Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

A great overall value for an all inclusive.

Posted Feb 24, 2017
We had a room in a great location but there were far away hillside room that looked difficult to come and go from because of steep hills. Could always find something good to eat but the food was not cruise food. The effort and service made up for it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Nice spot to relax

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Hotel is super clean but a bit older but still in great shape. Staff could not be nicer or more helpful. Food is decent too. Loved how it never felt crowed anywhere but did not like how small beach is- no long walks on the beach there. Plus the water is always turning by waves and never super clear but still is beautiful. Also not a good location for those who can walk steep inclines and hills. There is a lot of that here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Beautiful resort

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Pleasant staff, clean,water sports,fitness center
Cons: Water in room, wines
Location: We went on Joy tour the vendor from beach near the water ports. It was great! Castries is the capital and near the resort. It did not look safe.
The resort is a long drive from the airport but the staff is organized and ready when we arrived. A welcome drink and a short check-in. There is the 300.00 credit card hold. We did not use it during our stay, so hopefully it will be refunded. The room was fresh and clean with flower petals on our bed. We did not notice until the next day that our beachfront room view was a view of the back of the water sports shack, with the added bonus of watching men come in and out the rest room. I called for a new room and on the third day had a beautiful view of the ocean. The beds are very comfy. My only complaint would be the lack of bottled water in the room. They can be bought in the gift shop or placed in the room for a fee. People need water to take medications and stay hydrated. Water coolers are placed all over the resort, so take your own containers. The food was great! Palm and Bambou buffet always had some interesting and flavorful dishes. We ate at the Morgan's Pier and Bambou for dinner and each were excellent. The servers are very attentive and pleasant. The house wine is terrible. The rum is low alcohol- I think I could drink it all day. The beer is Heinikin or local Piton, both light beers. The Wednesday beach party was fun, but confusing. Get there early to get a table. Great water sports with helpful attendants. They will give lessons. The beach was small and the water murky. My husband got bit twice by fish. Remember to reserve your lounger early! "Joy" was a nice tour
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Beautiful setting, overlooking the bay

Posted Feb 13, 2017
The service was fantastic, the facilities quite adequate. It's very hilly there so lots of walking up and down to access the beach, restaurants and bars but we felt the excercise was good for us. Staff were gracious and helpful. Only drawback we saw was noisy frogs peeping all night, earplugs recommended for light sleepers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a quick stay

Posted Feb 10, 2017
After check in they would give orientation the following day. Dinner the first night was a buffet only no other choice. buffet was poor
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Admin Secretary , Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your short stay with us. Please allow me to clarify why dinner the first night is buffet. For our a la carte restaurants for dinner, each restaurant has a seating capacity and reservations for dinner allows us to manage the efficient service with the preparation of food and executing of service. We are sorry if you felt that the buffet we offer was poor. It is always our goal to ensure that the food we offer is of the best quality to our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Great hotel. No real complaints

Posted Feb 5, 2017
I thought everything was excellent. food was very good, Staff friendly and helpful, Room clean but could use better lighting and remote worked inconsistent for the TV. Great entertainment around the bar 6-8 in the evening and later 8-11. My only two complaints were that there was only free internet around the sunset bar and lobby. You could pay for it if you wanted but in todays day and age it should be provided in all area's for free. Also they fog in the afternoon at 5 pm two days for mosquito's. I do not have a problem with that but if you are at the beach or pool and do not realize the time you can get caught in it, and I do not want to breathe in the pesticide. Perhaps a siren or signal 15 minutes prior so you can go to your room until they are done. Minor complaints. I would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by Admin Secretary , Hotel Management
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We are also appreciative of the feedback that you provided in making our facilities better. It is always important to us to hear the valuable contributions that you our valued guests offer to us. Once again, thank you for choosing our resort and island. We hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

St James ResortGreat place for couples and friends

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Good restaurants great water sports internet only in main areas. Get a beachfront room in building 500
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by Admin Secretary , Hotel Management
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank your for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. It is most appreciated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Wonderful resort

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: No complaints
Location: It is in a beautiful lush area. There are tours of the island, sailing (Go on the Calypso Cat) snorkeling, ziplining.
We had a great time! We were there last year and came back. The grounds are beautiful, staff very nice, food great with many options. We loved the crew of the Calypso Cat. All kinds of excursions were available. We will go back. Great choice of pools.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by Admin Secretary , Hotel Management
It is always a pleasure to welcome our returning guests to their home away from home. It was our pleasure to be of service to you. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, it is most appreciated. We look forward in welcoming you back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Good hotel in beautiful St Lucia

Posted Jan 30, 2017
I surprised my wife for her 50th birthday and took her to St Lucia. We had a wonderful time. St James is a nice resort. It's not quite a four star but the resort is nice. The rooms are clean and the food is good. No wifi in rooms only in lobby. No mini bar in rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by Admin Secretary , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. It was our pleasure to have you here with us for such a special occasion. thank you again for your sharing with us your stay with us .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, England

Lovely complex with exceptionally friendly staff

Posted Jan 21, 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed our week's stay at St James Club. The staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The room was spotless and was cleaned daily with fresh towels. The bed was one if the comfiest I have slept in whilst on holiday. There were plenty of sunbeds around the pool and by the beach and we were supplied with fresh beach/pool towels daily. The food in all of the restaurants was delicious. You can also drink the tap water in St Lucia which was great. The night time entertainment was excellent. Although we did not use the watersports facilities, these were free and lots of people were water skiing and windsurfing. All in all an excellent holiday. We would definitely return to this fabulous complex.