Ratings based on 1,351 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Pete, Fl

Older hotel in great location.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Extras such as all day tea, coffee, apples, popcorn, afternoon cookies. Quiet rooms.
Location: Next to Washington university, Barnes Jewish hospital. Parking with minimal fee. One block from Metro that takes you to airport.
This hotel has an enclosed walkway through to Washington U- Barnes Jewish hospital. Super convenient, especially in winter when it is so very cold and snowy. The rooms have a refrigerator with freezer in room. That is convenient when travelling with medication. There is a sign that says it is undergoing renovations. No sign of it yet but it could use a little of that. Basically though it is a wonderful place to rest in. The rooms are quiet even if they face the street. I am a light sleeper and have never had issues with street noise. Breakfast is varied and plentiful. It's much better than most. They have tea and coffee all day with a bowl of apples and popcorn available all day. Fresh baked cookies in the afternoon. For us, it's the effect place to stay. I would recommend it without a doubt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Richelle , Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for the comments and 4 stars. As you mentioned, the Parkway Hotel is in a great location, not only are we close to Universities and hospitals but close to blocks of restaurants, shops, cafes, many wedding venues and STL attractions. Our renovation is taking place. The lobby has been completed and some of the guestroom floors are up and running. By the end of 2016 all floors will be completed. We look forward to having you as our guest again so that you can enjoy all of our fantastic amenities and our new Beautiful guestrooms. Enjoy your travels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

All over the place

Posted Sep 23, 2016
This place is kind of strange. Pros: Great location Clean Great location! Cons: -Smudges all over the handles to the bathroom door in our room. (This is anecdotal but ewwww!) -No wifi. (What year is it? The website is misleading and gave the impression there would be wifi. ) -Scratchiest towels I have ever felt. -They provide :a coffee maker but no filters and no mugs. There were 2 individually wrapped styrofoam cups that were maybe 5 ounces. I thought maybe there would be mugs at the breakfast buffet but nope, only tiny tiny styrofoam cups. Same for silverware, only flimsy disposables. -speaking of the breakfast buffet, it was in the lobby...? Very strange... -they gave us a room directly under the construction on the next floor so that was...yeah. - the batteries in the remote died and we went to the desk they wouldn't give us more, but instead insisted on sending someone up with a new remote which was not mated to our tv so then we had a hotel employee in our room for like 20 minutes trying to fix it JUST PUT NEW BATTERIES IN THE ONE WE ALREADY HAD arggggg!!! -the room service/in-house restaurant is Applebee's. Gross. Anyway I don't know if I'd stay here again based just on the amenities but the location was so fantastic, it's hard to say. They almost cancel each other out! My overall feeling was that if I'm paying almost a months rent to sleep here 3 nights I'd like to drink coffee out of a real cup and use a towel that couldn't also double as sandpaper. Yaknow?
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Richelle , Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your candid comments. We do have free Wi-Fi, at check in the staff provides the password so that you can have access. We have changed to paper products in the guestrooms due to guests stating the individually wrapped cups are more sanitary. Our free breakfast actually has more than just the basics. It consists of scrambled eggs, various breakfast meats, hash brown potatoes, fruit, biscuts and gravy, and our Healthy options which are egg whites and a veggie patty, cereal etc. Our lobby coffee cups for the 24 hour coffee are 12 oz paper coffee cups with travel lids. For your next trip to the Parkway, please note that there are many restaurants within the Central West end that are walking distance that have breakfast options. Thank you for info regarding the TV remote and batteries. We will certainly check this out to ensure that our new desk staff members know how to quickly handle this. Please note that we are currently under renovation and by the end of 2016 all rooms will be new and beautiful. We hope to see you again. Enjoy the fall!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The perks are being close to Barnes and WashU.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
We booked several months in advance and were given a handicap-accessible room right by the elevators. We have no need for this so the shower was very 'industrial' for our weekend away from kids, complete with a shower chair. The TV did not work when we arrived so I asked them to look at it next morning. Replaced cable box and it worked for about 6 hours (while we were mostly gone). By the time we came back to room, it didn't work again. Told staff at check-out. No apology, no discount, no comped parking, nothing. Just "I'll have someone take a look at that". Hmmm,... Helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by Richelle , Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. You did not mention if you called the desk to find out if another room type was available. We would have been happy to move you to a room that had a functioning cable box and a room type that you had expected. We are currently in the middle of a remodel which involves new equipment to go along with our NEW, remodeled Look. We are also training new staff members as others have moved up within the organization. We hope you are willing to give us a second chance so that we can turn your experience around. Our remodel will be completed by the end of 2016. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to our new, beautiful Parkway Hotel. Enjoy the fall and your future travels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Park view is a garage

