Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Reasonable budget option

Posted Nov 7, 2012
Pros: Great location, amazing views, friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Very dodgy plumbing, limited catering
Location: In the corner of a beautiful beach, 5 minutes walk from the town centre
If you're not looking for luxury and are prepared to leave the hotel and go into town for meals and entertainment, then the Still Beach House is a good option for a "base" at which to sleep and relax in the sunshine. Not really suitable for families with young children or anyone who has difficulties with mobility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Still Beach Hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2012
Pros: The amazing view of the Pitons. The staff there was also wonderful and friendly - and also, I was able to sit and watch quite a few hummingbirds!
The view was amazing! The staff there was also wonderful and friendly - and also, I was able to sit and watch quite a few hummingbirds out my window.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Martin from London UK

A small hotel place with a great view

Posted Jul 2, 2012
By St Lucia standards, Still Beach House is reasonably priced; everything worked okay; and the Piton view from my room was to die for. Plus I walked out of the room to watch hummingbirds in the foliage. Staying in Soufriere gives you more of a feel for the island than the posh all-inclusive resorts. The beach in front of the hotel is so-so - pebbles once in the water - and the boys playing nearby might just disturb some guests. (Do watch out, though, for Friday jump-up night, when sound systems shake the town). Overall, a good economy choice in a great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nick from Philadelphia, PA, USA

Quiet, off the beaten path, B&B type

Posted Apr 29, 2012
Pros: Tranquility
Cons: Busy beach
Location: Phenomenal scenery
The Still beach house was a great place to stay if you like a quiet relaxing atmosphere. There are only five rooms, so it feels more like a B&B then a hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Eating dinner and breakfast is very nice....quiet, great view, and feels like a home-cooked meal because most of the time you are the only one in the restaurant. The only warnings I would give is that you must remember that you are in the city of Soufriere, not an an all-inclusive resort with your own private beach. The beach in front of the hotel is nice but is a public beach that all the locals go to. It is very busy with locals, especially on the weekends, and there a multiple "hucksters" lingering around. My advice would be to enjoy the tranquil complimentary breakfast and then take a water taxi to another beach (Jalousie, Anse Chastenat, etc) to soak up the sun.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ron & Jen from South Central, PA

Nice for a few nights ...

Posted Apr 16, 2012
Pros: The view of the Pitons from the veranda
Location: A good base to see Soufriere and surrounding attractions
Excellent view of the Pitons and the Soufriere Bay. Nice large bed with full mosquito net. In-room safe solid! Owner attentive and helpful. Good breakfast, if available. Beach is okay but just for a short swim; too many locals ... most are very nice. The road to Anse Chastanet is right out the back door.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim and Keri from Shropshire UK

Good place to stay in town

Posted Jan 31, 2012
Pros: The staff and owner David very helpfull, plus a young local lad there.
Cons: Menu
Location: On the beach near to town
We stayed the first few days at the Jalousie Plantation, a 6 star resort not far from Soufriere, fantastic, but also wanted some time in town to see the real St Lucia. When we arrived it looked a little run down and a bit of a shock after what we had come from, but when you get used to it, it’s a nice little hotel. The staff are nice and friendly and the room was clean enough and it did what we wanted, be a base at a low cost in town. There are no sun beds and you can’t use the beach outside due to it being where the local lads congregate. We found that there is another resort about a 2 mile walk away up the hill where you can use their beach for free, but take your own towels as they charge 5usD for each rent, took us 35 mins. Food was not good, breakfast is ok but very limited, and there was not much on the menu, when we were there, it was all off! But there is another hotel next door where the food is ok. All in all, it’s a good base in town. Would I go again..Yes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Skipton, Yorkshire,UK

Wake up to gentle lapping of waves on beach-beautiful sunsets over cliff-peaceful, fantastic views

