Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017
the staff was the most friendly I have ever experienced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Amazing in every way.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Best spot in Carribean. LOVE THIS HOTEL. UNBELIEVABLE staff, grounds, beach, and people! Everything we could have ever wanted. We just came back from a dream vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Nice hotel, but not as romantic as you might hope.

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Great location (although a long transfer unless you take a helicopter), great facilities, lovely beach and grounds.
Cons: Hard to find a sun lounger with a shade. Most seemed to be reserved by 7am! Would be nice to have a bar by one of the smaller (and quieter!) pools.
Location: A cab to Rodney Bay is about US$13, although there's not a huge amount to see there. Pigeon Island is a short walk and well worth a look.
On the whole, this is a lovely hotel. The quality of the room was great, the food and drink was surprisingly good, and the staff were friendly. The beach and water sports were also top notch, with lovely white sand, clear water and a selection of water sports equipment in very well maintained condition. If I had one criticism it would actually be the atmosphere. For a hotel brand that pitches itself as a romantic resort for couples, I was expecting a much more relaxed and sophisticated environment - all romantic bars serving cocktails to adoring couples relaxing on beanbags, perhaps to a gentle soundtrack of chill-out music, that kind of thing. Instead, the atmosphere round the main pool from about 11am onwards was more like a Club 18-30 resort: Loud pumping music blasts from the speakers (including holiday classics such as the macarena), DJs organise people into various games and activities, and constant shouts of "Woooooo!!" and the occasional "Hell Yeah!!" can be heard from the crowds of enthusiastic guests already sloshed on fruit-based sugary rum drinks at the swim-up bar. To be fair to Sandals, I'm fairly miserable at the best of times, and most of the hotel guests seemed to love this kind of stuff, so if that's your bag then you'll also love it too no doubt. It was possible to avoid the party on the beach or round the couple of other smaller pools though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NYC

One of the best vacations we've ever been on!

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Hotel was large enough to feel comfortable, but not so big that you could not navigate the hotel. Lots of restaurants, lots of entertainment.
Cons: Room service does not come with your booking of the hotel, you have to pay for the upgrade. We booked an ocean view room and did not get one.
Location: We did not travel off the grounds as there was so much to do at the hotel. However, there are many excursions to pick from that take you off-site.
This going to be quite a lengthy review; however, I feel it's necessary as many of the reviews I read before the vacation were very helpful to us and this had to have been one of the best vacations my husband and I have ever been on. I would like start off with saying that both my husband and I have travelled a lot (separately and together) within the US, Mexico, Caribbean and Europe, so I feel as if we have quite a bit of experience to pull from when reviewing this hotel. First and foremost, the people of St. Lucia are one of the most amazing people we have met during all of our travels. They were all wonderful- happy, helpful, cheerful and polite. Especially at the Sandals Grande, I have never met a team of people, from housekeeping to room service to bartenders to waiters/waitresses who were so helpful, kind, and polite. And not to mention- we LOVED their accents. My husband is an English professor and he was amazed at how well they spoke English, and at times was embarrassed at how he was speaking to them as their English was so well spoken. Being from the NYC area, we are inherently very quick with our actions and words and and always seem to be rushing. That's just how we live. The people of St. Lucia constantly reminded us to slow down, both in our minds and bodies, and remember that we are on vacation and to relax. This is one of the best things I took away from this vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ga

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Friendly staff and fun events every night. Mattres could be a little better but over all very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect place for beach and pool

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: The pool and beach are the highlights to me. I am not a picky eater so every meal I ate from breakfast to lunch to dinner was good.
Cons: Check-in, and the vendors on the beach which I know Sandals can not do anything about because its a public beach.
Location: By car it is a hour and a half from the airport. Just to the north of the resort is a National Park which is safe and you can get beautiful pictures
The hotel was great, laid out very nice and perfect beach/pool mix. The check-in process could have been smoother, after a long day of travel you just want to get in the water and get a drink not here about what they can sell you. It wasnt terrible just not great. The vendors on the beach get a little old as well but a simple no thank you will turn them away, just get ready to say it 40 times a day. Other than those 2 little things everything was great. All the food was very good, I probably would not do the Indian place again just because it was not my style but all the others I would do again. We did take the helicopter to the resort which was nice because we beat everyone there and had 1st choice at times and restaurants. We did do a private car ride back, it wasnt as bad as I had read but very curvy up and down mountain roads for a good hour and a half. If you have the money to do helicopter at least once do it to the resort. I highly recommend this place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a memorable experience

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing stay at Sandals Grande. Staff went out of their way to make it a memorable experience
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good vacation, appeals to some more than others

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed for a friend's wedding. Highlights: friendly service, great food, amazing swim up room, good house champagne. Less than optimal: size of beach, lack of shaded spots, no drink menus to advertise fun drinks, really far drive to get to hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Somewhere you'd like to be for sure

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: This specific resort has been around for many years, but if you didn't know, you'd think it's fairly new by the quality of the facilities. Congrats!
Cons: Getting shade at the beach is a big thing. Management needs to add huts. No question about it. Also, worried about over building facilities.
Location: This Sandals is at the very North part of Ste-Lucia. There's a 90+ min shuttle ride from the airport. Be prepared for it. 😉 (But it's worth it..)
It had been quite a few years since our last vacation in a Sandals and I was a bit unsure of how they had evolved. Well, they did and only in favorable terms. We met a staff team going out of its way to try to make our vacation as perfect and pleasant as possible. And not just an individual here and there, but everyone we came across. Congrats on inculcating this culture within your entire staff. A good diversity in restaurant selection. Had great dining experiences at Gordon's on the pier, Soy's Sushi was surprisingly exquisite (didn't find many good sushi bar in the Caribbean, but this one is above expectations), Japanese Kimono's. However, 2 restaurants that came short of expectations were the French Bayside and the italian Toscanini's. Facilities were very nice, service as well, menu as well, but the actual food was... "ordinary". No bad, simply not at the levels they should have been. The beach: Well, if you like white sand beaches which continues in a crystal clear turquoise caribbean water, this is it! It's not "7 miles long", but you'll love it. It's a naturally protected bay, little to no waves during our week and low tidal range which is nice at the beach. Sport activities: I scuba dive and I had a great time doing it at this Sandals. Again, good staff and good equipment. Lots of dive sites within a short time by boat. Special thanks to Pamela. We chose the club level and really appreciated the support we got all week. Thanks.
3 out of 5
by Rebecca

Overpriced, dated resorts with outstanding service

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
Dated, vastly overpriced, small room akin to regular double tree/holiday inn at any given airport, food good not great, spotty wifi. Service is very, very good. After voicing concerns, management was extremely accommodating and went out of their way to ensure a pleasant stay. Staff were very friendly and made stay very nice. Management is doing its very best to make stay pleasant at an outdated place for which they did not set the unjustified high price. If this is your first resort stay, you will be happy. If you have been at others (as we have: Couples, Secrets, Palace, etc.), you will be disappointed with the room and resort (but not with the staff/management.)