Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Israel

honeymoon

Posted Dec 14, 2015
Pros: the room,the view,3 walls,the location and the food.
Cons: make sure all the heated pool should function correctly.
Location: just next to hotel chocolate and the Soufrière springs ,the hotel offer a free 15 minutes shuttle to the sugar mill beach.
we got there for our honeymoon,the first 2 nights the heated pool did not heat so for the following 2 nights we received an upgraded room which was more then amazing and also a discount for the previous 2 nights.my wife is vegan they were not prepared for that in the beginning but after speaking with the local manager Velma that was always nice and helping all that was changed! so over all great experience amazing views would defiantly recommend!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charleston, sc

Babymoon

Posted Nov 23, 2015
The location is exceptional- the views make it worth the visit. However the facility is a bit dated and there is no beach front accessibility with comprable 5 star amenities. The staff is very friendly and sweet though not the most informed about getting around the area. Breakfast and lunch are delicious. Dinner is overpriced and the menu is very limited with little seafood options- surprising on a caribbean island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Pros: The setting and the staff.
Cons: Handicapped accessibility
Ninth visit to St Lucia, first time at Ladera. Loved staying there. Can't wait to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Wonderful, if expensive, views

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: Location, stunning view of the Piton and rain forest and very friendly staff.
Cons: Limited entertainment, tendency to scrimp on the (expensive) food.
Location: Gym was ok, sugar beach nice but otherwise activities v limied
As a nature lover there was much to recommend Ladera particularly the stunning views. The staff were also extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. For an expensive place there were a few minor niggles: shower blocked so delay in water running out, toilet not flushing on ground floor, unheated plunge pool in room and air con broken in gym on one occasion. However when mentioned they were promptly fixed, where possible. Having travelled extensively I find St Lucia expensive anyway but for a few days Ladera was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Unbelievable view !

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: super private, amazing view, fine dining.
Cons: the low season price could be a little cheaper, considering it was not full by any means.
Location: Ladera overlooks the Sugar Bay resort, on the crest between two peaks, south of Soufriere. It's literally 1000 feet above sea level.
It met and exceeded our expectations. We are frequent travelers, though not people that are accustomed to the 5 star treatment, but we were blown away by the experience. The view of the Pitons from our room was spellbinding. We literally lounged about in the bathrobes provided for an entire day. It felt like home, comfortable and welcoming...just watching the rain and the birds and the sunsets made us happy beyond compare. They think of everything, from the smallest details like refilling the ice bucket to things that impressed, like providing star charts and binoculars in each room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Romantic trip of a lifetime

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Pros: We loved the view and the open air concept. Service was impeccable.
Cons: Our room needed some maintenance. The deck doors would slam open and shut, the shower was a trickle and there was broken glass behind furniture.
Location: Good location, close to biplane and mud baths, 10 min shuttle to sugar beach
Stayed at Ladera for 7 days. Very, beautiful & romantic. For the most part we were very satisfied but there were a few things at the resort that were disappointing for the $.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christopher from Atlanta

Amazing views

Posted Aug 28, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing views..very relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Submerging in natural beauty

Posted Aug 22, 2015
When we mentioned that we would be staying at the ladera resort the immigration officer and the rental car attendant smiled and you could feel the pride the people of st lucia have for this place. The beauty of the view, the uniqueness of the rooms complementing the surrounding nature, the kindness of each and every attendant at ladera and the food (!) making this a place an unforgettable sensual experience of mind and body. We needed a break from our busy regulated lives to reconnect with our spirit and bodies ... Ladera was the right place (complemented by sugar beach and hiking the surrounding nature (and rain forest trails). Recommend a daily budget of about $200 for expenditures
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, nc

Can not beat the experience

Posted Aug 19, 2015
One of the best views on the island to go with one of the best experiences we've ever had. Very relaxed setting in gorgeous open air rooms with top notch service. Pool is awesome, food and drinks are also. Only negative might be if you can't stand lizards or can't live without air-conditioning but certainly nothing that crazy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Best hotel experience ever!

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Ladera caters to the needs of the open concept. They will give you everything you need to prevent mosquitos from bothering you.I didn't get bitten.
Location: In front of Ladera, you can choose to watch the only drive-in volcano crater in the caribbean and also experience volcanic mud baths.
The breathtaking view is the best in St. Lucia. We have been hotel hopping for the past 2 weeks, and so far, Ladera has been my favorite. You have to be the type of traveler that wants to try a different type of hotel concept. The open, no front windows/wall concept, has been the best idea I've ever experienced. Sleeping to the noise of the Piton forest is enchanting, and if you wake up on time to watch the sunrise from your bed, you will never forget it. The staff is VERY kind and extremely friendly. Ladera will conveniently provide you with a cell phone for you to use anywhere in the hotel at any time to call the front desk, spa, restaurant etc. The pool is strategically located to give you an amazing view. The restaurant and bar have great food/drinks. I have no complaints about this place.