Ratings based on 792 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

coconut bay

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Pleasant staff. Good housekeeping. Great food and variety. Rooms decent size.
Cons: Mattresses are box spring, not very comfy. Shower small with no tubs. Outdoor showers need attention. Power would go out, almost every day for minutes
Location: Close to airport. Hospital on island has burnt down and they currently use the old Olympic center.
Close to the beach, but really windy (good for kite surfer which is available). Not good for snorkeling, water too choppy. Did have nice pools, lazy river and water slides. Grounds were nicely kept. Entertainment was really enjoyable. Food was GREAT!!!! Restaurants were really nice. Couple times they provided outdoor buffet with entertainment, the variety was great. Zipline excursion was really fun, driver stopped for photo ops and a little island history. The snorkeling excursion to sugar beach was awesome, lots of variety of fish and scenery between the two pitons was gorgeous. Our driver stayed on the beach to watch our stuff, so we could go out and really enjoy our experience. Didn't go into town, so no comment. Really enjoyable, not too crowded. They also had good bartenders and things to do after hours for adults.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Ideal for families with children aged 5-9

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: slides were awesome entertainment was excellent
Cons: -the common areas looked tired -the food was very average but the buffet really did have something for everyone
While not the most luxurious resort, Coconut Bay was an absolutely amazing experience for my young family. Our children loved, love, loved the slides, the swim up bar, the zero entry pool, the children's buffet and the entertainment. I will say the nightly entertain far exceeded our expectations and really enhanced our vacation experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

older resort, but well maintained and clean

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: It was clean and well maintained. there was never a shortage of pool chairs at all pools or beach
Cons: As mentioned earlier, a chair in the room would be nice. beer and soda for purchase in your room would be nice.
Location: We could not get another couple to go on taxi to Castries for shopping all week. The cost would have been $165 us. Thought this excessive
We had read reviews that it was windy and ocean was rougher on the atlantic side of island. It blew 25mph every day all day. Two days it was in 40mph range making sitting on beach like being hit by a sandblaster. This is not fault of resort. just mentioning for others to realize. also no chairs in the room, so had to sit on bed to watch tv. at least 1 chair would be nice. Please note beer and soda is not provided in all rooms, and I thought it was.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from IL USA

Nice hotel... the staff made it amazing

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Location, pools, staff. The water slide and lazy river were nice. The layout of the resort is nice. You do not feel crowded at all.
Cons: The food was just ok. Could be better. More music while laying around or in the pool areas. Pool bar could be better. Pool bar in adult area!
Location: The location is conveniently close to the airport. Not a lot of place to go nearby that I know of, but we traveled by rental car all over the island
Above all else, the people here (housekeeping, bartenders, and entertainment) made this an amazing stay, not to mention the people visiting from other places. The location is nice as it is minutes from the airport as opposed to over an hour like many of the northern resorts. The beach is nice but you will have rougher waters and wind here since it is on the Atlantic side. There are much nicer beaches, but this one served its purpose for us. Views are awesome. All the other amenities made it a great place to stay. We rented a car and were not afraid to travel the entire island while there. Although that is not for everyone, if you are a bit adventurous I highly recommend it. You cannot fully experience a country and its people if you do not leave the resort. Talk to the staff to get comfortable about where to go and places to see. They are very friendly and are happy to help visitors are willing to go out of the all inclusive resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Great place

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Great place food was fantastic staff is fantastic room was decent Close to the airport plenty of activities to do it's on the windier side of the island so it was breezy but that work well for us with the heat
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

