Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indiana

Awesome resort

Posted Oct 23, 2016
We booked a room at Ladera for our first trip to St. Lucia. Unfortunately, Hurricane Matthew created damage at the resort and our reservation was cancelled. Expedia called the next day to find us something comparable which ended up being at Sugar Beach. We were more than thrilled to be booked there. They upgraded us to a grand luxury villa. Not only was the view magnificent but the villa was beautiful. We loved it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Sehr schöne Lage & perfekter Ort zum Entspannen. In vielerlei Hinsicht ist der Preis überteuert. Auch der Service lässt für den Betrag zu wünschen übrig.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Fantastic hotel but food is way overpriced!

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Room accommodations were some of the best I've seen! Beautiful room, private and quiet. Friendly staff that was very accommodating. The few things that could be improved include the food being way overpriced for the quality. The gym was not good for how nice everything else was. We had 1 major problem when we arrived. We purchased all inclusive on Expedia but when we got to the hotel they said they do not offer that on Expedia and were not going to honor it!! Huge stress factor and disappointment because food there was so outrageous! Put a huge damper on our trip as it was not what we were prepared for. Had to phone a friend in the US to handle the issue for us. Took several days and many hours on the phone before Expedia claimed responsibility and corrected the issue. Glad it worked out because I travel quite often and always have used Expedia.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Everything was pretty good.
Cons: The need for extra tipping on top of service charge on all food purchases, adds up. Start feeling nickeled and dimed.
Location: Great location for Piton hike, sulphur springs, visiting town. Close to lots of activities.
Beautiful beach and surroundings! Nice staff. Clean, comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exceptional with maybe one Flaw

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Almost everything.
Cons: Menus and food.
Location: The location is absolutely breathtaking.
Everything about this hotel was out of this world. The staff are exceptional as was the room, the location, the beach etc. It is nestled between the Pitons and is breathtaking. My only caveat is that I thought the food could have been better. It was not bad food but it did not match everything else, which was 5 star. Maybe everything else creates an unrealistic expectation. I thought the menus could have been better as well. That was my only disappointment if you can call it that.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from princeton, NJ

Beautiful and Private resort ideal for honeymooner

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Was a beautiful resort and would consider going again. When we first arrived we were not aware that every room is its own little bungalow. Which was nice and very private, didn't have to worry about neighbors, but have to be shuttled everywhere. The shuttle runs 24/7 and about a 2minute ride to beach and everything. Highly recommend to not stay at the beach bungalows, everyone can see in when on the beach. Not private but convenient to be on the beach and walking distance to everything. Food was great and little pricey. They do offer a meal plan, which expedia didn't inform us of but may not be worth it unless you plan on a lot of drinking and over eating. To sign up for meal plan once at resort it is $200per person a day, which for us was not worth getting. The websites pictures are what to expect. Must do the sunset cruise and Soulfaire Experience excursion, book through hotel. Spa was also nice and romantic. Bring bug spray, the mosquitos were bad all day and night.
5 out of 5
by Edward from Germany

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
If you are looking for a relaxing perfect hotel in the middle of a natural paradise, look no further! Sugar Beach is the most amazing location and with its excellent personnel looking after your every need, your holiday will be perfect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Resort!

Posted Jun 27, 2016
My husband and I stayed at Viceroy Sugar Beach last week and cannot wait to return! The resort grounds, villas and beach are gorgeous. the food and drinks were great but pricey however we knew that going in. All of the staff were so friendly, especially our butlers Shawn and Nysan. We will definitely be back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hartigan

I got overcharged. I showed them my Expedia

Posted Jun 7, 2016
They blamed expedias for giving me wrong information on booking and double charged me for hotel transfer from airport.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing Resort. Absolutely Beautiful

Posted May 27, 2016
Everything was amazing, with one very important exception. I booked the "all-inclusive" option and when I arrived they informed me that there must have been a mistake on Expedia because they only offer the all inclusive option to guests once they arrive. That option was an additional $500 per day!! You must take the option because the prices for food and drink are inflated by 1000% so a drink is $20USD and a decent meal is $100 per person. The hotel management should have resolved this issue for us, however, I was forced to spend $2500 of our vacation budget to pay for the all inclusive option. BEWARE of this SCAM. It is the hotel, not Expedia. Fortunately, Expedia is supposed to help me with this issue even though it wasn't their fault.