Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Tonawanda, NY

Rustic, eco hotel close to Soufriere

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Being located in the heart of a plantation, the hotel is very quiet, peaceful where birds can be heard chirping often and the vegetation is luscious.
Cons: I would have liked to have a bathtub/jacuzzi tub in our bathroom. The shower was convenient and worked fine, but in my opinion a bathtub is better.
Location: There are a few beaches (Sugar beach, Anse Chastanet) and hiking trails (Tet Paul Trail, Gros PIton) as well as other attractions nearby.
The hotel is located at a short driving distance from the town of Soufriere, one of the most picturesque places in St Lucia in my opinion. It does not have direct access to a beach, which can be inconvenient for some travelers, but for our needs it was perfect. On this trip, me and my husband decided to choose a peaceful place where we can relax and that would be close to a variety of attractions that we could explore on our own. Therefore, we rented a car upon arriving at the airport and drove ourselves to the hotel. The staff welcomed us warmly and introduced us to our cottage - the Cinnamon villa. The cottage was very clean, cozy and inviting and decorated with lots of tropical flowers. There was a minifridge, a kettle, iron and a radio in the room. No TV, which was totally fine with us, in fact it added more to the romantic, peaceful atmosphere of the place. The evening of our arrival we dined at the hotel's restaurant, which embodies the same relaxing and tropical vibe, but the food was expensive and not totally to our liking, therefore we never ate there before. The breakfast buffer every morning was delicious though. The Fond Doux Plantation is located close to Sugar beach (and it offers free shuttle service to and from the beach). Relatively close is Anse Chastanet beach (about a 20 min drive) which we enjoyed more than Sugar beach for its excellent snorkeling and private atmosphere. We enjoyed our stay at the plantation and would love to come back one day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Sweet Rainforest cottages. Eat elsewhere.

Posted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely spacious rainforest cottage built into hillside. we stayed in Cashew. Good size room, surprisingly no insects. Skip the extra for plunge pool, a murky mess in an unappealing corner with a perpetually we hammock. Great porch with nice padded chairs, good privacy. Comfy bed. Service hit and miss. The big problem with this place that brings down the rating is the food is atrocious and its a hard drive to anywhere else in the dark to other restaurants. Pool is ok for a dip but more a sitting pool than swimming. Good for 2-3 nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

Great get away!

Posted Feb 18, 2015
This is a great get away paradise. You will wake up by the birds and other creatures, beautiful plantations and even a little trail for hiking up to see the pitons. Lunch Manu is great, but dinner needs improvement. The room is clean and spacious but it needs hand towels rack in the toilet room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville

10 Cute cottages surronded by a working plantation

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: Everything was wonderful. But the best thing about this hotel was the knowledgeable and caring staff.
Location: Plantation tour. Tet Paul nature trail. Sunset at Dasheen Restaurant. The Pitons. Various waterfalls and hot springs. Sugar Beach.
We had a great time among the Cocao, Banana, Grapefruit, Guava, Papaya, Cinamon, and Nutmeg trees.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from France

A nature lovers' dream in a tropical forest!

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Charming cottages, surrounded by countless varieties of trees ( cocoa, banana, coconut, mango, grapefruit ......) and beautiful flowers. On taking the complimentary tour with Philip we discovered the wonders of this beautiful plantation and tasted the sweet pulp which surrounds the cocoa seeds, a must! All the staff are wonderfully helpful and warm, Leonita, Happiness, Dennis , Tonia and Evancia to name just a few, they make you feel very welcome. The food was carefully prepared, simple but delicious, maybe more of a variety would have been appreciated. My husband and I particularly enjoyed the breakfast menu , the local bakes and accras! The courtesy shuttle to the beach was useful, plus there are a variety of places to visit. We enjoyed Tet Paul, a nature trail created by some local youths who enthusiastically explained the medicinal uses of plants and trees plus there was a spectacular view of the Pitons. However I suggest to take a taxi there unless you enjoy a steep walk ( 30 mins from the plantation). For me, it was a wonderful tranquil , relaxing experience, a revelation and an awakening of the senses, I came home curious to learn more about St. Lucia and its' hidden gems!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

The Hidden Gem is St. Lucia

Posted Jan 22, 2015
My wife and I spent out honeymoon at this beautiful plantation. The entire staff was friendly and courteous. I would highly recommend this to any person(s) looking for a vacation or wedding/honeymoon that is off the beaten path. Centered among all the top sights we visited. Can't say enough about this place. Wow!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great stay in all respects

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed in January for 5 days. We truly enjoyed it: the coconut room is beautiful with great views (a bit of a climb), staff is very friendly (Philips tour of the plantation is recommended but don't expect to keep up with him going up the hill, Katryn is very helpful in booking and arranging trips and tours), and the plantation is beautiful. Food is good too. The plantation is centrally located with respect to places of interest and beaches, we recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Getting away from it all

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
You'll feel like you're staying in the middle of the rainforest. Lovely rustic hotel with clean and comfortable rooms. We had the honeymoon suite which had a great outdoor shower and deck. Highly recommended for travellers who like adventure and not the typical resort style hotels. Food in the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced compared to other nearby hotels. You'll need a car or use taxis if staying at the hotel, it's not walking distance to town, beaches or other restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Balanced view

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros - real plantation rainforest location; great cottages, courteous caring staff and owners; close to best beach on island - sugar beach; reasonably priced; buffet breakfast Cons - need a car; nearby eating options limited and expensive; loud crickets and birds all night (they provide ear plugs), no A/c which may be an issue some months; had a couple of big bugs and small lizards in cottage at night so be ready for a rustic experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kristi from Northampton, MA

Peaceful Retreat in Beautiful Setting

Posted Dec 21, 2014 on Hotels
We had such a wonderful stay at Fond Doux that we did not want to leave. I recommend this if a peaceful getaway in rainforest environment sounds appealing. You will definitely find calm and peace in the beautiful surroundings, and it makes a good base location to explore the activities near Soufriere. Both the Gros Piton hike and the Tet Paul Nature Trail were close by and easy to get to. The staff was wonderful. As others have said, this is not a typical beach resort experience, so I'd recommend splitting your time between those two types of experiences while in St. Lucia if you're looking for a little bit of that too. As for practicalities, wifi was good, food was excellent, but it's really the only option close by and it can get pricey to eat all your meals there. There's plenty of pool space, and probably my favorite touch to Fond Doux was the outdoor library by the pool. Swoon! We would definitely return here, and I look forward to doing so.