Ratings based on 612 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Fantastic

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Location: walking distance to Scott trade center and other downtown activities
We stayed here after going to the St. Louis Blues game. The staff were very friendly and professional. From arival to departure they entire staff made us feel welcome and important. Price was resonable and valet service was outstanding.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room was OK, the service was terrible.

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Check in, check out process was very slow. Only 1 person working at the front around 4:30. The check in time starts at 4 so people try to check in when we got there. The room was okay, not very clean especially the floor. We have 1 year old with us and he picks up stuff from the floor. So I wanted the floor to be cleaner. We went there for the Christmas and there was the North Pole and Christmas trees and such. They were nice. But you don't have to stay at the hotel to see all that. When we got home, my credit card was charged by the hotel although we paid through Expedia when we made our reservations. We called the hotel, We were transfer to the accounting dept. but no one answered and just voicemail. Then the voicemail said any issues press1, so we press 1, then they just hang up. So we called the Hilton. We had to talked to several different people and told the same story several times. After all that, we were told we had to email it to them with a copy of our receipt. We don't have email from the union hotel because we paid thru Expedia. Other hotels double charged me nefore but it wasn't that hard to get refund. I only needed to talk to the front staff. I would not go back or recommend this place to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Very nice hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2016
We loved staying at this hotel. The staff was friendly and checking in was easy. The room was very nice, we had a king room with a couch. Bathroom was spacious and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Nice Experience

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: The decor and the very helpful staff.
Cons: If they could do something about the length of the parking to the hotel.
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The only thing we disliked was the fact that the parking was in the way back with a bit of a trek to the car and back (though when you're staying at a historic building, there's only so much they can do for parking).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Licking, Missouri

Nice hotel but not handicap friendly.

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: The light show in the grand area was very nice.
Cons: Handicap accessibility and directory signage, we had to climb several stairs where ramps are not provided. Provide protected parking (covered).
Location: Bush beer gardens and stadium, hockey arena and special events.
Parking was overpriced, outdoors and remote from the hotel. No staff at parking area entrance to direct visitors, directory signage was poor, leaving us and other guests confused as to how to get to the lobby, rooms and restaurants. The room was small and the king size bed was a queen bed. Room maid service did not resupply coffee water and mouth wash and actually missed my nephews room altogether not making the bed or replacing any of the used items.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Overall Good Experience

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: It was centrally located, but not much parking except at the hotel, which was expensive.
Cons: see above
Location: It was pretty centrally located.
All went well - few complaints: 1) the alarm clock is backlit, and lights up the whole room (needed to throw a towel over it); no reasonably priced parking options nearby; and 2) there is no heat/fan in the bathroom.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad experience!

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Really enjoyed the historical aspect of the hotel.
Cons: Staff, maintenance, room service, forthcoming about the massive amount of construction.
The staff were just "okay". No smiles or eagerness to help. Construction EVERYWHERE, and there were no warnings of this before buying the room. There was a party going on that was very loud and annoying, just 2 hours after that party was another LOUD event. 20 minute walk from parking and a $27 parking fee on top of the expensive room fee. The AC didn't work, was near 80 degrees the entire stay. Open condom packages between the bed and wall. Called room service and they promised a room refresh while I was away, it was never resolved. The old liquor bottles in the trashcan weren't a big deal, but it made the room smell like a bar. I was very excited to rent from this gorgeous historical hotel, ended up very disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2016
My only complaint is that we asked for the phone in our room to be fixed and they sent someone but the phone was not ever in working condition and the valet took a little longer than expected to get our car when we were leaving after checkout but these minor things did not affect our experience in the long run! The hotel was beautiful in every way, my boyfriend and I plan on returning and I really suggest this hotel to anyone who has great taste and wants the most out of their visit. We stayed in the more modern looking room/side vs the historic that is just our taste and were really very impressed and pleased with everything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gettysburg, United States of America

The hotel is a beautiful historic structure

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Architecture,history,amenities,lovely room. When first built in the 1890's it was the largest train station in the world.
Cons: Poor design as a hotel in terms of layout. Our room was reached by walking a maze of corridors and a light and sound show was being tested outside our window until 1am
Location: Gateway Arch
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful, historic hotel close to everything.

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Beautiful hotel built in and around what was once the largest and busiest train stations in North America. While the site is old and historic, the hotel has been renovated and has modern amenities while keeping the original architecture and feel. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is friendly, helpful and always willing to share the rich history of the area. Short walk or drive to the Mississippi River boats, the Gateway Arch, Busch Stadium and Scottrade Center. The hotel is undergoing another renovation which will bring a large aquarium to what was once a mall attached to the property. We will definitely be returning once the renovations are completed!