Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern, clean, comfortable..and very helpful staff

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Easy to book boat trips for viewing hippos, crocodiles, whales and birds. Nearby iSMangoliso national park has plentiful game to view as you drive.
A friend and I stayed with Giesela for five nights and had a wonderful experience. The room was very clean and nicely furnished. Our hostess was very knowledgeable about local points off interest and willingly assisted with booking several excursions. The location is very convenient to town, beaches and a nearby national park. I would definitely recommend this place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Town

Small Guestlodge with everything you need

Posted Dec 10, 2015
Pros: Safe, secure and clean. Access to information
Location: Wetlands... A day in the park is in order! Hippo and Crocodile are the most popular for the regular tourists, but birders also get a good look in!
There are so many Lodges to choose from, so it is always hard to make a decision! We were a mixed group (English and German speaking), so it seemed fair to choose a place that advertised to speak both. Our host spoke both languages as a native - which is a wonderful thing for any foreign visitor! Our check in was informative and interesting, with lots of time taken to go over the available excursions and facilities. Rooms serviced every day. Breakfast (hot / cold) served in the dining area each morning. As there are only a few rooms, this can be quite a social gathering, should you wish to chat with your neighbours. An honesty bar is also available in the evening, which is great for that nightcap! Free Wifi Free off road parking. We decided to braai (barbecue) one evening and our host went out of her way to make sure we had enough wood and to put a table cloth out on the patio for our meal. Small thing, but makes all the difference to how welcome you feel :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Guest House

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Cons: Dogs were wonderful, however a little noisy at night.
This was a true gem, right from our host family to the town of St. Lucia. We planned on two days, but wound up staying a week. Hippos wandering the streets at night, game reserve to Cape Vidal, beaches a must see. Highly recommend Maputaland.
5 out of 5
by Nishant from Johannesburg

Home Away From Home!!

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
One of the best places we have stayed till date in terms of warmth & hospitality. We felt that we are staying with our family members. Uncle Peter and Aunt Gisela were marvelous hosts. Would definitely love to visit this home in St. Lucia again. Thank You so much!
4 out of 5
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ernie & JoAnn from Portland, OR, USA

A wonderful Guest House

Posted Jul 5, 2012
Location: Easy walking distance to the main street of St. Lucia. Very close the the Wetlands Park, a World Heritage Site.
Gisela and Peter were warm and helpful hosts. They informed us of activities in the area, made reservations for us, prepared wonderful breakfasts. Overall, they made our initial days in S. Africa memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kanas City

Great place and awesome people

Posted Sep 8, 2010
It is a beautiful place run by very nice people. We only stayed three nights, but we would definitely come back. If you get a chance, go on a tour with their son, he is very knowledgeable and takes good care of you as well. If you want to do something else, they can also provide all kinds of tips and directions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Miejsce urokliwe z klimatem.

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Super miejsce. Polecam gorąco. Właściciel jest bardzo miły i uczynny. Dzięki niemu zwiedziliśmy także królestwo Suazi i skróciliśmy sobie drogę do Parku Krugera. Pyszne śniadania na otwartym powietrzu przy basenie, z widokiem na ogród z palmami. No ... i mają kotkę w wieku 21 lat :) Śliczna jest, oby żyła wiecznie. Na miejscu mnóstwo atrakcji (mam na myśli miasto St Lucia i okolice). Doskonałe miejsce do wypoczynku jak i baza wypadowa do parków narodowych.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super Guesthouse mit großartiger Gastfreundschaft

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Wetland Park / Cape Vidal / Hippos
Wir hatten wunderbare und erholsame zwei Übernachtungen dort! Nach einer langen Autofahrt wurden wir so herzlich, aber nicht aufdringlich von der Gastgeberin Gisela in Empfang genommen. Sie nahm sich zeit für uns und gab uns zahlreiche wertvolle Tipps. Sie wurde nicht müde Trips für uns zu arrangieren. Das Wohl ihrer Gäste liegt ihr sehr am Herzen. Ihre freundliche und offene Art ist großartig! Man fühlte sich direkt heimisch. Die Zimmer haben eine super Grösse, die Betten sind sehr bequem. Die neuen Duschen sind eine Wohlfühloase! Der direkte Zugang von den Zimmern zum tropischen Gärten mit sehr schönem Pool ist unbezahlbar. Das Frühstück ist super - es fehlt an nichts. Das Beste daran ist, dass man draußen frühstücken kann. Wir können es nur weiterempfehlen.