Ratings based on 924 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a good location

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Perhaps at one time this hotel was a 4 star, however, the hotel needs to upgrade .... the chairs leather was pealing, the chairs cushion was flat, the door showed signs of pealing wood. I was disappointed I paid over $150 a day for a mystery bargain.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from illinois

4 star dump

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Hotel is dirty. Restaurant is closed. Staff was sleeping at desk. No lids on trash can in breakfast room. Only 20 channels on cable tv. No sports networks. It was worth the price I paid through the "mistery hotel" but I am not going back here again. This should barely be a 2 star.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Trina Gardner-Assistant General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Joe, Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Please know that all your issues and concerns will be addressed immediately with the appreciate departments. Thanks so much for letting us know. We will be doing a full renovation of the hotel starting this April 2017. Hope you come back and see us then .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Very nice for the price

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Staff, room
Cons: Better placed outlets, better pillows, some sustainable practices.
Location: Close to Convention Center, groceries and restaurants.
This hotel needs some updates but it is a very nice looking and comfortable hotel with a great staff. The price was much lower than other hotels in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Trina Gardner-Assistant General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Majestic Guest Ana, Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your awesome comments about our property and staff . We will be renovating this April 2017 . Please come back and see us. Kind Regards, Trina Gardner Assistant General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Location... Location.... Location

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Location...Location...Location Breakfast spread was great
Cons: hotel it worn out. It has such old time charm but needs a bit of lipstick. Breakfast area is an old restaurant and bar and it was old looking.
Location: everything downtown is walk-able. Arch, baseball stadium, conference center, bars and restaurants all very close by.
if you are looking for a reasonable place to say right in downtown St. Louis, this is the place for you. It certainly does not have all the amenities that many other hotels in town do but if you are looking for a quiet place right downtown, check it out. My sconce lights did not work in my room but otherwise room was clean and ready early.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Lyndsay General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Brian, Thank you for the review. I have shared your comments with the staff. We appreciate you choosing to stay with while in downtown St. Louis.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cuba mo

Dirty experience

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Dirty, people in room that weren't supposed to be, broken window air was coming in. There was visible dirt everywhere. Spider in the bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Lyndsay General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Crystal, Thank you for your recent review. I apologize that your room was not up to par. Please know I have shared your comments with the staff to ensure this does not happen in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wichita

OK hotel. Going downhill.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: they used to have a shuttle & a bar that was open.
Location: close enough to scottrade center to walk.
Staff seemed put out by so many people arriving. Not as many ammenities as it used to have.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Lyndsay General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Christine, Thank you so much for your review. During our renovation many amenities we used to have are currently not available. After it is complete we will be full service again. Thank you for your business!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Great location. Near landmarks. Somewhat dated property. Good breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Lyndsay General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business. Have a great day!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bloomington, IL

1 Star at Best.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
We walked in and the place was dirty. Furniture, Floors, .... The old lounge was closed up. Facilities in disrepair. As we walked around to view things, no staff encountered us, just walked on by. Did not see the rooms........didn't need to. This should be a 2 star......only for its architecture. I let them charge me the room rate for the night and went to another hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Lyndsay General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, Thank you for your recent review. We will be beginning renovation in the next month. Please visit us again and give us another try.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas

In a word, awful.

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Lesson learned. In spite of the ratings...4 star, dark green happy face, I will check reviews first before booking. Our room had a strong stench that was combination cigarette smoke and cleansers. Even opening the window could not dissipate the odor. We were kept awake by the guests in the room next to us till all hours. We woke up with sore throats from breathing in whatever noxiousness was in the air. Having to pay for parking at $30 for a hotel space or $16 at the city lot came as a surprise, not only to us, but to the 4 groups that checked in when we did. No extra pillows or blankets were in the room. No drinking cups or glasses. No fan in the bathroom. The place felt icky.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Lyndsay General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Beech, Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry that your room was not up to par. We will be beginning a full renovation next month. Thank you for your business!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Perfect location to attend Blues game!

Posted Mar 5, 2017
We made a last minute trip to St Louis to attend a Blues vs Oilers game. I was a little leery of staying at the Hotel Majestic after reading some of the recent reviews but after our 2 night stay, I am completely baffled as to how the Hotel Majestic and it's fabulous staff received such negative reviews. From the minute we checked in we were treated like royalty by all the staff - the reception ladies, the cleaning staff, the breakfast people, security, etc. While the hotel is indeed old, (we understand that it is going to be renovated next month), the hotel and our room had a quaint, vintage style and atmosphere to it and our room was absolutely immaculately clean (we have our own rental properties and I am obsessed with cleanliness yet I could find nothing to fault). For the "continental breakfast". we were expecting coffee and pastries but instead found a fantastic hot breakfast of scrambled eggs, bacon, little French toasts, turkey sausages, waffles, fruit, yogurt, a wide assortment of cereals, juices and milks and also the best coffee we had had in a few days. As for the hockey game, we took an Uber ride to the arena but since we realized that the arena was so close, we walked back after the game with a pit stop to pick up a pizza to bring back to the hotel. We did not feel unsafe or threatened at any time during our late evening walk back to the hotel and we will definitely stay at the Hotel Majestic again if the opportunity arises.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Lyndsay General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Trish, Thank you for your recent review. I have shared your comments with the staff. We appreciate your business. Go Blues!!!