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Room had a strange smell and the park view is actually a view on a parking garage which is integrated with the hotel. My room had no natural light but I could see cars - and they me - parked a few feet away
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by Richelle , Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your comments. Our “ Park view” on the West side of our building does face the street side which is where Forest Park is located. Like most hotels in a city atmosphere, there is a street side and a side that might face an ally, garage, brick wall etc. Only resort hotels have amazing views from all sides. We hope you enjoyed some of our free amenities during your stay, for example our hot breakfast buffet, fresh baked cookies and much more. Enjoy the remainder of your summer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not very honest

Posted Sep 8, 2016
They do not stand by their advertised patient rate. When people need help most because a loved on is ill in the hospital next door, they don't offer the cheaper rate they have on brochures unless it is convenient for them. They force you to have to pay the higher rate to stay closer to loved ones.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by Richelle , Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your comment. I am glad that our guests have this outlet to express their opinions and experience and that the Hotels get to explain hotel procedure. Regarding the rate that we offer to patients, we offer over 60 guestrooms per night for patients or families visiting patients. When these rooms are sold out, the rates offered will be the rate for that day. There are also times when the hotel is in high demand due to an event taking place in the area like a convention. During these times of high demand, discounted rates are not offered. The Hospitals have this information from us and we have it printed at the bottom of our Patient rack cards in large blue font. These rack cards are located in the Hospital. Rate increase for Hotels operate the same as the airlines. The flights over the Holidays and summer vacation are more costly that non holiday months, this is supply and demand. With this said, we are not being dishonest by any means, we are a business that is doing our business. I do thank you for understanding and a suggestion for you is as soon as you know the date that you require and need to make the hotel reservation at any hotel, every day that you wait, more rooms are sold and the rates will increase. Enjoy the remainder of the summer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice and close to downtown activities

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Very pleasant staff and cleaning personnel. Comfortable bed and nice breakfast too
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by Richelle , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the Parkway Hotel and for the 5 stars. We look forward to having you as our guest again. Our hotel remodel is almost complete. have a great summer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Decatur, IL

Nice Having Hotel Close to Barnes

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Close proximity to Barnes complex; Hot breakfast
Cons: When reservations are made via Expedia, it would be nice if management checked/assigned a room w/the requested bed preference.
Location: The location is on Barnes campus, close to shopping, restaurants and more.
The hotel is nice enough, including it's hot breakfast, and it's nice having a room so close to Barnes, making it more convenient for hospital/appointment visits at Barnes, but it's not THAT great to warrant the price you would have to pay if not for Expedia. It's sad management does not offer more of a discount for Barnes patients, including not having a limit on how many of their rooms are set aside for the patient discount; but maybe several of the hotels that offer Barnes patients a discount follow this practice, too, and I have simply not yet found this out. Also, the last time we stayed, it wasn't until we took our bags to our room that we discovered we'd been given the wrong bed size. When I called the front desk, I was told that's the problem with using third parties for reservations. I said I didn't understand that excuse and assumed since I'd reserved a '2 Queen' room, that's what I'd get. They did move us, so it wasn't because they didn't have that room type available. It was just an unnecessary inconvenience to us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Richelle , Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your comments and review. We appreciate your time. Regarding guestrooms for hospital patients; Parkway Hotel holds over 60 rooms per night for this. Like all hotels and airlines, when the demand is high, and we are low on inventory, discounts do not apply. What we suggest to patients making your reservations in advance if possible. I do apologize that you did not receive the bed type you had requested originally, however, It is nice to know that you made our staff aware of this and they did get you into the guestroom you had arranged. If you are coming back to the STL area soon we look forward to having you as our guest and hope that you can skip the hospital visit and enjoy some of the fun attractions in close proximity to the Parkway.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Great place to stay. Staff is always hospitable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by Richelle , Hotel Management
thank you for taking the time to comment on the Parkway Hotel. We are close to many wedding venues, museums, Local attractions and our remodel is looking GREAT! hope to see you again soon. Enjoy the remainder of the summer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near central west end

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: CLean, Cost
I like this hotel for week end get-a-ways. It is in a trendy neighborhood.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Richelle , Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking the time to comment and the 5 star review. As you stated our neighborhood is trendy. Its fun and there are so many things to do with a limited amount of travel time. We look forward to having you as our guest next time you have another get-a-way. Enjoy the summer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Air conditioning was very loud

Posted Aug 15, 2016
AC woke us up several times thru the night The room was clean but bathroom renovation was cheap
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Richelle , Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your comment. We are in the process of our renovation, most of our newly renovated rooms are not available at this time. During our renovation, our AC is getting worked on as well and everything is looking amazing. I am under the assumption that the guestroom you had recently stayed in was one of our rooms not yet worked on. We hope you select the Parkway Hotel again and get to enjoy one of our renovated, beautiful new rooms. We expect the entire hotel to be completed by the end of 2016. Thank you again and have a wonderful summer.