4* Needs reviewing -Price Tag doesn't match actual

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Room was quiet and clean, beach when not windy was excellent
Cons: Head Receptionist could be trained in Customer service, Restaurant staff could be trained in etiquette at mealtimes, Chefs could go back to school
Location: Location windy & no way to get out of it, Excursions run by hotel are V expensive - much better value & experience from Jesse & Edmund on the beach
Pretty standard hotel catering for the mass market in an average fashion, we expected a better experience for the price paid. Didn't expect on arrival at a 4* Hotel to be given a room number & told it's that way, having to take our own luggage to find our room after nearly 12hrs of travelling, hardly the best welcome. The buffet and a'la Carte restaurants were not open every night of the week, buffet moves outdoors twice per week during which time 2 other restaurants are closed - not in the brochure! We didn't expect to pay so much money & have to rely upon pizza at meal times so often. The a'la carte's could only be described as run by young students of varying talents. La Luna overlooking the sea as an optional expensive extra, billed as the top restaurant, despite the wind blowing in from the ocean, was good......but lobster tail cooked from frozen rather than fresh from the sea we're looking out on....for real? Lobby bar was good excellent service during the daytime, comfort not really there in terms of relaxation. Paradise bar being the best experience between 3pm to 5pm, service being basic but excellent and welcoming. Quite why the hotel haven't introduced low-level Perspex screens to deflect the wind coming in off the ocean is beyond me, at the time of writing they're constructing additional apartments - where does the priority lay here - profit or customer experience? Hotel manager is a decent guy, but why when on holiday did we have to go to him to get things sorted
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville,WI

Nice all inclusive resort, close to things to do.

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Loved the staff, nice size room and always clean. Plenty to do, multiple pool options, long sandy beach, variety of restaurant choices.
My husband and I spent 7 nights in January. The resort was close to the airport and not far from the excursions we chose to do, which was nice because the roads are narrow and winding up and down hills, so if you get car sick at all you will not want to travel far on them, or rent a car.The staff was very friendly, attentive and informative. I thought the restaurant choices were great for an all inclusive, plenty of bars with specialty drink menus. Lot's of areas to relax by the pool or beach, always activities going on if you want to join in or just watch, nightly entertainment. We did book three excursions and were very happy with all of them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staten Island. NY

Great hotel and people

Posted Jan 27, 2017
It was a wonderful and positive experience Very pleasant people. The food was excellent and the available on demand. Accommodations and entertainment were great. I had the best time ever
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Forest Lake, MN

Lengthy, but honest

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff definitely made the resort enjoyable. Kerdy at Paradise Beach was so much fun! And the food was delicious.
Cons: The temp of the adult only hot tub was scalding. It was easily 5-10 degrees too hot. Most people sat on the edge and occasionally dipped their feet.
Location: Being so close to the airport was awesome. The excursions offered through Expedia/Edmond Tours were excellent and highly recommended.
We traveled as a group of 6 to Coconut Bay Resort. We chose this resort because some wanted all inclusive, some wanted adults only, and some wanted to stay within a price range. Coconut Bay met all of our requirements. We arrived to St. Lucia on Saturday January 14. The resort is about a 5 minute drive from the airport. I was concerned that the air port traffic would be much more noticeable than it was. It seems that only the departing flights flew near the resort and only a handful of flights left each day, so it was really a non-issue (and entertaining to watch). Overall Overall Coconut Bay Resort & Spa was a very enjoyable experience offering a variety of ways to pass the time. From check-in, to exploring the resort, to dining and activities, and the very polite and accommodating staff, Coconut Bay was a great choice for our vacation. Check in / Room Check in was a breeze. Rocxan checked us in and was very polite. Our room wasn’t ready when we arrived, but it allowed us a little time to soak in our first rays of sun and indulge in a Piton beer. Once our room was ready, we were pleasantly surprised to find out our luggage had been delivered to our room for us. Once we got to our room it was just as it was depicted in the photos online. Our room had two queen beds which were covered with flowers and towel swans. We were on the first floor where the sliding doors lead to a patio with a couple of chairs and just a few steps from the adult only pool. Our room was clean and well
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Beautiful view!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
The Hotel was nice. The viewis absolutely gorgeous. There was live music a couple of nights. That was nice. The food varies. Sometimes it's OK....sometimes it's good.