down the street the staff were excellent and the room was really clean in overall everything was perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Staff great, management needs work

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Architecture and design.
Cons: Management paying attention to breakfast, and all details.
Location: Downtown.
Staff so nice and willing. Management not visible and not into details. Sound from hallways is a bit too noticeable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Beautiful lobby and nice hotel.

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Nice lobby and great room, the food on the breaks and lunch at our business event was very good.
Cons: Re-vitalize the area around the hotel. I don't think they have much choice there but the area isn't great.
Location: Walking distance to an Irish Pub and aforementioned Hard Rock and Landry's a few blocks from some other bars, nothing too close.
This is a very nice looking hotel with an incredible great room built in the old Union Station. The rooms are very clean, standard size with nothing special. Standard beds and bathrooms for a hotel of this class. The location isn't great, there are some chain restaurants nearby with Landry's and Hard Rock that are OK at best. It seems to be a part of town without much going on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique Hotel with Lots of History

Posted May 16, 2017
The hotel itself was absolutely beautiful. It's got so much history and the grand hall by the hotel bar is jaw dropping it's so pretty. We had a great stay. The environment was overall clean appearing. My only complaints were that 2 of days that we were there they took our old bath towels from our bathroom and never gave us any new ones so we didn't have any towels, and when we called down for them they never brought them so I had to to go the front desk the 2nd day it happened that evening. They also didn't make our beds but they emptied one of the trash cans! It was kind of strange. Other than the housekeeping experience we had a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Excellent hotel with tons of history!

Posted May 16, 2017
Everything and everyone was outstanding. Natasha at the front desk was the shining star amongst other stars.. I definitely will return to see the finished remodeling of the old food court area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel has a lot of interesting character.

Posted May 2, 2017
The hotel brings you back to when details where important, the architecture is amazing throughout the hotel. The staff was very helpful and accommodating to our needs. The restaurant staff knew actually what we needed, before we even sat down. My teenage son was treated with great respect, and had a continuous flow of chocolate milk at breakfast. There were so many hidden treasures, if you took the time to explore the hotel, The main lobby at night turns into a great spot to meet up with friends for a drink, while you enjoy the light show. The Hard Rock Cafe is just a small walk outside the main building, near the pond. Don't forget your quarters to feed the koi fish. The fish would follow you in the direction you were walking, waiting for treets. The metro is right in the parking lot, and was very easy to use. We had cookies and ice cream delivered to the hotel, from a local business. They deliver until 3 am. We had a great stay, and would love to come back, when they finish with all the renovations and aquarium.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Beautiful historic building
Check in staff didn't call when my room was ready, took at least 30 minutes to get checked in, with no wait, the evening staff in the Exec Lounge was rude. There was a conference going on and the public bathrooms were a mess and had no toilet paper. Shouldn't there be an easier way to the fire and lights show? Bellhop was extremely pleasant and helpful. Curb staff awesome, maid staff greeted guests in the hall but the front desk staff seemed quite rude.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Staff was welcoming and helpful. Valet parking is the way to go. The hotel is very Close to the Scottrade Center. The old shopping/food court center is closed but being renovated supposedly into an Aquarium by Spring 2018. This will be a great new attraction for St. Louis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Train Trip

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: VERY close and convenient to the metrolink! Just a stop away from the big Scottrade building and the Amtrak station!
Location: Jump on the Amtrak for a ride if you have never had the opportunity Pack a picnic lunch Make a day of it. Especially if someone you know loves trains
Hotel was as nice as it was years ago. However due to the extensive renovation, lots of areas were closed for renovation and looked dirty and forgotten. After using google to find out about the renovation, we were less disappointed as we hope the hotel will be restored to grandeur. Would have been VERY nice to know all the food courts were closed!!! That was a huge Plus years ago with kids! Look forward to the new building once all the renovations are complete.