Ratings based on 437 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great family resort right on beach

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Location to airport and great fun for the kids!
Cons: remodeling of the bathrooms
Location: we enjoyed the volcano, sulfur mud baths, sugar beach
We enjoyed our week in St Lucia at Coconut Bay Resort. There was so much for the kids to do and felt very comfortable with them running around the resort (ages 11 and 13). The entertainment at night was good and food had nice variety. The speciality restaurants Calabash and Silk were great. The pool side snacks were great for the kids! Atlantic side ocean was very rough but still enjoyed. There is a constant breeze which takes some getting use to but enjoyable so avoid getting too hot. Majority of staff was very polite with some that obviously were having a bad day or didn't enjoy their job so we avoided them. The hotel rooms with average on the splash side. Room itself was clean but needs updating. All fixtures were rusting and bathroom needs complete redo. Lots of dirty grout and caulking made you feel you should keep your shoes on while in there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Londonderry, NH

Coconut Bay - They Try Hard

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: 99% of the staff is amazing! Great enterainment. Food was excellent, and dinners varied every day. Silk and Calabash are worth the reservations
Cons: The hotel is dated. The bathrooms are in need of updating, and if possible, enlargement. New beds would be great! Service at the snack shack is slow
Location: 3 min from airport. 45 minutes to major attractions. Perfect for kite surfing, but not a relaxing calm beach. Good entertainment schedule @ hotel
My family just from a week long stay at Coconut Bay, that includes NY's. The NY Eve party was amazing with incredible food, entertainment, and fireworks. This hotel is about 45 minutes to all the major attractions. (Voclano, sulfur springs, Pitons, snorkeling, etc..) The hotel offers several excursions to the attractions, but book them early because some of them are only offered on specific days, and fill up quickly. We booked a full day tour and did the sulfur springs, volcano, local lunch waterfall visit and snorkeling at Sugar Beach. It was a great way to see everything without booking individual tours different days. The hotel is dated, and the bathrooms are horrible. Tiny, our window didn't work. Shower is a trickle, and we had to tape our shower head up because it kept falling off. The beds are incredibly uncomfortable and need to be replaced. The hotel is well staffed, and most seemed eager and happy to help. There are activities planned all day/night, so there is always something to do if you choose to. The pools were clean, as well as the public restrooms. Our kids (ages 8 & 10) enjoyed the 2 water slides. The lazy river is REALLY lazy, and a lot of it is in shade. The pool water was surprisingly cool, and the ocean was warmer than we anticipated. A must know is that the beach is Atlantic side. The water is rough, and not "tropical". Perfect for boogie boarding (bring you own) and kite surfing (extra charges).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Wrong side of the island

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: not much
Cons: pretty much everything
Location: terrible location; I don't travel thousands of miles to swim in a pool - I want beach and there is none.
This resort is worn out and dated, needing serious work and upgrades. Nothing, however, can do anything about the location on the rough, Atlantic side of the island. If you like the beach go elsewhere. If you like good food, go elsewhere (it is all inclusive but you will want to eat out).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the Beach

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: on the beach, good bars and restaurants all on site. Good helpful staff.
Cons: quicker response time to any problems
Location: good location but need transport if you want to see more of the Island the hotel is a tad remote. Close to airport but you wouldn't notice.
Very good stay we had the all inclusive deal on food and drinks all fine. A couple of good restaurants also all included on site and worth visiting for a la carte meals. Good area just for adults only but could have done with some food available closer to that section. Good evening entertainment the overall experience was very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Not a 4 star hotel

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Staff was very nice, however, the hotel itself, the food and drinks were by far not a 4 star hotel. 3 star at best. Only 2 restaurants to chooses from in a daily basis. Not a lot to do as an adult, drink and lie around. St Lucia is constantly windy, which they don't tell you. We felt trapped in the property. Not happy with how much this cost and what we got for our money. Any excursion is expensive. And they are all extremely active. Nothing for laid back travelers who want to keep from getting sweaty and dirty. Won't be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quesnel

Family vacation without a hitch

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: The harmony hot tub
Cons: Wifi through outside of the lobby could be improved
Location: 45 minute drive to climb the Piton is a must.
Wow...the staff were very friendly and the food was amazing at CBay. There was lots of activities for our whole family to do. The conceire service was above and beyond what we were expecting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quesnel, BC. CA

Unexpected Treasure!

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: The breeze off the ocean 24/7 kept us all comfortable.
Cons: The hot tub temperature was always cool.
Location: The location seemed to be only about a max 45 minutes from everything we wanted to do, snorkeling and climbing Pitons and catamaran adventure.
This was was our family vacation for the year and everything went off without a hitch. Incredibly friendly staff and management made everything perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We were so totally relaxed for seven days of fun.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: All areas are nicely decorated. Loved the murals. Our room in Splash section was very charming and we enjoyed sitting on the deck overlooking garden
Cons: Cannot think of a single thing! LArge staff working everywhere.
Location: JUst five minutes from the airport. MAny water sport options. Toured the lovely island with a private guide and enjoyed the botanical gardens.
PErfect weather, great food with lots of choices of where to dine, terrific and varied entertainment, beautiful grounds with many pools and a roaring surf to watch from our shaded hut. Something for all ages. The staff could not do enough for us and were all great. No complaints at all!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

rooms need upgrading, food good all good

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: atmostphere excellent
Cons: rooms
Location: never went outside only a trip to Martinique
very friendly and professional staff good facilities, beautiful island
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Good hotel, outstanding staff

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Good hotel, outstanding staff. Drinks,Top shelf. Room, Clean and spacious Make sure you sign up for a "harmony" room if you prefer adults only. We upgraded to an ocean view with a "splash" side room (kids' water park side) and didn't know ALL rooms are already ocean view so we felt that we paid too much in that regard. Our Ocean view was only a small part of our view. The main view was palm trees. The very accommodating and friendly manager of the property, Chris, offered to move us. which brings me to the staff, it's probably the best that we've experienced at any resort, and we travel a lot. Some to look out for ( although every single one seems thoroughly thrilled to work there. A huge smile from the cleaning lady to the surf shack guys ): Natasha -calabash Sherlisa - silk Stan- kite surf Shack Linus- kite surf Luis -manager at surf shack was incredibly helpful and friendly. Sophia- cleaning lady