Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Best views in St. Lucia

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Having cocktails while watching the sunset from either the room or the bar terrace was in itself worth the price of the stay.
Cons: Cutting a deal with Sugar Beach so that daily chair rentals aren't $50/day.
Location: Amazing but somewhat isolated location though you can walk to Hotel Chocolate for a great dinner at Boucan.
The hotel is nestled up high, in the Piton Mountains, and overlooking the ocean with Sugar Beach directly below. The views from the bar, pool deck, and the rooms were incredible. We had the lowest rate room and it was still amazing. We didn't use our small plunge pool much but it was very cool to have. When we arrived it was incredibly windy and so the first night it was quite loud with the wind constantly rattling the wooden slatted doors that served as the back wall. The concept of a room that is completely open to nature (no 4th wall) is interesting in theory, and I think a great experience, but probably not something I would want to do for longer than the 4 nights we were there. On the plus side, the view was incredible and it always felt very private. The temperature was fine at night but if it had been much hotter I probably would have been craving an a/c. The mosquitoes were thankfully not a big issue. I was bitten 2-3 times (I think at dinner, not in the room) and my 3 companions had none at all. Staff was attentive, friendly, helpful and not invasive. The pool and pool deck is small but the resort is small so it never felt crowded. The gym is also small but has a bike, treadmill, elliptical and the entire set of of dumb bells (5lb-75lb). The food at the resort was very good, I particularly enjoyed the bar appetizers as well. The 10 minute shuttle down to Sugar Beach wasn't an imposition, but the downside is Sugar Beach charges $50/chair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Very much enjoyed.

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: The staff are generally very friendly but just occasionally, and only a minority, slightly off-hand. Perhaps a little bit of staff training.
Location: Great location; 45 minutes from Vieux Fort airport. Climb Gros Piton, walk the rainforest trail, get out on to the sea at least once.
We spent a lovely week at Ladera. The room (with plunge pool and terrace) was fantastic, set off by the stunning view and the one-open-wall construction. The food at Dasheene was uniformly excellent and twinned with a terrific wine list. The hotel also boasts a very congenial bar with little bands most nights adding to the chilled atmosphere. We would definitely recommend Ladera.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Great spot to unwind

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Beautiful spot and great staff. Would highly recommend Ladera to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from des moines, iowa

Best setting for a hotel, ever.

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Just an incredible view and set up. Great staff, great food, great spa!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The view and landscaping were both spectacular.

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: The view and landscaping.
Location: The location was wonderful. We were able to got to the beach, take walks, boat rides, etc. The absence of more restaurants was a disappointment.
We had a wonderful time. The staff was very attentive, the room was lovely, the grounds inviting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Absolutely Lovely

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Location, food, charm
Cons: hmm, I can't think of anything! Its expensive but hey, when you get a scenery like that you gotta pay for it! exotic islands are not cheap.
Location: I wrote that above in the earlier passage :)
We had them most beautiful experience! Def need to be an outdoors lover as this hotel is completely open concept-meaning you are right there in the beautiful outdoors. We really enjoyed this experience and are nature and animal lovers. I love that it is very quiet and no TV or NOISE, extremely peaceful. I read books and swam in my plunge pool, took naps, went to the beach, and enjoyed touring the island. Very convenient to the downtown area and to the worlds largest drive in volcano, as well as the botanical gardens and the 3 different waterfalls. The Dasheen restaurant on the propery was lovely, fresh fruit juices every morning and delicious cocoa tea that is unique to the island. We stayed 5 nights which was perfect for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Uniquely beautiful setting

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Exceptional quality and details throughout. Staff provides truly genuine high levels of hospitality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: Visual setting, customer service.
Cons: A little pricey in the restaurant.
Location: Other than a resort across the street, Ladera is somewhat isolated. You need a cab to go anywhere, including the nearest town. Not a friendly locati
This was a unique and memorable experience. Visually stunning, top notch and attentive customer service. We're glad we stayed at Ladera, but it's not for everyone. Some people paying top dollar have an expectation of 100% comfortable & luxurious accommodations. Those people would be disappointed, particularly at night. Not everyone would be thrilled with ensuring that the protective netting completely surrounds their bed, nor navigating steps with a flashlight at night (or putting on lights and inviting all sorts of flying insects into the room). I liken this experience to a hybrid between a luxurious resort and camping. If you go in with a realistic set of expectations, you'll have a wonderful and unforgettable experience. However, it's not for everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Breathtaking View!Amazing Experience!

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Breathtaking View!Amazing Experience!Must see Bucketlist! Definite recommendation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 東京

最高の景色を誇るホテルですが…

Posted Dec 21, 2015
スタッフの対応は基本良く、中でもtenderlyさんの印象は特に良かった。しかしもっと積極的に客の荷物を運んで欲しい場面もあった。 絶景の景色には脱帽だ。いままで滞在したホテルの中でもトップ5位にランクインするぐらいだ。しかし、空港からホテルまでのアクセスは大変!かなりの山道を1時間以上かけて車で走り、ホテルに着いた頃には気分が悪く、部屋を楽しむ余裕がなかった。部屋は窓がない完全オープンなところが魅力だが、部屋の中にあるプールの掃除が徹底されてないと、葉や虫の死骸が浮いていて入りづらい。