Ratings based on 1,565 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plano TX

Central Location

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Location & homely atmosphere.
Location: Walkable location to shops & eateries. Huge park across street with biking and hiking trails.
Greeted with kindness from the moment we arrived. The valet staff remembered us from our last stay and immediately accommodated our TEXAS sized vehicle. Check in staff were warm and friendly; bellman attentive. Visited two of the restaurants - easy to adjust menu to fit requests. Excellent food & service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Cons: The shower water pressure is too low.
Loved the hotel and location. The old lobby is fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Total Eclipse of the Sun

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Great place for launching our eclipse watching excursion. Comfortable rooms with comfortable beds. Staff very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: The staff were very helpful, and friendly.
Cons: The housekeeping staff are hard working and diligent, but they are overwhelmed by the amount of work asked of them. I would suggest hiring more staff
Location: Right next to Forest Park which is close to the zoo and the art museum. The local cafes were great, we ate outside every day.
Very nice upscale hotel in a wonderful, charming, safe area close to many attractions. The only drawback was the cleanliness. They may need to add housekeeping staff in order to allow them time to properly clean the rooms. Our shower had dried lumps all over it (I'm hoping it was shampoo and body wash). The baseboard in the bathroom had an inch thick dust coat on it, and there were smears of unknown origins on the bathroom walls. The 5th floor ice machine room had a spray of black liquid all over the walls, and the ice from the machine had black chunks in it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Nice stay in St. Louis. Hotel is clean and has interesting history. Love the location and the outdoor pool. Will return!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa

Disappointing

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Parking was expensive, 20$ a night and our jeep was rear ended while there. The room keys never worked to get out of the parking garage so we had to call every time we wanted out. The room it's self was nice. The AC didint work. It kept one room freezing cold and the other room very warm. The front desk wouldn't answer the phone most days, we would have to walk down to the desk to get extra towels. It should have been a much nicer place for the amount of money it costs to stay there. We had a group of 12 and we weren't impressed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

Posted Aug 23, 2017
On the day of my return to Seattle, I left my luggage and other material with (Yasser Seirawan) another person, to be left in his room. I returned with this person after a two and a half hour period at the chess club to retrieve my bag. I never checked my bag at that time because I had checked my bag just prior to leaving it in the apartment. Everything including my wallet were placed in a convenient area of the luggage for easy retrieval. I returned home and while unpacking I discovered my wallet was missing! I saw my wallet prior to leaving the apartment but not after. My contents included all of my three credit cards, identification cards for insurance and social security, and 1400 hundred dollars in cash, and 300 hundred dollars in Mexican currency. Also, on the day of my departure, the maid came to my room at nine o'clock in the morning asking me what time I was leaving. I would like to have slept in for as long as I could. Please do not use the name provided.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent service and location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Quiet air conditioning in the room was a plus
Cons: Love to see more available access to bicycles for using in the park.
Location: Access to Forest Park was added benefit and available restaurants in walking distance.
Enjoyed the hotel and its great location. Found the continental breakfast well worth the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Moline Il

Good location in Central West End & Forest Park

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location, ambiance
Cons: No saving chairs at pool
Location: Forest Park, Central West End neighborhood
Beautiful place, pool a bit chaotic, no chairs, or saved with no people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great pool wonderful sheets

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Weekend stay with family -- the suite worked well as we each had our own rooms and the living room with TV and couches was great place for mornings and evenings. Bed super comfortable, sheets 100% cotton, and the pool was fabulous. I would go again just to hang out by the pool.