Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice property on an Island Paradise

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Staff & Location, once you get there from the airport (90 mins).
Cons: Restaurant menu selection and service.
We arrived and were taken to the Club & checked in as a group with 3 other couples, not true concierge service. We only received one key and they did not register us into the Wi-Fi. The Swim up lover's lagoon room was very small, maybe 300sf. Outlets in the room are European style 220v, 1 US 115v at the desk, no usable power around the bed, bathroom had 1 marked SHAVERS ONLY. Room Service is VERY good. Restaurants are plentiful but the menus are VERY limited. Barefoot by the Sea opened at 6 but @ 6:05 we were told they open @ 6:30. Service is extremely slow, took 20 minutes to get a drink. Nachos were a bowl of chips and a shot glass of grated cheese. The Mariner & Barefoot are the same restaurant, Mariner for lunch and Seaside @ dinner. Bombay and Soy were very good. Gordon's was the only REAL fine dining and was excellent. We had massages at the Spa and they were very good. Kimono restaurant, food was very good, seats were uncomfortable you selected an appetizer and a dessert from the menu but the main course consisted of beef fish chicken and shrimp and the same thing was served to everyone "Beach cabana with butler service" is a waitress, saw her twice in 3 hrs St Lucia and the resort location is amazing and the people are wonderful, but this property is NOT even 4 star. It may be unfair to compare this to other markets but compared to Riviera Maya adults only concierge service resorts we have experienced, the property and service is just not there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Great Resort Hotel by the beach

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: gorgeous resort and world class staff service,
Cons: room cleanliness
Location: excellent loacation at the Grand, very accessible to main town
We arrived at the hotel early afternoon and checked the room . We didnt like the smell and was immediate transferred to a better room. The staff was very accomodating. We attended the Club Sandals orientation, very pleased to know the organization was superb.Highly recommended to attend. The Beach welcome party was stupendous, great show. The hike to Pigeon island was breathtaking. Kudos to our leader/guide very informative and knowledgable . The Club staff helped us schedule our dinner, tours we appreciate very much. Restaurants are very good,especially the Gordons, Barefoot at the Sea, Josephine's crepe my favorite bluberry with vanilla ice cream .The shuttle back to the airport was great even it took over 90 min. we stopped by an overlook view that was a Kodak moment,overall the trip was so much fun. Im looking forward to comeback for my 4th sandals trip with my wife.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Not What We Expected

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: Location... central to many activities....
Cons: Room marketing.... pictures that actually go with room..... (Expedia)
Location: Great location..... everything nearby...
Purchased Motel Honeymoon Suite package on Expedia... Based on photos provided it showed swim-up room with beach view with many added amenities.... Upon arrival at Hotel we were informed we had purchased a base room with a building and pool view / lagoon view... We were then told we could upgrade to a beach view for another $1300.00.... which we did... only because it was a honeymoon and was let down by the location of the original room..... The Hotel itself was very nice.... Buyer beware... do not purchase room based on pictures provided on Expedia.... go to the motel site to see what you are actually purchasing........
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Delightful honeymoon

Posted Oct 7, 2015
If you like good drinks, social atmosphere, and beautiful scenery this is the Sandles for you. We stayed on the 4th floor club level and everyday had about fridge restocked, bed made, and activies at our fingertips. The staff really understands why you are there and they will bend over backwards to please you. If you go to the poolside bar - ask for Peter. He has "Peter specials" he will make for you and the longer you're there the stronger they get. He said he's been putting people under the table for 42 years. The locals are very nice and I highly recommend Exodus boat tours. They show you a more intimate look at the island and they have some rum punch that will get you dancing by the end of the trip. We went with Sandles for the vast amount of restaurant options and activities. Only complaint is we wish we could've stayed longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Great just tough to give five stars. But probably worthy of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brian from New York

True paradise

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I recently booked sandals Grande for our honeymoon. We could not be more pleased with the way everything turned out. The hotel and location are amazing but the staff truly made this place paradise. Everyone at the resort was so friendly and helpful. I could sit here and namedrop specific people but to be honest each and every staff member was so helpful that i would do a disservice to only point out a few. The staff made our stay truly amazing and I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone looking to enjoy their stay on the island of St. Lucia. a hugh thank you goes to the sandals staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Angeli

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westchester, New York

Beautiful resort, not worth the money

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Location: On site there were the included activities of kayaking, windsurfing, snorkeling etc. Right off site there were options to jet ski & hiking available.
I had a great experience at the hotel, the staff were all so friendly. The rooms were beautiful and always clean and neat. Some restaurants needed reservations and had dress codes. The food was good overall in the restaurants and quick "fast food"/snack areas. I had no issues at all with the resort, I just personally don't think I need to pay as much money as I did when I would be able to get the same service and quality from another all-inlcusive resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Venezuela

Good location, Average food, Unfriendly staff

Posted Jul 21, 2015
1. Welcome- Kudos to Melissa at the reception desk for a warm welcome and efficient service 2. Room- Good size, extremely clean. The single shower door posed a problem of an extremely wet floor after showering. The tv was average with none of the channels being in high definition. 3. Grounds- Lovely, clean, well kept and nicely laid out. It was easy to walk to any location. There are hammocks, fire pits (two of which are on the water) and nice pools and nice beach. 4. Pools/Beach- There are busy pools and quiet ones take your pick. The beach was very calm and easy to swim in. 5. Bars and drinks were good but I didn't find the staff very friendly or nice to me. 6. Restaurants were average. There wasn't enough local food on offer for my liking. The service was mostly average but again servers seldom made me feel welcome except at the British pub where the waitresses were fabulous. 7. Water sports- Very good variety. Staff again here not very friendly at all. 8. Conclusion- A good place for a quiet or lively holiday. There are a lot of options while in the resort to suit all needs. Staff needs to be a much friendlier. After all when people are on holiday and after spending hard earned money to get away we all want to feel welcomed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Evan D.

Sandels Grand St Lucia

Posted May 12, 2015 on Orbitz
Resort is clean, the staff is friendly, the island is BEAUTIFUL!