Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington, Missouri

Relaxing, Restful Retreat

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: We enjoyed everything about Hotel Chocolat. #1 is the restaurant. Even guests from nearby resorts come for dinner. Make reservations in high season
Cons: The WIFI isn't great there, but if you are there to unwind, that's ok.
Location: They offer a shuttle twice a day to the beach, 10 minutes away. Horseback riding, boat rides and botanical gardens & Tet Paul Nature Trail nearby.
My husband and I wanted a more real, earthy experience on St. Lucia, so we opted for the beautiful Hotel Chocolat. We liked the idea of no television, no AC, mosquito nettings around the bed, open air accommodations. We were not disappointed. The accommodations are classically simple, yet supply everything you need. We could have put a soccer team in our spacious shower...surrounded by smooth river rock and a giant rain shower overhead with a rim of open sky and palm trees above you. Teak furnishings throughout, bath, bed and patio/lounge area. It was 80-85 each day we were there and we did ask for an additional fan for sleeping. They have a lovely spa and several areas set aside for quiet relaxing. They offer tours of the cacao plantation that you are surrounded by and all meals include many versions of their chocolate. My husband did not want to leave the last day specifically because he enjoyed the food at the restaurant, Boucan so much. Tip: Breakfast is included in the cost of the room, at least it was when we were there. You will be delighted with the offerings and the amount of food provided. We only ate two meals a day while there because we just weren't ready for lunch. Save up for dinner! The food is amazing and you do NOT want to keep skipping dessert because you don't have room for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful relaxing atmosphere

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Location, room, staff, atmosphere, food, cocktails and the motor boat.
Location: Sugar Beach, Suphur Springs ( good walk from the hotel), walks on the estate - brilliant views from the Big Nature trail.
We come here to unwind and relax. The view from the luxe lodge of the Pitons is simply wonderful, we literally watch it for hours. The hotel is smart but informal, there are no pretensions here, this is understated luxury, 5 star done well. The luxe lodge is bright and airy, very comfortable bed, two loungers, small fridge, tea and coffee making. The bathroom is huge with twins sinks and a very large open-to-the-air drench shower. The staff are to "a man" very friendly, always a cheery greeting and a little chat if appropriate. The restaurant is really good, the chocolate element is understated - until you get to the deserts. Long cocktail menu - some with chocolate too. The hotel provides a free shuttle, car then 46' boat to Sugar Beach which is a brilliant way to travel. We really liek Sugar Beach - the public part (the majority is taken up by the Sugar Beach Resort - but the sea is free to everyone). Very relaxed, everyone is friendly - snack shack, fresh fruit and clean toilets. The snorkeling is good and accessible for first timers and less confident swimmers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice location and central to major attractions.

