Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Beautiful hotel with incredible view. Our only complaint was that the villas had no air conditioning. Most nights the fan and open windows were enough to cool our room but some nights were very hot. Also be prepared to allow lots of time for your meals (especially dinners) though the food was delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Amazing relaxation experience

Posted Feb 21, 2017
This hotel is beyond belief. They welcome you with a free cocktail. We received a complimentary upgrade to the luxe lodge for our honeymoon. These are more quiet and have a great view of the ocean and piton. They had cookies and dark chocolate replenished daily. The included breakfast was endless with exquisite specials themed after cocoa. The service was exceptional to everyone. They weren't just working for tips, but genuinely cared if you were doing well. The restaurant is the best on the island. We wound pick it hands down. This is after dining at Ladera, Viceroy. The resort also had complimentary still water and laundry service. The spa massage is wonderful. They can set up any tour you desire, but will also help you if you need to coordinate elsewhere. The lodge was great. They give you earplugs for the loud birds and we slept like babies. There is a nice bug net that keeps all critters out. They leave you bug spray to use as well. There's a veranda where we watched the sunset each night with spectacular views of the pitons. They gave us a complimentary bottle of Rosé at checkin. The owners live on site and were lovely to speak with. There are four hikes that can be done on property including one that has an amazing view of the ocean. This is Big Nature where you are literally standing in the owners' back yard watching the sunset. The transfer to the beach is a taxi to soufriere and boat past the piton to Sugar Beach. We were so glad we picked Hotel Chocolat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NYC

Excellent boutique hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: - lovely location, tucked away - small size - great activities offered - delicious food, great cocktails - view from the restaurant and pool
Cons: While it is adequate now, some of the furnishing will have to be replaced soon.
Location: plenty! - hikes (especially Tet Paul, best views of the Pitons!) - Soufrière and its botanical garden - snorkeling - cocoa activities with hotel
We stayed at Hotel Chocolat for 10 days for a winter Caribbean vacation, and we could not have been more pleased. The location right outside of Soufriere was great, on the most beautiful part of the island, close to great attractions and a few really good beaches (Sugar Beach -accessible with a hotel shuttle and Anse Chastanet -accessible by car with a good climb and potholes, taxi or boat). Hotel Chocolat has 14 rooms (individual lodges), which makes it quaint and somewhat private. The view from the infinity pool and restaurant is downright incredible. While you are close to the main road, the hotel is nestled within the lush vegetation of the cocoa plantation, with a few nice hikes to do around. We had no problems with noise from the road, but it is true that the birds can get loud in the early morning. We used earplugs and slept great! For people who always sleep with A/C on, we had no problem sleeping without it since it gets really breezy at night. We had the basic lodge, which was spacious and beautiful. The greatest feature was the private outdoor shower! Breakfast was amazing and plentiful, with amazing fruits and treats, and specials everyday. The restaurant had a small but delicious menu, although a little expensive (pricing was equivalent to the restaurants around), with cocoa present everywhere! The staff was very courteous, helpful and friendly. They made our stay there very pleasant, especially Chris from the bar, who gave us great recommendations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for intimacy with easy access to activities

Posted Feb 1, 2017
My wife and I stayed for 5 days and were there to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. The estate was great for such an occasion because it is a bit isolated and as such great for intimacy. However the hotel organizes complimentary trips to the beach twice a day as well as various activities that allow you to discover the island and its beauty. It was the best of both worlds for us because we could choose to stay secluded or "tourists". The complimentary breakfast was also a very attractive part of our experience. The only problem we encountered was the lack of variety for lunch and dinner both at the hotel and around it if we wanted to try other food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent hotel, amazing views

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Sitting in the bar sipping excellent rum punch looking out over the Petit Piton. Organised excursions to walk up Piton and whale watching
Cons: Nothing. I really loved this hotel. The Anse Chasenet beach area is more welcoming than the hotel arranged Sugar Beach
Location: There are 5-6 nature walks around the hotel, fully recommend the tree to bean choc experience and Piton hike (quite difficult). Hotel has its own boat
We spent 3 nights here splitting a week in St. Lucia between north and south. We wish we'd stayed longer. Very relaxing hotel with spacious and well laid out rooms. We hiked up the Grand Piton, visited the nearby Sugar Beach and beach at Anse Chasenet and went whale watching.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Excellent hotel in the forest with beach access

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: This is lovely small hotel (just 14 rooms). We loved the pool with the view of the Pitons, the fabulous food and cocktails and the large airy rooms.
Cons: More information on the local birds and where to spot them would have been useful for us.
Location: The hotel has excellent views of both Pitons, access to Soufriere and Sugar Beach is very easy, walking distance to the Hot Springs and long walks.
We had a wonderful stay at this small luxury hotel. It's perfectly built for couples enjoying a quite holiday together (in many cases guests were on their honeymoons). The food was fantastic, the cocktail list at the bar is a great mixture with something for everyone, the shuttle service to the beach was most welcome and the bean-bar experience is well thought out and great fun. I had a fabulous massage and facial at the hotel's quiet and airy onsite Spa - all the products smelt divine, with cocoa at the centre of the experience. The Hot Springs are within walking distance (go later in the day to avoid the crowds) and we saw a range of wildlife/birdlife on walks from the hotel. The staff are all very kind and knowledgable about the area. I would recommend hiring a car for a few days if you are staying here for a longer period of time - there is so much to see nearby on the island and we hugely enjoyed relaxing the Club area after a day's driving around the island!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Stunning views and design. Luxe rooms are 5*

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Friendly service, 'back to nature' style, quality of everything!
Wonderful Judy (Guest Relations) and staff made welcome very special. Upgrade to Luxe rooms was certainly a huge benefit due to size, views and design of the rooms. NB - these rooms are open - very special, but do not have air-con (pleasant breezes kept us nicely cool, under a mosquito net, with the noises of treefrogs an exotic soundtrack to fall asleep to). Only negative was the Luxe rooms are up the hill (hence the views) but elderly porter did not have a buggy or trolley so we ended up heaving bags with him down the hill to reception. Not a nice way to start a transfer as hot and sticky despite early start. Wonderful food in the restaurant (although European prices)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: The lux lodge
Cons: The service is very slow.
Location: Do the chocolate tour - your chocolate bar won't turn out great, but the experience is worth it!
A true getaway in St. Lucia. We were in the middle of the rainforest and felt secluded. The massage was incredibly relaxing and the property overall was tranquil.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2016
The hotel setting and views are gorgeous. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Understated elegance

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The hotel honestly could not be better - the warm welcome, the beautiful rooms, and the facilities make this venue a one-of-a-kind experience.
Cons: Nothing. It was PERFECT for me and my partner. We wish we could have stayed there forever.
Location: Not a beach side hotel but there is a daily shuttle to nearby Sugar Beach. Sulfur Springs within walking distance. Daily 'bean to bar' tours.