Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Experience the rain forest and the island culture

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful, and we liked the 'tucked away' feel of the rain forest. We also liked having our own cottage in the treetops.
Cons: There are lots of cobble stone steps and paths that lend to the authentic feel of the plantation; I'm not sure you can really do anything about that
Location: Mud baths and sulfer springs (volcano) are less than 10 minutes away. There is also a nice waterfall within in 20 minutes.
Nestled into the rain forest your private villa awaits up in the tree tops. Rustic cobblestone and 'bamboo' architecture amidst the cocoa plantation make you feel like you are really experiencing St Lucia. The food - AMAZING - with great presentation, kind and helpful staff, amidst the tropical sounds of the rain forest. The bartenders also had some unique and tasty island cocktails, and the staff made arrangements for us for transportation to our next destination, as well as to the mud baths (10 minute away).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laval, Québec

Dépaysant. Bien situé pour visiter.

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Concept original. Bonne nourriture. Hôtel bien situé pour visiter les Pitons, Sulphur springs et autres attractions de ce coin de l'île.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from guernsey

Great hotel near loads of activities

Posted Dec 3, 2015
This is not 5 star luxury it is however a fantastic experience in beautiful setting with spacious rooms with loads of outdoor space for a fantastic experience Highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chattanooga, TN

Quiet Gem

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Fond Doux was just what we were looking for! It's a quiet gem tucked away in the mountains but also very close to Sugar beach, other resorts, many natural island attractions and the local town of Soufriere. It was easy to take a taxi where ever we wanted with the help of the front desk staff setting up our transportation. Everyone was very friendly. The grounds of the plantation are beautiful and well kept. We stayed in the 1 bedroom African Tulip Cottage and it was very comfortable for my husband and I. We will definitely be back and would recommend this resort to others!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Peaceful and Serene

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Pros: We loved the lush and peaceful surroundings at Fond Doux Holiday Plantation.
Cons: New silverware,/glassware are a MUST!! The worn pieces cheapen the eating experience. Also, more variety is needed for evening meals.
Location: Hike the Tet Paul trail. Enjoy the plantation tour, the view of the Pitons - breathtaking! Sugar Beach, Jade mountain's black sand beach, snorkeling
We stayed in Hilltop Nutmeg which was peaceful and serene. The climb to Nutmeg requires energy (and strong knees), so be prepared for a little hike going home each night. Mosquitoes....they DO exist! so bring whatever protective measures you care to, that will also be environmentally thoughtful. The beautiful four post bed has a muslin-like mosquito netting which you can let down at night however we found that this made for a very, very, hot night. It might have been better to use actual netting, which could keep the mosquitoes out but let more air circulate. Ask for a standing fan, this will help a lot. Food in the restaurant was good, but lacked variety so after a few days we began exploring other area restaurants for a "change of taste". Silverware/glassware is worn and lackluster; just changing these small things could make a big difference to the presentation at mealtime. That being said, Staff are WONDERFUL!!! every single one... very accommodating, kind, and always pleasant. We thank each of them, and the owners who are often on-site, for their graciousness, attentiveness, and welcoming spirit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Great staff and very accommodating. W derail experience and location to activities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by okieh.

Toller Urlaub im Urwald

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Ebookers
Die Anlage liegt nicht in Strandnähe, sondern mitten im Regenwald von St. Lucia. Dessen sollte man sich bewusst sein, wenn man sich für das Fond Doux entscheidet. Es wird allerdings ein kostenloser Shuttle Service zum Strand (Sugar Beach, mit Schnorchelmöglichkeit!) angeboten der etwa 7min dauert. Die Anlage ist kein Hotel im eigentlichen Sinn, sondern besteht aus einzelnen Häusern, die über die Plantage verstreut sind. Überall wachsen Bäume, die man sonst nur aus dem Gewürzregal kennt (ein Rundgang über die Plantage wird angeboten und ist empfehlenswert). Wir (2 Erwachsene mit 2 Jugendlichen) hatten das Avocado-Haus, das mit zwei Schlafzimmern ausgestattet ist. Das besondere an der ganzen Anlage ist, dass man den Regenwald bis vor die Veranda hat, was wirklich einzigartig ist. Natürlich gehört dazu aber auch das nächtliche Konzert von Grillen u.a. Tieren, das schon eine beeindruckende Lautstärke erreicht. Uns hat das allerdings nie von einem tiefen und entspannten Schlaf in den wunderbaren Betten abgehalten. Die Poolanlage im Hotel besteht aus 3 runden Becken, die über drei Ebenen verteilt sind. Schwimmen ist den Becken mit einem Durchmesser von jeweils ca. 4m zwar nicht möglich, aber zum Abkühlen reicht es auf jeden Fall und die Anlage sieht sehr schön aus und man hat von dort eine wunderbare Aussicht über das Tal. Die sanitären Anlagen in unserem Haus waren eher einfach und die Küche bzw. speziell den Backofen hätte ich nicht benutzen wollen, aber das war eigentlich auch gar nicht notwendig (sollte man vielleicht auch eher vermeiden, wenn man keine Ameisen in der Wohnung haben möchte). Der Zimmerservice war einwandfrei und das Haus immer sehr sauber und gepflegt. Zusammenfassen lässt sich sagen, dass das Besondere am Fond Doux wirklich der Flair dieser stilechten Plantagenhäuser umgeben vom Regenwald ist. Wir haben es sehr genossen und würden jederzeit wieder hier buchen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Willemstad, Curacao

Very nice Hotel in a beautifull surrending.

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: The unspoiled nature and beautifull cottages along the plantation.
Cons: i cant think of anything
Location: The location was perfect for the purpose of our trip. We liked the nature and went to the sulphur bath twice.We visited the waterfall.
We were very pleased with this nice and neat hotel.The staff was very friendly. We had a nice room. Although it was a good climb to our room we enjoyed the trip.The reception girls where very helpfull.The food was good and we liked the breakfast.We would recommend this hotel especially if you are going on a honeymoon to book this hotel in St.Lucia. We stayed only 3 nights but are planning to return next year for a whole week.Thanks to the staff for being so nice and helpfull.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Xavier

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Calm and peaceful

Posted Jul 15, 2015
One of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed in. Sleeping alongside the sounds of nature. Outdoor shower was refreshing. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. Great place for nature lovers wanting to get away from the tourist areas.