Ratings based on 1,587 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
They didn’t clean or take the trash from the suite area for two days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Overall good. Well maintained historic hotel. Good location and excellent amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

September holiday in St Louis

Posted Sep 29, 2017
A solid 4 star hotel - enjoyed the location and amenities - lots of good restaurants within walking distance - the hotel has several restaurants but they are pricey so we didn't eat there. The metro was a pleasant 20 min walk but there is also a bus you can take to get to the metro. The room was fine - a bit weird about towels - the cleaning staff folded the dirty ones as if they were still untouched and clean. Never had that issue before in other places I've stayed. All in all I would definitely stay here again if I ever go back to St. Louis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plano TX

Central Location

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Location & homely atmosphere.
Location: Walkable location to shops & eateries. Huge park across street with biking and hiking trails.
Greeted with kindness from the moment we arrived. The valet staff remembered us from our last stay and immediately accommodated our TEXAS sized vehicle. Check in staff were warm and friendly; bellman attentive. Visited two of the restaurants - easy to adjust menu to fit requests. Excellent food & service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Cons: The shower water pressure is too low.
Loved the hotel and location. The old lobby is fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Total Eclipse of the Sun

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Great place for launching our eclipse watching excursion. Comfortable rooms with comfortable beds. Staff very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: The staff were very helpful, and friendly.
Cons: The housekeeping staff are hard working and diligent, but they are overwhelmed by the amount of work asked of them. I would suggest hiring more staff
Location: Right next to Forest Park which is close to the zoo and the art museum. The local cafes were great, we ate outside every day.
Very nice upscale hotel in a wonderful, charming, safe area close to many attractions. The only drawback was the cleanliness. They may need to add housekeeping staff in order to allow them time to properly clean the rooms. Our shower had dried lumps all over it (I'm hoping it was shampoo and body wash). The baseboard in the bathroom had an inch thick dust coat on it, and there were smears of unknown origins on the bathroom walls. The 5th floor ice machine room had a spray of black liquid all over the walls, and the ice from the machine had black chunks in it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Nice stay in St. Louis. Hotel is clean and has interesting history. Love the location and the outdoor pool. Will return!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa

Disappointing

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Parking was expensive, 20$ a night and our jeep was rear ended while there. The room keys never worked to get out of the parking garage so we had to call every time we wanted out. The room it's self was nice. The AC didint work. It kept one room freezing cold and the other room very warm. The front desk wouldn't answer the phone most days, we would have to walk down to the desk to get extra towels. It should have been a much nicer place for the amount of money it costs to stay there. We had a group of 12 and we weren't impressed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

Posted Aug 23, 2017
On the day of my return to Seattle, I left my luggage and other material with (Yasser Seirawan) another person, to be left in his room. I returned with this person after a two and a half hour period at the chess club to retrieve my bag. I never checked my bag at that time because I had checked my bag just prior to leaving it in the apartment. Everything including my wallet were placed in a convenient area of the luggage for easy retrieval. I returned home and while unpacking I discovered my wallet was missing! I saw my wallet prior to leaving the apartment but not after. My contents included all of my three credit cards, identification cards for insurance and social security, and 1400 hundred dollars in cash, and 300 hundred dollars in Mexican currency. Also, on the day of my departure, the maid came to my room at nine o'clock in the morning asking me what time I was leaving. I would like to have slept in for as long as I could. Please do not use the name provided.