Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new York

Convenient from my event

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Too many steps to climb with luggages. After returning from my event there where vagrants in the lobby. Towels were line dry which is a sanitary concern. Wash clothes we were not provided, when I requested they were given to me damp from the line.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well priced hotel, with extra benefits.

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: The price was great, it was close to many of the activities. The view of the Pitons was wonderful.
Cons: The hotel room could have been maintained a little bit better, the refrigerator was a bit larger than what we are use to, please clean the restroom.
Location: Location was good, did appear that a lot of people came by and were begging for lose change when we would leave the hotel, activities were very close.
We enjoyed St Lucia and Soufriere, the view of the Piton's was fantastic. The scuba diving was great and the excursions that we took part in were very well worth visiting. We also enjoyed the restaurants that we went to, the food was excellent. The only draw back was the bathroom had a peculiar odor, but we were able to tolerate it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

The view made up for the broken bed!

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Relatively cheap. I had a deluxe bedroom facing the city. Taking in the view from the balcony was nice -- The city and the old church with mountains in the back drop. Don't expect too much from the actual room (#2). A mini fridge, bathroom, tv, A\C. There were two beds. One was a double, the other a king. The box spring on the double was broken. I almost fell off when I say down on it! I wasn't expecting much, and wasn't disappointed; It was just a place with a roof over my head.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by Johnita, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time out to inform us of your stay at The Downtown Hotel! We are glad that our downtown view was pleasing , however we sincerely apologize for your experience with one of the beds in the room. We aim to satisfy and exceed the needs of our guests , therefore we appreciate your constructive criticism. We have changed the bed and are currently making some much needed changes to our rooms. Thank you once again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice facilities. Top floor; no elevator😐, breakf

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Friendly staff. Limited accommodation. No contenintal breakfast offered. Staff tries hard to please guest. Nice balcony, nice building.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by Johnita, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time out to inform us of your stay at The Downtown Hotel! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are world renowned for our hospitality since we ensure that the needs of our guests are not only met but exceeded. We are currently in the process of introducing a continental breakfast and a kitchenette . Once again we appreciate your feedback as there is always room for improvement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2015
A great spot if you want to stay away from the big resorts. Locally-owned, too! Never had a problem with security, staff was friendly and helpful but respected our privacy. Definitely worth shelling out a little more for the seaside view. Lots of local restaurants and bars within walking distance, only a 10-minute walk to the town beach (no crowding, just a couple tourists using it), plus lots of fisherman with boats ready to negotiate a good price for a water-taxi tour of the local sites. Also easy to meet guides for climbing the Piton(s).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Good location and affordable

Posted Jan 27, 2015
I spent 3 nights at this hotel which was a clean and affordable place. Its central location allowed me to explore the whole island. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to explore St Lucia. You will need to rent a car to get around.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2014
The staff was pleasant but the hotel room was very dirty! I wanted to cancel after seeing the room but was unable since it was prepaid. It was only for one night so I stayed but I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2015 by Johnita, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time out to inform us about your stay at The Downtown Hotel! We are very displeased in regards to your comment on the condition of the room which you received. We are world renowned for our hospitality , superb customer service and our clean and spacious rooms. We do not assign any guests to room which have not been prepared so it is very puzzling that you would make such a comment. However, we take every post int consideration as there is always room for improvement.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Armin from Cologne - Germany

OK for some nights - good Pricing

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: Location and the people
Cons: dirty!
Nice Guys, good location in this nice town. But really dirty (and I´m not sensible)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Johnita, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to give us a review as we appreciate constructive criticism and feedback. We are happy to hear that you loved the location and the town , many have expressed that view as well and we appreciate it. We are world renowned for our hospitality and our cleanliness, this is why i am a bit puzzled as to if you are referring to the town. I personally check every room before my guests check in , ensuring that it is cleaned to our standard. The area in which our hotel is located is kept clean at all times , which the town's council can also verify as well. However, we appreciate the feedback nonetheless. Thank you for staying with us at The Downtown Hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chiara from london

Wonderful stay in Soufriere

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Staff members are all very helpful and friendly. In particular the lovely young lady Jonita is so helpful and she was always making sure that we were happy and well-looked after. The hotel location is great. Soufriere is the best place where to stay while in St Lucia. Other reviews are talking about beggers around the streets near the hotel. That is true, but we have never felt unsafe. It is definiyely not a dangerous place to stay. Most people are poor but they are all very good-hearted, kind and friendly towards tourists. I strongly recommend Soufriere and the Downtown hotel. We had an amazing stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lucia from UK

Hotel room quite nice and spacious

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: Room spacious and bed quite comfortable
Cons: Lift to hotel
Location: Close to shops, places to eat and sea
Hote okay in quite a noisy part of the town not recommended if staying longer than 2 nights room spacious and staff friendly and helpful however there was no lift to hotel Had to carry our suitcases up several flight of stairs also there was a kettle but no suitable Socket for it
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2014
Thank you for taking time out to give us a review as we appreciate constructive criticism which enables us to improve in many areas. First off let me say that the hotel is not noisy 24/7 , seven days a week. We are happy to hear that our staff met and exceeded your needs as we are world renowned for our customer service. We have a bellman on hand to assist you with your luggage on the ground floor. We do apologize if he was not on hand to assist you. The kettle can be used with the outlets provided in the room , any queries with that the staff would be happy to assist you whether it is with plugging it in or the use of an adapter. Thank you again ! We have considered your review and we will take the necessary measures to ensure that we improve in certain areas in our establishment.