Posted Nov 24, 2011
Location: Soufriere has a lot to offer--sulpher springs, botanical gardens tet Paul walking trail as well as several resorts that offer scuba diving, snorkeling, kayaking
This hotel is not for the socialite or wild party person. Just five rooms in the quietest part of Soufriere beach-with fantastic view over to the petit Pieton. Each room has balcony and large kingsize comfortable bed covered in mosquito net and television, as well as shower,toilet, air-conditioning. You wake to gentle lapping of waves on beach, the crowing of cocks in the distance and the occasional barking of dog. often I got up in the early morning to watch daylight appear over the sea and the mountain. Likewise the sunsets were beautiful. Breakfast was adequate.One ate on a clean shaded terrace overlooking the beach and cliffs--same fantastic views. Although the hotel has restaurant, I generally ate next door at the Hummingbird Beach resort--excellent food here and pool. The owner of Still Beach ordered taxi for me from airport and I paid 60 USD each way. He can organise a tour for you of his plantation --a natural paradise and his worker Thomas is very informative and pleasant and will show you round. The only complaint I heard from an American couple was that there was no hot water for a shower in the early morning. I had taken my own shower gel and shampoo as I realised that for the price I paid for this room they would not be provided. I am a person who likes to do her OWN THING. I would return here. It would also make an excellent base for a couple with a hire car wanting to tour ST. LUCIA. You can walk into town from here during day . Kettle, toaster was in room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY

Posted Jul 18, 2011
I wish I wouldve spent my money elsewhere!! Upon arrival, i was looking for a reception desk, but the manager just let me in w/o ID and gave me the keys to my room. The reception desk is a small desk in the dining area. Security is only one person, that let anyone in the "resort." There are 5 rooms of the "resort" and there were two rooms occupied. When I asked her to cater to me, there was a HUGE attitude. Lmtd options in complimentary breakfast: toast with eggsor pancakes. 2nd day of room, there was no indoor plumbing. We had to manually put LMTD water from shower and transfer it in inside of the toilet tank. Cab ride to the "resort" was $75. The beach at the "resort" horrible. Sand had many rocks and not white sand. They let anyone stay on their property. Too many children harrassing me asking me for my phone and chain as remembrance. Natives trying to take money from me. Souvenirs EXPENSIVE ($17US Dollars for a mug).... BASICALLY, THIS IS ONE EXPENSIVE ISLAND. If u want to party, in which what we were trying to do, stay at the resorts in the NORTH. We stayed in the WEST.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TN

Liked it but it's not a resort.

Posted Jul 13, 2011
If you are looking for a place to sleep well, the Still Beach House is good. It's quiet and there is a/c in the bedroom. The view from the veranda is great. You should be prepared to rent a car or take a taxi to get to restaurants. You can't walk to much within a reasonable distance except for the grocery store and a few small restaurants in the town. The hotel's restuarant is fine and the prices are very resonable. The free breakfast, however, is the same each morning: pancakes and a choice of eggs, bacon, or ham. The beach doesn't have any lounge chairs so you are on your own unless you like laying on a towel. The locals on the beach are nice and lots of small kids play there after school. Lastly, if your mobile phone isn't working you'll need to ask the staff to borrow the hotel phone, which then does't dial to mobile phone numbers to call a taxi. This place is much cheaper than a resort but you get what you pay for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London, United Kingdom

Good choice

Posted Jun 30, 2011
This is a small, simple hotel in a beautiful location on a sandy beach on the edge of Soufriere with enviable views over Petit Piton. The hotel is basic, but is entirely fit for purpose. The staff are lovely, Breakfast was adequate and evening meals were available if anybody wanted them, although the menu is very limited. This is not a resort-hotel. St Lucia is a poor country and Soufriere is a village. Everything is very laid back. The people are friendly. The standard of food is good, but limited in variety. Porgy organised my tours for me (driven by his cousin in a car owned by another uncle.) He arranged everything. He was my guide through the rain forest where he climbed a tree to pick fresh coconuts and grapefruit and guava for me. He gave me fresh milk to drink from the coconut and showed me how to eat the jelly. He introduced me to an old man who lived in a bare tin and concrete hut who had looked after him as a child. This holiday was different. It was very relaxing and it was wonderful. Of course, I could have stayed in a resort hotel with everything on hand and local people discouraged. For me, this hotel was an excellent choice. It was fully adequate for everything I needed. It had a nice, private veranda and a television (which I watched once.) I ate in Soufriere where there are a number of inexpensive restaurants. Next to this hotel is The Hummingbird which has an excellent restaurant equal to anything in London in terms of food and service.