Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Relaxing

Posted Aug 15, 2016
I don't think we could have chosen a better spot to honeymoon. Close to all the cool excursions, amazing staff, amazing food. Would definitely recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Very quiet and relaxing. Almost too quiet with not much to do if it rains. Lack of AC made it very difficult to sleep at night (along with loud animals, birds, and bugs). Use the ear plugs. Food is okay, but does not change from day to day. Food can get pretty expensive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harlingen, TX

Chocolate lovers paradise

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, stunning views, a "luxe" lodge that lives up to the name, delicious food (the best included breakfast I've ever had), many activities!
Cons: Insects were an issue at night, even with spray and mosquito nets. However, this is to be expected in St. Lucia and I wouldn't fault the hotel one bit
Location: Nature walks (free), bean to bar experience, volcanic sulfur baths, zip lining, snorkeling, botanical gardens, Soufriere tours, Sugar beach.
Upon arrival we were picked up by our previously scheduled hotel car. The driver was very courteous and friendly, without being too talkative. When we arrived to the hotel, our bags were unloaded and we were told they would be taken care of. The front desk area is shared with the restaurant, all sitting on this lodge type open building with a stunning view of the Petit Piton. We were offered a complimentary check in cocktail, and front desk staff thoroughly reviewed the activities and policies of the hotel. Hotel staff walked us through the grounds on our way to our room, carefully outlining some of the property features and activities as we passed them. We stayed in a Luxe lodge, which are the rooms that are more elevated and have the better view of the Piton. The room was impressive, wood floors, four post bed, plenty of room for storing clothing, and even an ipod playing soothing music for your arrival. Chocolate, cookies, and water are complimentary and replenished daily. The bathroom was remarkable, with his/hers sinks and counter space. The rainfall shower was beautiful, and further opened to the outside and the sky. Toiletries were provided, and can be replaced daily if needed. Every single day of our stay was remarkable. We decided to book all our activities with the hotel for convenience, but you can certainly use a 3rd party and save some money. Our checkout experience was as pleasant as our check-in. We were sad to leave and hope to return in the future!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Beautiful hotel in secluded mountainside

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: The room was gorgeous, pool is scenic quiet and lovely, the bed was very comfortable, and the hotel has many amenities
Cons: Most of the staff we spoke with were nice enough, but most employees seemed disorganized and in general disinterested.
Location: Climb the mountain, see a waterfall, tour the chocolate planatation, snorkeling and cruises available. The town of Soufriere is small but quaint
We enjoyed our honeymoon at this hotel very much. The room is impeccably stylish and clean, including a closet and sitting couch, mini bar and coffee station with fridge, an indoor private shower with open skylight, and a soft comfortable bed with white linens and a mosquito net. The room also includes many amenities including complimentary chocolates : ) , cold water, bug spray (needed!), ice, robes slippers, and a safe among other things. The cleaning staff makes sure you have an impeccably clean room. You absolutely can not beat the view of the petit piton from the pool and restaurant. It's beyond romantic and gorgeous, with modern and tropical decor. Our room had a view of the pitons from the windows, and from what I understand all rooms include this spectacular view. There is a free shuttle down the mountain to Sugar Beach, a private beach with snorkeling. Food is delicious, but upscale and can get pricey. We did go into town to get some snacks and drinks from the supermarket. Staff overall was slightly awkward. Polite conversation and welcoming smiles are not guaranteed, but that is not to say anyone was directly rude. The price of most services was not clearly communicated and had us worried about what our final room tab would be. The front desk staff were quick to order a car service and a tour to charge to the room, but were not always able to communicate and exact price on the services. In the end we were happy and our charges were fair and accurate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous intimate and cozy resort!!

Posted Jun 13, 2016
My husband and I absolutely loved it here! The resort was wonderful with excellent friendly staff. They provided a little bit of chocolate every day complimentary and really made it a unique experience. Highly recommend this place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

A true adventure

Posted Jun 9, 2016
The beauty of this place is not adequately captured in photographs. A stay at this hotel, along with the many experiences offered, allow a true glimpse of St. Lucia. The staff is exemplary, and Hotel Chocolat offers opportunities I have never experienced anywhere in the world. If you want to see the real St.Lucia and want an adventure, this is the place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Des Plaines, IL

Great place to stay, but you have to like nature!

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: Stunning views and polite staff.
Cons: More info regarding taxi service to/from Soufriere.
The staff was really friendly (looking at you Henson) and the views from either the lodge or the restaurant were amazing. Plenty to see and do onsite without leaving the local area. But if you do, the cab rates are pretty steep - which we did not account for. The boat crew that shuttle you to and from Sugar Beach (and also do the day long cruises) are a fun group of guys that were full of local knowledge and advise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Excellent experience on St Lucia

Posted Apr 29, 2016
The Hotel Chocolat is great for those seeking a quick getaway. The staff usually outnumbers guests, the grounds are immaculate, and the infinity pool is really picturesque. My only issue is there's no air conditioning, even in the luxury lodges. Not a huge deal if the weather's nice, but I'd assume a 4.5 star hotelwouldhave a/c.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Exceeded our expectations

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Exceeded our expectations. Grounds and rooms are beautiful and staff could not have been friendlier or more attentive. We enjoyed the chocolate making experience, hiking the grounds, the wonderful breakfasts and the pool. We rented a car and found lots to do in the surrounding area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perth

Gorgeous boutique hotel with amazing views

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Pros: Food, staff, accommodation, activities, facilities, style, location, experience
Cons: Nothing
Location: Amazing views with lots to do nearby - Sulphur Falls, Piton walks, hotel walks, Tet Paul, sunset cruise, beach, rum distillery, botanical gardens
What a wonderful experience it was to stay at this hotel. We had an amazing room with the best ever view of the pitons and a lovely daily treat of home made chocolate and cookies plus the bottle of welcome prosecco and homemade rum punch when we arrived! All the staff are lovely and the food is wonderful. Every night we looked forward to having a new cocktail and a delicious cacao infused meal. Cocktails were gorgeous. Breakfast every day was amazing with a daily fresh fruit platter and fresh fruit smoothie shot. A choice followed was made to order and everything was fantastic. The infinity pool with its unobstructed view of the pitons was a great way to relax and rarely anyone else there. The tree to bar experience we booked was amazing, an unforgettable time and Cuthbert the guide is so entertaining and knowledgable.we also booked a sunset cruise which is on the hotel boat-we had the best time with the crew, was romantic but we also had such a laugh and the views were spectacular. The location is stunning and close to all the attractions, St Lucia is beautiful We enjoyed ourselves so much In everything we did, saw, ate, experienced and will treasure our stay - thank you Hotel Boucan!!