Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Too many stairs-5 flights.

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Not a upscale hotel. Not close to beach. Please do not choose to stay if your a single female. Many beggers in lobby of hotel and outside. Staff are all nice. Septic odor/plumbing system needs upgrade.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2016 by Johnita, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking time out to inform us about your stay at the Downtown Hotel! Firstly, we are 5 minutes away from the nearest beach and central to everything from bakeries, supermarkets, banks, church , diamond waterfalls and so on. Many of our guests love staying at the Downtown Hotel because it is close to everything! Secondly, since our hotel is secluded at the top of the building with 24/7 security personnel, there is no way that vagrants or beggars are allowed on our property. We have never had any complaints from single travelers or those traveling with others due to our 24/7 security surveillance and security personnel, not to mention the town of Soufriere is relatively safe. Unfortunately we do not have control over beggars on the street so we advise our guests to simply refuse any request for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

Boom boom boom

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Noise
Location: Tet Paul. Catch a water taxi to get to great snorkeling. Botanical gardens near but we did not visit
Room was outdated and sparse but very clean with great air conditioning. Safe location right in heart of Soufriere. Easy to get transportation,meals, cash etc. Unfortunately, VERY loud music adjacent to hotel made it less than really good. Thankfully that ended right at 11pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockford IL

good hotel in downtown

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: near volcano and other activity
Cons: water presure
Location: can do activity closer to it
reasonable price and courteous staff having closed to most site seeing and acticity
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Cons: Make sure AC works
Place was OK, 2 out of 3 nights our AC didn't work so I didn't sleep very comfortable besides that all else was well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2016 by Johnita, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time out to inform us of your stay. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the malfunctioning of the AC. As soon as you informed of this issue , it was fixed. However, our technician informed us that the reason why the issue occurred the following day , was because the presetting was tampered with. This problem has been fixed. Again we apologize for inconvenience caused as we seek to ensure that every guest has a comfortable stay. We will thereby implement measures to avoid this since we do not normally have reoccurring AC issues.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Downtown Hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Pros: the location
Cons: the bathroom
Location: the minerals bath
We had a fantastic time, the only problem was the running water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2016 by Johnita, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking time out to inform us of your stay at The Downtown Hotel! We are very pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. The water issue which existed at the time, as we explained, was with the water company. They were repairing some damage to their pipes which affected our water supply. However, this issue has been resolved and measures have been placed to avoid such an issue. Thank you for your comments , we take every single one is taken into consideration.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central to everything.

Posted Feb 27, 2016
If you want to see the real St Lucia, this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Great location

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Large room with kingsize bed. Microwave, bar fridge, plates, cutlery, cups, glasses, tea and coffee. Perfect location, very clean, friendly staff, reasonable priced (niceest place I stayed for the price). Overlooking the ocean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Exploring St Lucia!!

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: The rooms are nice and big,ours had a great view of the church and town square.Air conditioning was very efficient.
Cons: Only a small thing,the curtains at the balcony doors do not retract.Sometimes it would have been nice to have the doors closed,but the curtains open .
Location: Lots to do nearby,including the botanical gardens,waterfall,drive in volcano,traditional villages,old sugar cane plantation ,and numerous boat trips.
Wanted a hotel near the beach,but central for visiting other attractions on the island,and the Downtown hotel fits the bill exactly.Plus you are right in the heart of Soufriere,which is very handy for the shops and restaurants and all the other facilities. In addition the staff are excellent,they can answer any questions,and they can help you sort out any problem.If something in the room is not working,they will get it fixed.Information about trips ,eating out,transport ,etc,they will have the answer,or find out for you.Couldn't have been more helpful!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Hotel staff was very helpful, provided valuable information as soon as we arrived. They also were very quick to answer any queries and to arrange for any transportation to the various activities in Souffriere. We had an issue with the air conditioning unit in our room and it was promptly fixed after we mentioned the problem to staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Not bad at all.

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Good security. Central loxation for food, entertainment and a wonderful cultural experience. Not for the faint of heart. Popular eco-attractions near by. Very friendly people.