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: The hotel was situated on a moderate piece of property with a sense of privacy and away from the noisy beach. The bungalow style cottage was spacious.
Cons: More variety of foods and create a party atmosphere with local music at least once or twice a week. Visitors want to dance and enjoy the music.
Location: The location was close to the beach, sulphur springs, botanical gardens,etc...
My wife andI spent a week celebrating her birthday and our silver jubilee. Staff was courteous and they were very professional. Enjoyed the excursions planned by the hotel too. Although some of the costs got a bit expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
We spent four days at Hotel Chocolat and loved it. Be sure to take the cocoa tours - they are very educational and fun. Cuthbert, who gives the tours, is wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Classy, welcoming boutique hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: The welcoming and comforting environment, the hilarious and helpful staff, the high quality fixtures and furnishings and the oh-so-comfortable bed.
Cons: I can't think of anything
Location: Walk from this hotel to the hot sulphur springs (it's not that far!) and the accompanying exhibition about the collapsed volcano.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough - it was the best I've experienced in the Caribbean. Boucan has exquisite views of the St Lucian pitons, and it also has its own boats to take you out on the water or to the beach, which we really appreciated. It doesn't have walking access to a beach - you have to get the hotel transport there, by car and then by boat - but you will travel in style, I assure you. The accommodation was more than comfortable - on arrival, it felt to me as if they'd thought of everything the modern English traveller could want (en suite bathroom stocked with rainfall shower and individual sinks, teabags!!!!, teapot, kettle, mosquito nets surrounding the bed, three-pin electronic sockets, free wifi throughout the estate, sofa... the list goes on.) The bed was soooo comfortable too. What made our holiday exceptional was the hospitality we experienced by the staff - from the management (who made themselves known to us unprompted, just to ensure that we were having a good time, which we definitely were!) to the kitchen, bar and cleaning staff and the concierge. Everyone we encountered was warm, friendly and eager to listen, help and talk to us. Thank you to all of the staff for making our trip so special. We hope to be visiting again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Surpassed all expectations!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Everything! The outdoor feeling of the room was a bonus. We even had dinner on the terrace one night.
Cons: Better map of hiking trails, better/more signs to on the trails while hiking
Location: Hiking, snorkeling, chocolate tours, volcano/hot springs, swimming, waterfalls, botanical gardens
This was affordable luxury. I loved how it was nestled in the rainforest and not just on the beach. There was a fun boat shuttle to the beach that had amazing snorkeling. The room shower had a fun outdoor feel while being private. It was also cool to leave the property and be able to hike to the volcano and on other trails. The locals we met were all very friendly. The only problem we had was with the map. We are adventurous folks but the map was just a survey map of the property and it was hard to tie it into the other existing terrain. Google maps was no help either and we ended up quite lost. Overall though, I felt that the vacation was amazing. The food was incredible. Everything 5-stars with combinations I would have never thought of! It felt like a honeymoon everyday (was our 10 yr anniversary).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London UK

Fabulous, friendly hotel in a beautiful location

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Ideal location set in beautiful surroundings
Cons: Wifi coverage could be better
We stayed at the Hotel Chocolat for 10 days for our honeymoon. We had the most enjoyable and relaxing time ever. We would highly recommend it for peace and tropical tranquility. Thanks to all the wonderful staff who made our stay so enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

A great experience

Posted Apr 15, 2017
I booked this hotel last minute for a solo weekend getaway. It was athe first time I'd stayed somewhere with the open air concept Definitely get a Luxury Lodge if you can to justify the cost. The views were great and even with the high Temps no AC wasn't a problem which was surprising.. I saw occasional geckos in the room but they were harmless. Besides you really aren't in the room that much. Its the first place I've been where I wasn't attacked by mosquitos. The restaurant was good. I only had breakfast once but I was pleased. The tour of the plantation and the bean to table tour was great. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stoke Poges

select eco lodge in the hills

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: The lovely location and friendly service.
Cons: WiFi in the rooms is not great if it works at all (it's fine in the reception and dining area).
Location: Forest walks, cocoa plantation walks, sulphur springs. The beach is accessed by transfer and is shared with another hotel who charge $50 per lounger.
The hotel is small, only 14 rooms, beautifully located overlooking the Pitons above Soufriere. The rooms are spacious with large bathrooms and have folding open-slatted doors which open onto large verandas, very comfortable - but guests should be aware that the rooms are designed to rely on the cooling air from the mountain to maintain a pleasant temperature, there is no air-conditioning. Service is generally very good. We were delayed (warning to anyone relying on Liat Air) but the manager ensured we had a meal waiting for us on our arrival at 22.00h. Dining - the menus are creative and the cooking can be excellent but we noted some lack of consistency. Cocktails are interesting and usually excellent, wines are expensive, be ready to pay $150 for a wine that costs £20 at retail in UK. Narrow lap pool of infinity design with a lovely view and plenty of loungers.This is a lovely hotel to relax in and feel close to nature.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Luxurious rusticity

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: It's a beautiful interpretation of a boucan for people who want to pamper themselves. The staff were all helpful and delightful.
Cons: It would be good to have a reading light outside the bed.
Location: Couldn't be more beautiful. It was nice to have a car, but not really necessary.
A wonderful four nights in a beautiful location, with a fine choice of activities. The restaurants is excellent - creative use of chocolate, but not over the top (except for desserts....). The room and the grounds were gorgeous, and the on-site nature walks were wonderful.