Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Classy, welcoming boutique hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: The welcoming and comforting environment, the hilarious and helpful staff, the high quality fixtures and furnishings and the oh-so-comfortable bed.
Cons: I can't think of anything
Location: Walk from this hotel to the hot sulphur springs (it's not that far!) and the accompanying exhibition about the collapsed volcano.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough - it was the best I've experienced in the Caribbean. Boucan has exquisite views of the St Lucian pitons, and it also has its own boats to take you out on the water or to the beach, which we really appreciated. It doesn't have walking access to a beach - you have to get the hotel transport there, by car and then by boat - but you will travel in style, I assure you. The accommodation was more than comfortable - on arrival, it felt to me as if they'd thought of everything the modern English traveller could want (en suite bathroom stocked with rainfall shower and individual sinks, teabags!!!!, teapot, kettle, mosquito nets surrounding the bed, three-pin electronic sockets, free wifi throughout the estate, sofa... the list goes on.) The bed was soooo comfortable too. What made our holiday exceptional was the hospitality we experienced by the staff - from the management (who made themselves known to us unprompted, just to ensure that we were having a good time, which we definitely were!) to the kitchen, bar and cleaning staff and the concierge. Everyone we encountered was warm, friendly and eager to listen, help and talk to us. Thank you to all of the staff for making our trip so special. We hope to be visiting again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Surpassed all expectations!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Everything! The outdoor feeling of the room was a bonus. We even had dinner on the terrace one night.
Cons: Better map of hiking trails, better/more signs to on the trails while hiking
Location: Hiking, snorkeling, chocolate tours, volcano/hot springs, swimming, waterfalls, botanical gardens
This was affordable luxury. I loved how it was nestled in the rainforest and not just on the beach. There was a fun boat shuttle to the beach that had amazing snorkeling. The room shower had a fun outdoor feel while being private. It was also cool to leave the property and be able to hike to the volcano and on other trails. The locals we met were all very friendly. The only problem we had was with the map. We are adventurous folks but the map was just a survey map of the property and it was hard to tie it into the other existing terrain. Google maps was no help either and we ended up quite lost. Overall though, I felt that the vacation was amazing. The food was incredible. Everything 5-stars with combinations I would have never thought of! It felt like a honeymoon everyday (was our 10 yr anniversary).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London UK

Fabulous, friendly hotel in a beautiful location

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Ideal location set in beautiful surroundings
Cons: Wifi coverage could be better
We stayed at the Hotel Chocolat for 10 days for our honeymoon. We had the most enjoyable and relaxing time ever. We would highly recommend it for peace and tropical tranquility. Thanks to all the wonderful staff who made our stay so enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

A great experience

Posted Apr 15, 2017
I booked this hotel last minute for a solo weekend getaway. It was athe first time I'd stayed somewhere with the open air concept Definitely get a Luxury Lodge if you can to justify the cost. The views were great and even with the high Temps no AC wasn't a problem which was surprising.. I saw occasional geckos in the room but they were harmless. Besides you really aren't in the room that much. Its the first place I've been where I wasn't attacked by mosquitos. The restaurant was good. I only had breakfast once but I was pleased. The tour of the plantation and the bean to table tour was great. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Luxurious rusticity

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: It's a beautiful interpretation of a boucan for people who want to pamper themselves. The staff were all helpful and delightful.
Cons: It would be good to have a reading light outside the bed.
Location: Couldn't be more beautiful. It was nice to have a car, but not really necessary.
A wonderful four nights in a beautiful location, with a fine choice of activities. The restaurants is excellent - creative use of chocolate, but not over the top (except for desserts....). The room and the grounds were gorgeous, and the on-site nature walks were wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in St Lucia

Posted Mar 20, 2017
We had a fabulous stay for a week at Boucan. Amazing food, great views, relaxed vibe and fantastic rooms made it an unforgettable stay. Staff are great and it's close to some amazing things to do and places to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

An experience rather than a stay....

Posted Mar 2, 2017
It was a very expensive experience for the most part I will definitely recommend to couples it's a really nice get away and the service was on point
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

secluded, relaxing environment

Posted Feb 25, 2017
dinner menus high priced, everything chocolate, no options at all, cocktails mediocre. We missed options in menu (price and taste)!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel location with view of Pitons

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: the beach shuttle, the location, the views, the food the chocolat
Cons: Our lodge room was quite dark inside despite the lights It had no outside area There was no drying rack
Location: walking distance to sulphar springs and forest trails easy access by beach shuttle to Sugar Beach and Soufriere
the hotel was beautiful. It had an infinity pool with view over the Pitons and rainforest and direct access to trails and even a trail to the Sulphar Springs. It had a free beach shuttle twice daily by taxi and boat. the breakfast was plentiful and beautifully presented. the staff were lovely. they gave you home made chocolat and cookies and coffee it was fantastic and there was a fridge and kettle in teh room and water all day long
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Beautiful hotel with incredible view. Our only complaint was that the villas had no air conditioning. Most nights the fan and open windows were enough to cool our room but some nights were very hot. Also be prepared to allow lots of time for your meals (especially dinners) though the food was delicious.