Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NYC

One of the best vacations we've ever been on!

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Hotel was large enough to feel comfortable, but not so big that you could not navigate the hotel. Lots of restaurants, lots of entertainment.
Cons: Room service does not come with your booking of the hotel, you have to pay for the upgrade. We booked an ocean view room and did not get one.
Location: We did not travel off the grounds as there was so much to do at the hotel. However, there are many excursions to pick from that take you off-site.
This going to be quite a lengthy review; however, I feel it's necessary as many of the reviews I read before the vacation were very helpful to us and this had to have been one of the best vacations my husband and I have ever been on. I would like start off with saying that both my husband and I have travelled a lot (separately and together) within the US, Mexico, Caribbean and Europe, so I feel as if we have quite a bit of experience to pull from when reviewing this hotel. First and foremost, the people of St. Lucia are one of the most amazing people we have met during all of our travels. They were all wonderful- happy, helpful, cheerful and polite. Especially at the Sandals Grande, I have never met a team of people, from housekeeping to room service to bartenders to waiters/waitresses who were so helpful, kind, and polite. And not to mention- we LOVED their accents. My husband is an English professor and he was amazed at how well they spoke English, and at times was embarrassed at how he was speaking to them as their English was so well spoken. Being from the NYC area, we are inherently very quick with our actions and words and and always seem to be rushing. That's just how we live. The people of St. Lucia constantly reminded us to slow down, both in our minds and bodies, and remember that we are on vacation and to relax. This is one of the best things I took away from this vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ga

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Friendly staff and fun events every night. Mattres could be a little better but over all very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect place for beach and pool

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: The pool and beach are the highlights to me. I am not a picky eater so every meal I ate from breakfast to lunch to dinner was good.
Cons: Check-in, and the vendors on the beach which I know Sandals can not do anything about because its a public beach.
Location: By car it is a hour and a half from the airport. Just to the north of the resort is a National Park which is safe and you can get beautiful pictures
The hotel was great, laid out very nice and perfect beach/pool mix. The check-in process could have been smoother, after a long day of travel you just want to get in the water and get a drink not here about what they can sell you. It wasnt terrible just not great. The vendors on the beach get a little old as well but a simple no thank you will turn them away, just get ready to say it 40 times a day. Other than those 2 little things everything was great. All the food was very good, I probably would not do the Indian place again just because it was not my style but all the others I would do again. We did take the helicopter to the resort which was nice because we beat everyone there and had 1st choice at times and restaurants. We did do a private car ride back, it wasnt as bad as I had read but very curvy up and down mountain roads for a good hour and a half. If you have the money to do helicopter at least once do it to the resort. I highly recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Somewhere you'd like to be for sure

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: This specific resort has been around for many years, but if you didn't know, you'd think it's fairly new by the quality of the facilities. Congrats!
Cons: Getting shade at the beach is a big thing. Management needs to add huts. No question about it. Also, worried about over building facilities.
Location: This Sandals is at the very North part of Ste-Lucia. There's a 90+ min shuttle ride from the airport. Be prepared for it. 😉 (But it's worth it..)
It had been quite a few years since our last vacation in a Sandals and I was a bit unsure of how they had evolved. Well, they did and only in favorable terms. We met a staff team going out of its way to try to make our vacation as perfect and pleasant as possible. And not just an individual here and there, but everyone we came across. Congrats on inculcating this culture within your entire staff. A good diversity in restaurant selection. Had great dining experiences at Gordon's on the pier, Soy's Sushi was surprisingly exquisite (didn't find many good sushi bar in the Caribbean, but this one is above expectations), Japanese Kimono's. However, 2 restaurants that came short of expectations were the French Bayside and the italian Toscanini's. Facilities were very nice, service as well, menu as well, but the actual food was... "ordinary". No bad, simply not at the levels they should have been. The beach: Well, if you like white sand beaches which continues in a crystal clear turquoise caribbean water, this is it! It's not "7 miles long", but you'll love it. It's a naturally protected bay, little to no waves during our week and low tidal range which is nice at the beach. Sport activities: I scuba dive and I had a great time doing it at this Sandals. Again, good staff and good equipment. Lots of dive sites within a short time by boat. Special thanks to Pamela. We chose the club level and really appreciated the support we got all week. Thanks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Amazing staff who are so happy to please each of the visitors. Captain Neil on the entertainment staff kept us laughing all week!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grande st Lucian the best

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Sandals grande st Lucian was a terrific time. No complaints at all. If you have to pick one of the sandals in st Lucia definitely pick the grand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

superb restaurants, even the pizza was amazing!

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: The food and staff
Cons: Nothing
The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Everything was there at your fingertips, clean towels, activities, entertainment and the food was amazing, even the pizza and I'm a picky eater. The entertainment staff were so talented, and they would involve the guests. The housekeeping staff kept our room so clean. The bartenders knew their stuff and never a long wait for a drink. The pool and beaches so clean and a good time was had by everyone there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome experience

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The whole environment was family friendly including the guest. The room was lovely the grounds were beautiful and the beach was walking distance.
Cons: There was basically no alcohol in the alcoholic beverages. I'm not a big drinker anyway. But don't say it's alcoholic and not have any in there
Location: The only drawback was it is a 1plus hour drive from the airport to the resort. Which I liked looking around, but that can seem long
This was our first time doing an all inclusive. The accommodations were excellent. The staff was exceptional. Some of the truly exceptional staff was Leota, Leome, Chastity, Vincent (Morgan Freeman), Emma, Tiffany, Gilbert, Hygena and Sharine among many others I cant remember their names. We also met the managers Winston and Brett were also receptive and around. We are now members and will vacations there for Valentines day next year. And are already looking forward to it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A week in paradise

Posted Feb 20, 2017
By far the best vacation i ever had! Good was great, service was spectacular. I felt like royalty the whole time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guelph ON

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Beautiful Resort. Awesome people and many different areas to spend the day from quite comfort to active party atmospheres. Put your towels down early. JJ's speed boat tour booked through Island Routes in the lobby is a blast and has so many great activities. Can't believe so much was packed into a half day tour and didn't seem rushed. Food was very good. The Bombay Indian restaurant and Gordon's stand out as well as a dinner on the beach which was awesome. Most beautiful sunsets.